the real goal

26 Oct

I switched to this new bloggy space a couple of weeks ago. I changed my “name” and I have decided to open up a bit more. I am trying to “keep it real” and sometimes that is not going to be pretty. I warn you, tonight may be one of those not so pretty nights.

I have been treading water (weight loss speaking) for the last couple of months. I want to lose the weight but I have not put the work in! and the scale has shown that! If I was truly doing everything right the scale would have shown it by now.  Yes, I have lost some poundage and yes, my clothes are all smaller and YES, my clothes are all from the “regular” side of the store….

but NO, I have not walked as many miles as I should have and No, I have not started the squats and sit-up challenges and no, I have not used my kettlebell enough.

What the hell am I waiting for?!?!

I think I was waiting for this weekend that just passed! I did a little but of blog reading and was able to catch up with some friends.  Over the past two days a few blogs have really hit home, especially Mary’s blog….in fact, a couple of Mary’s posts I swore she wrote just for me! Well, Saturday Mary wrote about workouts and posting about workouts and I realize that I am a very lazy individual! Once I am up and moving, I am raring to go but I could just as easily sit on the couch and watch TV all day long.  I will be writing down my workouts and logging them weekly (thinking about posting on Saturday when I give a week review and weigh in).

My WW meeting this week was all about “back to basics!” My leader led us through an entire meeting focused on the Healthy Guidelines: 6 liquids, 2 dairy, 5 fruits & veggies, multi-vitamin, 2 healthy oils, a lean protein, a whole grain, and an activity EVERYDAY!

This could not have been a better timed meeting! I know I have been slacking! Kind of following the program. Kind of eating what I was supposed to be eating. There is a reason I lost 40+ pounds and that was eating properly, eating fruits and veggies, taking my vitamins, eating yogurt (one of the only ways I get dairy). I have to go back to when WW was new and exciting! My leader left us with this quote from a French author: “To eat is neccessity but to eat intelligently is an art!”

I have to make better choices!

I need to make better choices!

I will make better choices!!

And then this morning, @MizFitOnline tweeted a very early morning tweet:

6 Responses to “the real goal”

  1. Mary :: A Merry Life October 26, 2009 at 11:25 pm #

    Aw, I’m glad I could inspire! 🙂 You found out my secret: I’m writing just for you! Hehe. 😉 The tracking thing sounds like a great goal. That’s a hard thing for me so I usually don’t make it a goal. But it is very helpful for a lot of people. Good luck!

    I love your blog name, btw.

    • jen October 27, 2009 at 6:55 am #

      Thanks Mary!! I love reading your blog and your are very inspiring (even with your downs) because you are always so honest about your journey! The tracking thing is a pain in the neck but I know that when I do it I lose weight! So for me, it is back to basics!

      Thanks for being inspiring just by being you!! & thanks for stopping by!! 🙂

  2. Joanna Sutter (Fitness & Spice) October 27, 2009 at 9:42 am #

    Good for you for setting a goal and going after it! BTW, I am so excited that you are going to Fit Bloggin! How cool to go and network and share ideas with like-minded friends!

  3. Hilary October 27, 2009 at 10:44 am #

    Jenn, I am very excited for you because I know you can do this. You have what it takes!

    I am a natural-born couch potato (love to read—books and blogs!), so I can relate to having trouble getting off the sofa. But I also know you are up to the challenge :).

  4. FatFighterTV October 27, 2009 at 11:45 pm #

    So glad you are coming to Fitbloggin’! I love that quote from your WW meeting – so true!

  5. Miz October 30, 2009 at 6:21 am #

    OK WOMAN

    IT IS FRIDAY

    what steps have you taken toward making your goals happen.

    (NOT RHETORICAL 🙂 email me. tweet me. leave me a comment.)

Leave a Reply

