2pt Banana Oatmeal Bread

21 Jun

**I had a bunch of overripe bananas and we love Banana bread in my house. I have a go-to recipe but it is about 5 points per piece. I scoured the twitter wires asking for banana bread recipes. I looked over a couple and made up my own version. This is the first time I have ever done this. I am always so cautious to follow the directions to the letter.

So here is what I came up with:

Ingredients

3 cups mashed overripe bananas
1 egg
6 oz vanilla yogurt (I like Yoplait in the blue container)
1/2 cup Splenda
1/4 cup brown sugar
3/4 cup applesauce
2 tsp. vanilla extract
1 cup all-purpose flour
1 cup whole wheat flour
1&1/4 tsp baking powder
3/4 cup rolled oats
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp nutmeg


DIRECTIONS

1. Preheat your oven to 350F and lightly grease a loaf pan.

2. Mash the bananas and mix with the egg, yogurt, brown sugar, applesauce and vanilla extract.

3. In a separate bowl, mix the flours, baking powder, oats, cinnamon and nutmeg together. Create a well in the middle of the dry ingredients.

4. Combine dry and wet until just mixed. If you like nuts or chocolate chips in your banana bread you can fold those in now. Spoon the mixture into your prepared loaf pan.

5. Bake in preheated oven at 350F oven for about 1 hour. Check to see if the loaf is ready by inserting a knife or toothpick into the center of the loaf. It should come out completely clean when it’s ready. **Note-I experimented here with cupcakes and bread. Banana bread always seems to turn out better in the loaf pan but can be done in muffins. Just don’t use cupcake papers – dough is too sticky! Muffins will only take about 30 minutes**

6. Allow to cool in the loaf pan for 10 minutes and then remove from the loaf pan and allow to cool on a wire rack.

The Reviews:

Cupcake papers are not needed with banana bread. In fact, I now do not recommend the papers. The banana mixture kind of stuck. But at least it tasted good! The banana bread was moist and yummy! The husband likes my other recipe better (of course he likes the 5 pt/slice better than than the 2 pt/slice ~ d’uh). The kid just thought I had put nuts in my banana bread. When I promised her there were no nuts she ate 2 little baby muffins. She loved them.

I will make this recipe again. I will tweak it a bit more but there is definite potential!

Leave a Reply

