BBQ Pulled Pork

20 Jun
I love a good BBQ Pulled Pork sandwich. I used to have a great little take-out joint that made the BEST is no longer in business. damn economy!! Anywhoooo

I found a great recipe a while back at A Year of SlowCooking! This is now my absolute favorite BBQ pulled pork recipe. It is super simple with ingredients I always have on hand. You can look through the link I just provided will give you 12 pork slow cooker recipes, but I implore you to peek around A Year of SlowCooking, Stephanie is too cute and I just love the recipes and pictures. So funny thing is, my fave pulled pork recipe comes from a person who can’t even eat pork! How ironic?!?!

It may not be the prettiest in the bottom of my crock but it is yummy, yummy, yummy!!

And because I love you, here is some info from A Year of SlowCooking:
4 pounds boneless pork shoulder
1 onion, sliced in rings
2 cups ketchup (a 24oz bottle seems to be exactly 2 cups. weird.)
1/2 cup warm water
1/4 cup apple cider vinegar
1/4 cup brown sugar
1 teaspoon gluten free Worcestershire sauce
1 teaspoon Tabasco sauce
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt

The Directions.

Use a 6 quart crockpot. Trim meat, and place into your crockpot. Add sliced onion. Squeeze in 2 cups of ketchup, and then pour 1/2 cup warm water into the ketchup bottle and shake. Pour the ketchup-y water into your crock. Add vinegar, brown sugar, Worcestershire, Tabasco and salt.
Cover and cook on low for 8-10 hours, or until meat shreds easily with a fork.
Serve over rice, or make sandwiches on rolls or sliced bread.

MY TAKE: I only had a 2-pound pork loin so I used less of the liquids but I think I should have kept the liquid as the recipe called for since my family seems to like it a bit wetter. Even still, the bbq pork was AMAZING!! It had great flavor!! Barbecuey without being too sweet or too spicy.

I served mine on Arnold’s Sandwich Thins (these are a new must-have) with about an 1/8 cup of 2% shredded cheddar cheese. The husband really enjoyed this sandwich!! He had 3 sandwiches plus had some of the meat on top of his mashed potatoes. The kid can be such a pain at dinner time but she ate a half-sandwich in record time!!

Here is what mine looked like:

If you are wondering, this is a 6 point sandwich!!

And worth every one of those pesky points!!

Posted by Picasa
Leave a Reply

