my chive talkin' menu plan – week of December 6, 2009

6 Dec

Sunday: Pork Tenderloin with sauteed cabbage.

Monday: Oven “Fried” Chicken with mashed potatoes and veg

Tuesday: Southwest Chicken…I pound out some BLSL chicken breasts and brown it in a pan. Then I add some cans (diced tomatoes, black beans, red beans ~ whatever beans are in the cabinet), frozen corn and chicken broth and let it all simmer.  In another pot I make Spanish Rice and when that is down, Chicken & beans are done!

Wednesday:  Steak with potatoes and veg. Can you guess who asked for this particular meal?!?! Big Man said he needs beef!! Who am I to argue?

Thursday: Meatloaf with mashed potatoes and veg.

Friday:  Shrimp Po’Boys. I am craving New Orleans. It has been two and a half years since we have been to NOLA and I just can’t wait to go back but it will be about two more years for that ~ we want to go for our 5th anniversary.  If I can’t go to NOLA, I can bring the taste to me.

Menu Planning, are you doing it?

I cannot believe how many benefits there are to menu planning?!?! It has helped my family stay on budget and it has helped to lose weight. I never realized how much we ordered out… I had no idea how often we were scrambling with the “what are we gonna make for dinner?” … I have since learned that the grocery store is not as evil when you really have a plan and a list!

Planning my menu has helped my family in many ways and I owe it all to Jenna (@chivetalker) and her Chive Talkin’ Menu Roll.

What?!?!

You haven’t joined Jenna’s menu roll?

What are you waiting for?

Check IT out and I am sure you will not regret it!!

4 Responses to “my chive talkin' menu plan – week of December 6, 2009”

  1. Trish @IamSucceeding December 7, 2009 at 7:07 am #

    Love your menu this week! Looks yummy. Especially Fridays!

  2. Stephanie December 7, 2009 at 10:55 am #

    It is worth it to join just for the pun – chive talkin’!
    😉

  3. Shannon Fab Fatties December 7, 2009 at 9:16 pm #

    This is a really good idea. I am half way there but I really need to plan meals out better. I get stuff and just figure it all out.
    I bet you family is loving your home cookin’!
    I am gonna check out Jenna.
    WOOT on the weightloss too!

  4. jenna @ blog.chivetalkin.com December 9, 2009 at 10:26 pm #

    Hey Jen!!! Love the yummy simplicity of Tuesday’s Southwest Chicken and Friday’s Po Boys?!? mmmmmmmm. Thanks for your encouragement and for joining in the menu plan blog roll at Chivetalkin. You know I LOVE having you!!!

    Stephanie and Shannon – you are so welcome to join in too! The more the merrier, inspiring each other to health. Cheers!!!

Leave a Reply

