a new addition

16 Dec

just the pics 103

On Monday, I brought home a 12-pound bouncing baby boy of the 4-legged variety.

Whiskey, or his full name – Johnny Walker Black.

I swore up and down that I wanted nothing to do with any more animals. We just lost our dog, Harley, in October and the Big Man has not gotten over it yet.  I am honestly tired of cat body fluids. and don’t even get me started on all the damn cat hair! It is EVERYWHERE!!

And then Sunday I was at the Vet’s office. My Adolph is on medication and he needed a refill. So, I was waiting for the girl to get the pills and I went wandering over to their cats from the Animal Shelter…there were these two black and white kittens…and they were nutty…but under their cage was this beautiful black kitty with big eyes looking up at me. He was so mellow. I went up to pay for the pills and there was a sign with the black cat’s picture and a little story. I asked the girl how long he had been at the shelter…

He had been at the Vet’s office for over a year and at least six months at the Shelter. This beautiful black cat had lived almost his entire life in a cage ! This broke my heart. Big man had driven me to the Vet’s that day and I came out, got in the truck and told Big Man I wanted a cat. I told him the story and two blocks later we were turning around. I had to get that cat out of that cage!

I went through the adoption process but couldn’t have my kitty until the next day so he could have his vaccines. Monday after school I picked up my kitty.

They named him Jet but he did not know that name! We debated many many many names!! The this morning I was walking out the door to work and said we should just call him Johnny Walker like my treadmill. Many of you may know that I call my treadmill Johnny Walker. Well, kitty has been hiding under or behind my treadmill since I brought him home. Big Man had a cat named Johnny before so we settled on Whiskey!

Whiskey is such a cutie and a total scaredy cat!! He has come out and let me pet him but he runs for the treadmill at first noise! He is doing well and my other cats are tolerating or ignoring him!!

6 Responses to “a new addition”

  1. Hilary December 16, 2009 at 10:00 pm #

    You have such a big heart, Jen! Your new baby is beautiful and I’m so happy you guys found each other!

  2. Trish @IamSucceeding December 17, 2009 at 3:59 pm #

    Jet is perfect!! He is beautiful.

  3. Kirsten December 19, 2009 at 12:09 am #

    So glad you opened your heart to another little furry critter. My heart was the reason we have our 6yo black cat. I’m sure Whiskey will be part of the family before too long.

  4. Leah @Bookieboo December 21, 2009 at 11:35 am #

    OMG…I LOVE black cats! I’ve had several. Sooo cute!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I freaking ROCK! (Monday Project) : - January 23, 2010

    […] that are not supposed to be my responsibility, I swore I was done with critters. And then I found my kitty and that went out the window and I had to rescue Whiskey and bring him home with […]

  2. » Blog Archive » you capture: happy - January 28, 2011

    […] I adopted Whiskey last December.  Read about it here. […]

Leave a Reply

