oh sh*t it's frozen

20 Nov

On the menu tonight was Turkey Loaf but when I grabbed the ground turkey out of the fridge it was still kind of frozen. So, I had to improvise! The big man just wanted to order pizza but I wasn’t having it! We are trying to budget and eat healthy…and not the pizza would have been the end of the world on either fronts, I just did not want to give in and order out!!

I put my thinking cap on and I looked around to see what I had in the pantry: we are pretty stocked up at the moment thanks to some really good sales at ACME (my local grocery store)!AND, a friend had just dropped off a huge ziploc of cubed cheese because his mother had some gathering and had all this cheese leftover.

I browned the ground turkey (I added salt, pepper, garlic pwder, and crushed red pepper flakes), drained the meat and set aside.

Boiled a pound of pasta (I just happened to have large elbow noodles!)

I made a quick cheese sauce using fat free evaporated milk, 1/8 cup of butter, 10 ounces of mixed cheese, salt, pepper & tabasco.

I then microwaved two boxes of frozen veggies (one was broccoli and other was mixed with broccoli, peppers, & carrots).

I threw it all together and put it in the oven just long enough to make sure everything was hot!!

Here is what it looked like:

just the pics 439

The verdict: For a quick, no idea, throw together this worked fantastical!! My family loved it!! Even my picky (most of the time) kid ate her whole plat and asked for seconds.

I loved it but will make it with reduced fat or fat free cheese to lower the points value!!

When asked last night on twitter what I was making for dinner, I sarcastically replied with “a mess” which is exactly what I was making: A MESS! But, it was a delicious mess!!

3 Responses to “oh sh*t it's frozen”

  1. Kelly@Childhood November 21, 2009 at 10:02 am #

    I love those kind of quick and easy no thought involved meals! Way to go!

  2. Kat November 21, 2009 at 12:32 pm #

    OMG That looks sooo good! That type of meal is my ULTIMATE comfort food! And congrats on not caving in for pizza!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. my chive talkin’ menu plan – Week of November 29, 2009 : - November 29, 2009

    […] you don’t remember all of my ramblings?!? That’s cool ~ check it out here. The kid loved this one and since it is a super easy and super quick dinner to whip up it makes the […]

Leave a Reply

