my chive talkin' menu plan – Week of November 29, 2009

29 Nov

Last night, the husband and I had one hot and crazy date night!!

The kid had a sleepover at mom mom’s house and we had the house to ourselves and we outdid Date night! We did not feel like going out and we really don’t have the extra funds for a night out on the town. So, we decided to go grocery shopping to get it out of the way. We still have a ton of chicken in the freezer so I did a quick inventory but really needed a menu plan. I planned my menu  and made a list for the store. I scoured the sales ad at the same time and we decided to rent a movie and make frozen pizzas after grocery shopping.  A plan for the perfect date night!!  At the grocery I found a huge bag of Kale and I have been on the lookout to try Kale since this summer when Jenna started talking about kale salads. I also found a nice small spaghetti squash – this is fantastic because usually they are humongous! My menu changed up a bit while grocery shopping but only a tiny little bit!

Please to enjoy what I have on the menu this week:

Sunday: An Italian-inspired Sunday night dinner.   Spinach stuffed shells with a meat sauce and a nice salad.

Monday: White Bean Chicken Chili Skinny Style ~ I love Skinny Scoopers and I love a good chicken recipe. I just looked at the weather and it looks like it is going to be on the chilly side (low 5os) and raining!! While I have had enough f%@#ing rain, it is the perfect weather for chili.

Tuesday: Turkey Noodle Mess.  If you remember sometime last week I came up against frozen Turkey but I was creative and it was a huge success….what?!?! you don’t remember all of my ramblings?!? 😉 That’s cool ~ check it out here. The kid loved this one and since it is a super easy and super quick dinner to whip up it makes the most sense (other than a crockpot meal ~ I need crock pot recipes using chicken breasts with the bone!!)

Wednesday: Homemade Italian Subs. Something about where I live screams for subs! I need cheesesteaks and italian hoagies (subs) every chance I get. But, I am on a budget and ordering out is not really economical or waist-friendly!! We have resorted to making our own cheese steaks and they are so good and WAY healthier so this week we will be trying out Italians!

Thursday: Pork Chops with sauteed kale and roasted potatoes. I bought the Kale and I can’t wait to try it out!!

Friday: Chicken legs made wing-style and Big Chef-lite salad! A perfect Friday night meal! Almost like ordering out!

Menu Planning, are you doing it?

I cannot believe how many benefits there are to menu planning?!?! It has helped my family stay on budget and it has helped to lose weight. I never realized how much we ordered out… I had no idea how often we were scrambling with the “what are we gonna make for dinner?” … I have since learned that the grocery store is not as evil when you really have a plan and a list!

Planning my menu has helped my family in many ways and I owe it all to Jenna (@chivetalker) and her Chive Talkin’ Menu Roll.

What?!?!

You haven’t joined Jenna’s menu roll?

What are you waiting for?

Check IT out and I am sure you will not regret it!!

7 Responses to “my chive talkin' menu plan – Week of November 29, 2009”

  1. Trish @IamSucceeding November 30, 2009 at 8:27 am #

    Awesome Jen!!!

    Yes I AM(meal planning) thanks to you!! 😉

    • jen December 1, 2009 at 10:11 am #

      So glad you love menu planning!! I can’t believe you are also planning your lunches and breakfasts!! YOU GO GIRL!!

  2. jenn December 1, 2009 at 12:19 am #

    I’m a new reader and I’m not meal planning at this point. But I think I need to start. Possibly next week. It will probably help me save money and calories if I plan ahead.

    • jen December 1, 2009 at 10:11 am #

      Glad to have you, Jenn! I did check out your blog and will comment later tonight!! Good luck on your journey! ❤ J

  3. Biz December 1, 2009 at 10:08 am #

    Love your menu!! I am going to have to check out the white bean chicken chili – 😀

    • jen December 1, 2009 at 10:13 am #

      I made the chicken chili last night and it was so yummy!! I need to add more heat next time I make but hubby loaded jalepenos on his and was happy!! Add more peppers and you will love it!! ❤ J

  4. Jenna @ blog.chivetalkin.com December 1, 2009 at 9:15 pm #

    Jen!!!! Date night and kale in one week?!?! Be still my heart! Anyway! Sorry, about Mr. Linky. He was being stinky last night and I wasn’t able to get him up until today. DO NOT LOL. 😉 I heart the fact that you love cheesesteak subs as much as me. Take Care. I love having you join in, so link up if you care to. xoxo

Leave a Reply

