menu plan: 9/4–9/10

4 Sep

I have been menu planning for the last year or so. I started planning after seeing a ton of bloggers linking up their menus. I loved seeing what others were feeding  their families. I was inspired and found tons of ideas from all different types of menus: vegetarians and meat-atarians alike! I stopped blogging my menu, not really sure why, but I have been menu planning still!! My family survives on a pretty tight budget and menu planning is the best way to ensure we shop the sales and don’t waste anything we do buy. I keep the freezer and pantry stocked as much as possible. I take a quick inventory then check the sales ads and then put together a menu.

I don’t know why I haven’t blogged my menu but I am going to start doing that again. Today, I stumbled to the Shrinking Jeans site and they are hosting a new menu plan link up! I LOVE menu plan link ups! AND next week, I will be writing my menu plan for the SJ site!

Sunday 9/4: Barbecued Chicken Breasts. Salad and Grilled Veg

Monday 9/5: Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup & a BIG salad & cornbread

Tuesday 9/6: Sausage, spinach & tomato over angel hair pasta & salad

Wednesday 9/7: Sloppy Joes, oven fries & a salad

Thursday 9/8: Slow Cooker Chicken Paprikash over mashed potatoes & green beans

Friday 9/9: Homemade Quesadillas with Rice & Beans

Saturday 9/10: Burgers & Oven Fries and Beer (after first week of school, we will be ready for this)

 

School Lunches: leftovers from dinner, salads, and sandwiches

Snacks: fruit, carrots dipped in peanut butter, hardboiled egg & cheese stick, yogurt (I like yoplait in the blue cup with desserty flavors like red velvet cake)

Desserts: yoplait yogurts & fruit, banana soft-serve –often with extra fruit added in. AND now I may have to make Peanut Butter Cup Blondies

WHAT ARE YOU PLANNING THIS WEEK???

6 Responses to “menu plan: 9/4–9/10”

  1. Ashley September 5, 2011 at 12:15 am #

    How do you stick to your own schedule? My problem is that even when I write out a menu similar to this one – I can’t seem to stick to it. I come home and don’t feel like cooking. And then I fall behind. any advice?

    -@ashleysh22

  2. Jill Fickling-Conyers September 5, 2011 at 4:01 am #

    Hi from Shrinking Jeans menu planning link up. Now I’m off to find out what a Peanut Butter Cup Blondie is. And to follow on FB :)

    I plan our menu around clean eating, marathon training, busy weeks and a family of 4.

    Blog: Life As I See It [Fitness, Health and Happiness]

    FB: Life As I See It [Fitness, Health and Happiness]

  3. AnnG September 6, 2011 at 12:41 am #

    Great menu, Jen! Love seeing that you are a salad eater, too! I’m not big on veggies but I can eat a salad most every day….that is if I remember to make it or buy the ingredients for them! :))

  4. MizFit September 6, 2011 at 6:35 am #

    thinking about you today.

    have a great school day!!

    xoxo

  5. Christy Mensi September 6, 2011 at 12:36 pm #

    I’ll be over Saturday night for dinner and beers. I’ll bring some extra beer with me ;) LOVE your menu plan. I’ll definitely be checking out that slow cooker chicken recipe!

  6. Ryan September 6, 2011 at 4:16 pm #

    I love the honesty it will be the only way for you to move forward. Tracking everything is good even though you may not like what you see on paper its still OK. Hang in there & I hope you has a great day at school

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,592 other followers

