my chive talkin' menu plan – week of October 25, 2009

25 Oct

On the Menu:

Sunday: Chicken Cacciatore. Hubby took out the Boneless Skinless Chicken Thighs and asked if I would please make my cacciatore. It is pretty good! I may have to take pics as I make it this time! I totally make it my way and it is yummy!

Monday: Short Ribs (this is a bit much for a work day but we are pushing it back). Lucky for me, the husband will help with some of the work here while I take the kid to Good Will to look for a Halloween costume!

Tuesday:  Pork Cubes with grilled veggies and cous cous [we never had the cous cous & grilled zucchini last week so it is a must this week.] I am craving zucchini! Maybe I will get extra and try a zucchini bread….hit my up in comments if you have a recipe for zuke bread that my family will love.

Wednesday: Homemade Cheesesteaks, Oven “fries” and a Huge salad! This is a new favorite!

Thursday: BBQ chicken. I think Big Man’s pasta salad will be a perfect match for BBQ chicken (split breasts).

Friday: Boneless, skinless Chicken breasts and asparagus. Still not sure how ~ the husband wants alfredo but I don’t want such a calorie-laden meal. I am looking for a lighter version!

Saturday:  Sloppy Joes ~ yes, I use the Manwich can; don’t judge!! I will saute some peppers, onions, and mushrooms to my mix! A huge salad will accompany “fries”

I don’t usually plan Saturday but last night we wound up ordering so we pushed last night’s to tonight and tonight’s to tomorrow. I had already planned menu after lunch yesterday because I was going to Target and bread store. I am crazy ahead this week! 😉

Menu Planning, are you doing it?

I cannot believe how many benefits there are to menu planning?!?! It has helped my family stay on budget and it has helped to lose weight. I never realized how much we ordered out… I had no idea how often we were scrambling with the “what are we gonna make for dinner?” … I have since learned that the grocery store is not as evil when you really have a plan and a list!

Planning my menu has helped my family in many ways and I owe it all to Jenna (@chivetalker) and her Chive Talkin’ Menu Roll.

What?!?!

You haven’t joined Jenna’s menu roll?

What are you waiting for?

Check IT out and I am sure you will not regret it!!

5 Responses to “my chive talkin' menu plan – week of October 25, 2009”

  1. Mel October 25, 2009 at 7:13 pm #

    I was trying to leave a comment at your old place and it sent me here! I hear you about needing to get back on track. Since the beginning of the school year I have been a mess and am up over 6 pounds!!! YUCK. I’m tired of seeing my scale go up. I wanted to resign up for Weight Watchers online, but we just don’t have the cash right now. Hopefully we can soon!! Until then, we can do this!!! Let’s get back on track together.

  2. Denise October 25, 2009 at 9:00 pm #

    Hey! I just read on carrotsncake.com that for a low-calorie alfredo-like sauce, they melted 5 laughing cow cheese wedges into some pasta…

    I have planned my meals for a VERY long time now. If I don’t have a plan, I feel like an ocd with no control!

  3. South Beach Steve October 25, 2009 at 9:32 pm #

    To me, menu planning is a lot like many other things. Once we start documenting what we are really doing, and what we really want to do, we really get some insight into our lives. We tend to only see what we want to see, but the documentation opens our eyes.

    • jen October 25, 2009 at 10:39 pm #

      Totally!! Documenting my menus have led me to document more on this journey. Maybe I will have to start blogging my daily eating and my daily workouts. The possibilities are endless!! Thanks for reading my blog and constantly supporting me!

  4. Lisa October 25, 2009 at 9:56 pm #

    Can’t wait to try your Cheesesteaks! Yummy!

Leave a Reply

