my chive talkin' menu plan – week of November 8, 2009

8 Nov

On the Menu this week,

Sunday: A Before Game meal of Chicken Cutlet sandwiches. I will top chicken cutlets with sauteed spinach, roasted red pepper & provolone cheese and thrown under the broiler to melt cheese! Yumminess with mac & cheese on the side!

Monday: Grilled Steak with potatoes and broccoli

Tuesday: Breakfast for Dinner. You will probably be seeing this quite often. The karate kid is back to two classes per week. Tuesday night class is from 6-7. Breakfast is an easy one to have dinner after class!

Wednesday: Turkey Tenderloin with Roasted Root Veg

Thursday: Skirt Steak Quesadillas with Rice & beans!

Friday: Shrimp somehow! I haven’t figured out the somehow! Any suggestions?? I am looking to use whatever I have in the house …if you have a shrimp recipe using regular (normal – most people have) ingredients, I want to see it!!

Menu Planning, are you doing it?

I cannot believe how many benefits there are to menu planning?!?! It has helped my family stay on budget and it has helped to lose weight. I never realized how much we ordered out… I had no idea how often we were scrambling with the “what are we gonna make for dinner?” … I have since learned that the grocery store is not as evil when you really have a plan and a list!

Planning my menu has helped my family in many ways and I owe it all to Jenna (@chivetalker) and her Chive Talkin’ Menu Roll.

What?!?!

You haven’t joined Jenna’s menu roll?

What are you waiting for?

Check IT out and I am sure you will not regret it!!

5 Responses to “my chive talkin' menu plan – week of November 8, 2009”

  1. Biz November 8, 2009 at 3:45 pm #

    My husband can’t do breakfast for dinner, so Hannah and I usually have that when he’s out of town!

    Check out my shrimp cocktail – I know its an appetizer, but its so good!

    http://biz319.wordpress.com/2009/10/18/best-shrimp-cocktail-ever/

    • jen November 8, 2009 at 3:59 pm #

      Thanks Biz! Those shrimp look awesome!! Maybe I will spurge and pick up fresh fish …hmmm….

      Hubby loves breakfast for dinner….he says because he loves breakfast and gets to have much more when it is for dinner. Kid is a pain in the ass most nights for dinner but breakfast she eats no problem! In fact, last week she told me I was the bestest because I was making pancakes for dinner! If only she could stay 10.

  2. Miz November 9, 2009 at 6:04 am #

    BRACE YOURSELF.
    I dont menu plan 🙂
    yet
    its coming
    some day

    please to nag me 🙂

  3. Jenna @ blog.chivetalkin.com November 12, 2009 at 10:47 pm #

    Hey Jen… Our boys won – woohoo!

    Shrimp… I make an easy scampi with lots of garlic, white wine and olive oil. I either eat it over whole wheat angel hair pasta or I take a whole wheat baguette, spoon the shrimp scampi on it, top with mozzerella and put under the broiler until lightly browned. Mmmmmm… I am drooling now. I call it shrimp destin. It is a family fave here.

    Anyway, thanks for joining the menu plan blog roll! I love having you!

  4. Kat November 13, 2009 at 2:52 am #

    Hi Jen,
    I just discovered your blog via South Beach Steve and wanted to thank you for motivating me to try to plan a menu for next week. We don’t do this and I know we should. So I am gonna give it a shot. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

