in loving memory

30 Oct

I have been very absent this week! I have not been able to blog or tweet that much! It has been a very rough week for my family.

Tuesday night, we lost one of our children. Harley became sick and was having breathing problems. We took him to the vet but there really wasn’t anything we (or they) could do to fix him.  Harley was 14 and a HUGE part of my family. When I met Big Man he had Harley and 4 cats and I had Q. He took mine as his own and I took his children as my own.

Harley was an awesome dog: a love and a protector and a mooch. He was a dog enjoying his elder years and was so lucky because the Big Man was laid off almost 2 years ago and Harley has had company almost every day. I am so glad that Big Man had these last few years with Harley. (Unemployment is not easy but I can be happy that he had time with his dog!) I stayed home from school on Tuesday and Wednesday. I could not leave Big Man alone…I have never seen him so upset (it was close when Milo, one of the cats, died) but Harley was Big Man’s buddy! Big Man brought Harley home from the shelter the day he bought his house (same house we all live in) and Big Man said if we could afford it we would move!!

This is such a hard post to write! It is all too new!

newmanThis is the last picture I will ever take of my boy, Harley!

My last Harley story: On Saturday, Q and I went shopping almost all day. When we got home and Big Man was out so I had to bring all the stuff in….well, I left the gate wide open while I went to and from the car.  I was out at the car when my neighbor was walking her grandson (they both live two houses away) and the little boy called me so I stopped and waited for him to ride his little trike to me. While I was talking, the neighbor’s cat walked right by us in the middle of the street. Before I knew what was happening, Harley was running into the street to get that damn cat! He was like a puppy! I hated yelling at him because he looked so full of life!

The picture above is so sad! I think he knew what was happening but I think he was also at peace! His last few hours he had such a hard time breathing.

I miss him like crazy! The house feels empty and quiet! Big Man is a mess!! This weekend I will be cleaning and vacuuming all the furniture and trying to rearrange my very hard to arrange living room so it doesn’t look so empty!

Sorry this was such a sad post!!

keep it real, jen

4 Responses to “in loving memory”

  1. Kyra October 30, 2009 at 12:07 pm #

    Big hugs to you and the Big Man. Harley looks like a sweet PuppyBoy.

  2. Lisa October 30, 2009 at 12:08 pm #

    I’m so sorry about your sweet dog!

  3. moonduster (Becky) October 30, 2009 at 12:11 pm #

    I am so sorry for your loss! (((hugs)))

  4. South Beach Steve October 30, 2009 at 10:34 pm #

    Jen, I am sorry to read this. It sounds like he was quite the dog.

Leave a Reply

