my chive talkin' menu plan – October 11, 2009

11 Oct

My first menu plan on my new site! I am so excited!!

Last night the husband and I went for a drive to Marcacci’s to get our supply of meat! I love this store and go at least once a month and it is a 45 minute drive, one way! I bought an entire shopping basket full of chicken. Chicken is so healthy and at $1.59/pound for boneless, skinless breasts and thighs all day every day!

On the menu:

Sunday’s Special will be a treat indeed! Last night I noticed a zucchini and a squash in the fridge. I peeled and diced both to be used tonight…Spaghetti and meatballs! I am even making the sauce and the secret ingredient will be…the diced zucchini & squash.

Monday: Broccoli Stuffed Chicken ~ I am using the recipe as a starting point. I will use both breasts and thighs.  I will use  lowfat cheddar cheese as well.

Tuesday: Southwest Chicken ~ chicken will be lightly dredged in flour and pan “fried.” I will add black & red beans, corn, diced tomatoes, and chipotle peppers to the chicken – let it all simmer and serve with some Spanish rice.

Wednesday:  homemade cheese steaks with oven fries (potatoes cut  thin like french fries) and a big old salad!

Thursday: Kiddo has another cross country meet! This week is a light week…next week we have 3 meets! Oy! The kid has requested hot dogs & baked bean casserole so we will have it…with some mashed potatoes. I will make sure there is some salad for me because this is not my favorite meal but with some turkey dogs I can probably make it happen.

Friday: Shrimp Scampi over long spaghetti noodles.  I may have to make some caesar salad (using a lite caesar dressing of course)!

Menu Planning, are you doing it?

I cannot believe how many benefits there are to menu planning?!?! It has helped my family stay on budget and it has helped to lose weight. I never realized how much we ordered out… I had no idea how often we were scrambling with the “what are we gonna make for dinner?” … I have since learned that the grocery store is not as evil when you really have a plan and a list!

Planning my menu has helped my family in many ways and I owe it all to Jenna (@chivetalker) and her Chive Talkin’ Menu Roll.

What?!?!

You haven’t joined Jenna’s menu roll?

What are you waiting for?

Check IT out and I am sure you will not regret it!!

4 Responses to “my chive talkin' menu plan – October 11, 2009”

  1. Miz October 12, 2009 at 3:30 am #

    LOVE LOVE LOVE THE NEW LOOK!!!!

  2. South Beach Steve October 12, 2009 at 4:45 am #

    I don’t really do meal planning, although I don’t really do most of the cooking in our house. I do, however, bring leftovers for lunch every day. Does that count for anything?

  3. WannaBeSkinny October 13, 2009 at 6:12 am #

    You are so right about the menu planning. Planning has helped me to knock about $100 a month off our grocery bill, which was a much needed budget cut. I also write the menu down on a planner on the fridge so I don’t have to hear “what’s for dinner” every night. That question, for some reason, drives me bonkers!

    Great new blog!

  4. Jenna @ blog.chivetalkin.com November 4, 2009 at 10:02 pm #

    One word… drool. I want East Coast cheesesteaks right now. They just don’t have them here like there. Although, we do make them at home occasionally. But to have the real thing… YUM! Thanks for all your encouragement, Jen! You are a rockstar! Please join in again next week on the menu plan blog roll at Chivetalkin. I LOVE having you.

Leave a Reply

