my chive talkin' menu plan – week of December 13, 2009

13 Dec

Holy Crap! It is December 13th! When did it become December? How can is possibly be less that two week until Christmas. I am not ready!! I am not even close to being ready and I am not even stressing it! I love Christmas! I love getting presents, I love giving presents.  I really LOVE giving presents! I also love Christmas Day. I open my house to everyone…family and friend alike! There is food and drink ALL day long. I am already planning Christmas Day’s food and food for our Pocono trip. We are renting a way cool cabin with a full kitchen so we will cook there but since we are on vacation we want meals planned and prepared well ahead of time.

On the menu this week is inspired from around the world.

Sunday is Italian inspired. I will make my version of Chicken Parmesan and Spaghetti. I will not be deep frying my chicken and I am using lowfat cheeses.

Monday is a Chinese (ok, it is American Chinese food) inspired Beef with Spicy Green Beans

Tuesday is very American ~ Sloppy Joes with a noodle side dish and broccoli. This meal always reminds me of being a kid. It takes me back to living with my dad and his wife when I was in 7th & 8th  grades.

Wednesday is Breakfast for Dinner! I am thinking Omelets to order. The kid loves Cheese Omelets and I am wanting a veggie omelet.  Homemade hashbrowns and toast ~ the works! We love breakfast for dinner around here and it is so easy on karate nights!

Thursday we are going a little mexican with some chicken enchiladas and rice & beans.

Friday is Date night, family style! 😉 Not sure why but while I was making menu Big Man said we should go out on Friday night! We will probably go to Applebee’s ~ nothing fancy but the kid loves Applebee’s and then I can take her to 5Below to get some of her little gifts she wants to buy. We will end the evening with a trip to the bookstore. Since Applebee’s has some Weight Watchers approved meals I will take pictures and tell you all about my meal!

Menu Planning, are you doing it?

I cannot believe how many benefits there are to menu planning?!?! It has helped my family stay on budget and it has helped to lose weight. I never realized how much we ordered out… I had no idea how often we were scrambling with the “what are we gonna make for dinner?” … I have since learned that the grocery store is not as evil when you really have a plan and a list!

Planning my menu has helped my family in many ways and I owe it all to Jenna (@chivetalker) and her Chive Talkin’ Menu Roll.

What?!?!

You haven’t joined Jenna’s menu roll?

What are you waiting for?

Check IT out and I am sure you will not regret it!!

One Response to “my chive talkin' menu plan – week of December 13, 2009”

  1. jenna @ blog.chivetalkin.com December 13, 2009 at 11:57 pm #

    I know, Jen! I am soooo not ready for Christmas. But it’s all good. I LOVE this time of year. Hopefully, I will get all gifts purchased this week and start planning food for the holidays. Love the country inspired theme this week. Thanks for joining in the Chivetalkin Menu Plan Blog Roll! You KNOW I LLLLLove having you!

Leave a Reply

