I may not be Chinese but ….

15 Jun

I make a very pretty & yummy stir-fry.

Tonight I was on my own for dinner. The husband and the kid wanted leftover Lasagne I made last night for dinner. I had to use veggies in the fridge and I just did not want Lasagne again and they did not want stir-fry. I made a smaller stir-fry & the rest of the chicken I was going to use I I will have grilled tomorrow night. I am working the menu plan! LOVE IT!!

So, here is the recipe…sort of:
1 boneless skinless chicken breast, cut in thin strips
1/4 red bell pepper
1/2 yellow squash
1/2 can water chestnuts
1/2 can bamboo shoots
1 small handful of snow peas
1/2 small head of savoy cabbage
teriyaki sauce, to taste
soy sauce, to taste
minced fresh garlic
grated ginger
2 cups cooked rice

Heat your wok and a small amount of oil. I had canola on hand but peanut or sesame would probably be nicer. Start with your bigger veggies (save snow peas and cabbage until after chicken). Add some sauces and saute for about a minute or two, add chicken and brown, then add remaining veggies, garlic, ginger, and more sauces (to taste).

Serve over rice.
Looks yummy, huh??

Here are some Jen-style side notes:

** I simply used what I had in the fridge leftover from my last venture to the produce store. Add whatever you like. Substitute your preference of chicken, beef, pork, shrimp, tofu (if that is your thing), or just veggies.

**I prefer white rice. I have tried brown and I just don’t like it. Maybe I need to grow up but I know that if I am going to lose weight and keep it off for life and truly live happy & healthy I have to lose weight eating the foods I know will always be a part of my life.

The way I made this stir-fry I wound up with one large, dinner size portion at 8 points and 2 lunch portions at 5 points. I am very excited about the leftover lunches I already have set out in the fridge. Healthy living at it its best!!

One Response to “I may not be Chinese but ….”

  1. jenna @ blog.chivetalkin.com June 15, 2009 at 8:12 pm #

    Looks very yummy, Jen! Hey… about brown rice… Do you like sticky "sushi style" white rice? If you do, try brown medium or short brown rice. It is my favorite kind. I really don't care for long grain brown or white rice, but the sticky kind we all love.

Leave a Reply

