walking changed my life

11 Jun


I participated in Weight Watcher’s walking challenge. You all know how much I love challenges. Well, I was doubly lucky because WW asked me to participate in their “walk-it, blog-it programs” which I chose to blog mainly over at TweetWalker ClubHouse – since this is mainly a walking blog with all my walker friends. Quick plug here ~ If you are a walker, runner, or somewhere in between you should check out TWCH. Please support and encourage my friends.

I have been mainly walking for my exercise but this walk-it challenge really stepped up my consistency. I really like walking but was kind of getting bored with my treadmill. This challenge boosted me out of what could have become a funk. I am now walking 3 miles almost every time I go for a walk. I am venturing outside more often for my walks. YES, I stayed inside a lot because NJ winters are yucky and notoriously wet and I was babying my ankle. I am sure I blogged about my ankle issues (short story- I sprain my ankle a lot because of a weak ligament – more on this later) but what I haven’t blogged about is how much less I am having ankle issues.

All this walking is having great effects: my leg muscles are actuall starting to appear, I feel stronger, I am losing pounds and inches, I am NOT having surgery on my ankle. That is right!! I went to the doc on Monday and he says I have been doing so well that he does not recommend surgery at this time. The surgery was to repair the stretched out ligament in my right ankle but when doc examined (read – pushed and squeezed) my ankle I felt no pain. I have walked myself stronger.

On Saturday, June 6th I walked my first 5K. Read about it here. This was definitely the first on many. I even want to try and run ~ I even asked doc and he thinks I am strong enough to try. As long as I am cautious. Big Man would like me to stick to walking so I am more steady with less chance of falling. I am kind of klutzy. So for the meantime I am going to keep getting stronger and let my body tell me when I should start running.

Since I have been telling you so much about walking and the walk-it challenge I will tell you the best news!! Yeppers, I saved the best for last.

Today when I went to Weight Watchers to enter my food/points I saw this article on the Momentum Walk-It Blog-It. Go ahead & check it out!!

did you see?

did you see??

Oh, I hope you saw….I am just bubbling over with excitement. I feel famous!

I am also ecstatic to be among an amazing group of women! Especially my good friends Mel & Rebecca.

I

9 Responses to “walking changed my life”

  1. Maura June 11, 2009 at 7:18 pm #

    Oh wow! That is SOOOO awesome!!! Both your non-surgery & the article! Way to go!

  2. Schmiddy June 11, 2009 at 9:02 pm #

    Hey great job! Great article too. Maybe you can inspire me – I'm in a rut!

  3. Miz June 12, 2009 at 3:39 am #

    ok Im totally in love with the phrase I HAVE WALKED MYSELF STRONGER.theres a magazine article write there (hinthint)

  4. Trish June 12, 2009 at 3:40 am #

    Yay!! You are doing awesome. And what an inspiration!

  5. moonduster June 12, 2009 at 4:02 am #

    Woohoo! Congratulations! πŸ™‚

  6. Chubby Stubby Kay June 12, 2009 at 5:02 am #

    I have to agree with Miz, I completely love the phrase "I have walked myself stronger". You are an inspiration to us all! The WW article is awesome!! πŸ˜€

  7. Lori June 12, 2009 at 6:00 am #

    Great job! How exciting for the article!

  8. Jazzy Peggy June 12, 2009 at 1:28 pm #

    Jen, how exciting for you. And I can kind of relate. I started in February doing Leslie's WATP on a regular basis. I can feel the muscles in my legs now, which was not that big of a surprise, but Last week I discovered the muscles in my upper arms again. That was a surprise.Keep up the good work.HugsPeggy

  9. TheAngelForever June 13, 2009 at 12:51 pm #

    You are doing an amazing job. That is wonderful news about no surgery. I think it goes to show the power of exercise and working on our bodies. Keep it up…I am now looking at bikes thanks to you.

Leave a Reply

