my chive talkin' menu plan – week of November 22, 2009

22 Nov

I love Thanksgiving!

Planning will be key for me this week! I don’t get paid until next week so I am making dinners out of the freezer and pantry with the exception of fresh veggies, milk, bread & eggs I will not be grocery shopping this week.  I am also going to make sure I have leftovers for lunches.  I made my plan on Saturday so this weekend will be included – just because!

Saturday:  Turkey Burgers ~ I had mine with smashed up avocado and melted Cabot 75% reduced fat Cheddar and the Big Man had his with fried baby portabellos and swiss cheese. Oven Fries – these have become a favorite!!

Sunday: Braised Short Ribs with roasted garlic smashed potatoes. I am going to make some sort of green veg from the freezer – peas for the kid…she is the only one who likes peas!

Monday: “Fried” Chicken ~ I am going to make my own crust using corn flake and some spices, Mac & cheese and green beans! This sounds so southern. UPDATE: yes, I am using cornflakes but I am using Biz’s recipe for the chicken [I don’t have melba toast 😦 ] and for the mac & cheese I am using this recipe with a few modifications.

Tuesday: Pulled Pork and leftover mac & cheese. Something green will be added here! If you like Pulled Pork you should try this recipe…it is a huge hit at my house. I may have to deem Tuesday nights Crockpot Tuesday. The kid has her karate lesson 6-7 and we leave the house about 5:40. I have found it is just easier to eat before this lesson  so Q is not up all night. Crockpotting just makes sense. I am searching crockpot recipes for future Tuesdays.

Wednesday: Skirt Steak Asian style.  Maybe a nice stirfry over rice.

Thursday: We are heading to the MIL’s house for Turkey dinner. I don’t know exactly what is on the menu but I am sure there will be turkey and veggies. I will not let Thanksgiving destroy the hard work I have put in this past year. I will exercise portion control during dinner and I will exercise that morning.

Friday:  Leftovers! OR Breakfast for Dinner! I know MIL will send us home with leftovers. Big man always gets t he carcass so he can make Turkey noodle soup. Big Man’s soups are amazingly awesome! If we are tired of turkey by dinner I will make pancakes and sausage – as different as I can think! What will you do with your leftovers?

CHICKEN HELP: Folks, due to a sale I have an abundance of chicken breasts and  thighs (with bone & skin) but I need new recipes…what is your favorite way to eat bone-in chicken?

Menu Planning, are you doing it?

I cannot believe how many benefits there are to menu planning?!?! It has helped my family stay on budget and it has helped to lose weight. I never realized how much we ordered out… I had no idea how often we were scrambling with the “what are we gonna make for dinner?” … I have since learned that the grocery store is not as evil when you really have a plan and a list!

Planning my menu has helped my family in many ways and I owe it all to Jenna (@chivetalker) and her Chive Talkin’ Menu Roll.

What?!?!

You haven’t joined Jenna’s menu roll?

What are you waiting for?

Check IT out and I am sure you will not regret it!!

Now, just because it made me laugh….I leave you with this picture!

5 Responses to “my chive talkin' menu plan – week of November 22, 2009”

  1. Mary :: A Merry Life November 22, 2009 at 11:26 pm #

    LOL!!! Hilarious turkey. I love it.

    Can you come cook for me? You are excellent at menu planning!! I wish I was that good!

  2. Trish @IamSucceeding November 23, 2009 at 6:54 am #

    Great planning Jen….It is helping and will help in so many ways! THX for the inspiration!

  3. Biz November 23, 2009 at 7:11 pm #

    OMG Jen, that last picture was too much! Thanks for the shout out – sounds like a wonderful menu week to me!

  4. Jenna @ blog.chivetalkin.com November 23, 2009 at 11:09 pm #

    Jen!!! I am still ROTFLMBO!!! You always make me smile. The turkey burgers sound awesome… and turkey noodle soup – my mom always makes that after Thanksgiving. Thanks for joining in the Menu Plan Blog Roll at Chivetalkin. I love having you and appreciate your encouragement. Let’s go Cowboys! BTW… Your link this week went to your weigh in post… You should be proud of yourself! You have done an awesome job. WOOHOO! Keep it up!

  5. Kelly@Childhood November 27, 2009 at 10:05 am #

    That picture is freaking hilarious! I am so proud of you and your menu planning! I do that too and its a life saver in more than one way. You’ve already noted that it helps you stay on track and even saves money. I find that it’s a time saver as well. I’m not standing at the refrigerator wondering what to make for dinner. My husband can even jump in and get things started if I’m running late. I am excited to hear how Thanksgiving went for you. Sorry I am behind on commenting… I’ve been in the hospital with my little one Sunday-Wed. I am catching up tho!

    xo
    Kelly

Leave a Reply

