chicken-veggie ragu

25 Oct

I made the most wonderful dinner!! It was so yummy and healthy!!! I took pictures as I created and I am so thrilled woth how dinner tasted!! I just had to share

"I don't know where you buy your flour, but mine don't come seasoned!" Emeril Lagasse

"I don't know where you buy your flour, but mine don't come seasoned!" Emeril Lagasse

food 019

dredge chicken thighs in seasoned flour, brown on both sides in about 2 tablespoons of canola oil

food 020

remove chicken, add can crushed tomatoes, garlic, red pepper flakes, and basil. simmer on low.

add the chicken back into sauce

add the chicken back into sauce

cut very small so they get soft quicker! into the pot they go!

cut very small so they get soft quicker! into the pot they go!

everybody in the pot! lid on and simmer for 20 minutes.

everybody in the pot! lid on and simmer for 20 minutes.

if you so not own an immersion blender you are seriously missing out!! blend peppers mixture to desired texture/consistency.

if you so not own an immersion blender you are seriously missing out!! remove chicken and blend peppers mixture to desired texture/consistency.

I felt that mine needed more tomatoes so I added a big can of crushed tomatoes.  this is definitely a taste thing.

I felt that mine needed more tomatoes so I added a big can of crushed tomatoes. this is definitely a taste thing.

cut the chicken into bite size pieces. chicken and mushrooms go into sauce to simmer while your pasta cooks and your mushrooms are desired doneness.

cut the chicken into bite size pieces. chicken and mushrooms go into sauce to simmer while your pasta cooks and your mushrooms are desired doneness.

This recipe made a bunch!! 10 1-cup servings to be exact. According to WW (I used the recipe builder), 1 serving is 3 points.

my plate! 1 cup of spaghetti, 1 cup veggie ragu (7 points!)

my plate! 1 cup of spaghetti, 1 cup veggie ragu (7 points!)

We all had a salad without dinner!

The best part: my daughter loves spaghetti and chicken so she ate this up!! Plus she had a salad!! The kid is loaded with yummy, healthy veg and I didn’t have to fight her! (Q will eat any veg raw but almost none if they are cooked….shhh! don’t tell her she just ate tons of cooked veg!)

Second best part: Even though the boys ate up every bit of this, I have a half-serving and a nice salad for lunch tomorrow!

2 Responses to “chicken-veggie ragu”

  1. Denise October 26, 2009 at 3:59 pm #

    After the Emeril comment, I read the rest of that recipe in his voice! It sound delish and I must try!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. my chive talkin’ menu plan – week of November 1, 2009 : - November 1, 2009

    […] a new family fave has become my Chicken Veggie Ragu (I think I need a better name for this one)! I will serve over […]

Leave a Reply

