my chive talkin' menu plan – Christmas Week 2009

20 Dec

I LOVE this time of year! Christmas is my favorite day of the year. We don’t eat fancy food or anything but the food is always comforting. Family and friends drop in for visits all day and night long.

and you all know I LOVE

menu planning

On the menu this week:

Sunday: Spicy Seafood Stew On Friday night, before the snow hit, we all went to the grocery store. We just got some essentials in case we got hit. The seafood department had a great sale of scallops and they were beautiful! I came home and looked for just what to do with scallops. As the snow started I found this stew recipe. I added a shredded zucchini and a couple chopped up garlic cloves. I will tell you all about it after dinner!

Monday: Pork Cutlets with mashed potatoes and broccoli

Tuesday: Chicken something! I was gonna just wing this one but I have too much to do this week to not plan as much as possible!! I looked through some cookbooks and found a recipe called “Grandma’s Chicken and Dumplings” in a slow cooker cookbook! This particular cookbook is a Healthy Exchange book so it is a bit healthier – this recipe is under 300 calories. I will post a recipe and pictures if it is as good as it should be!

Wednesday: Sirloins

Thursday aka Christmas Eve ~ Dinner of the Seven Fishes at my mom’s house. I am not Italian but my mom’s last boyfriend was very Italian-American and he introduced us to the Italian Christmas Eve tradition and while he may be gone the tradition stays! Oh I can’t wait!! I love seafood and this is like seafood yumminess overload!! Seared Ahi, Fried Calamari, Salmon, Crabcakes, Mussels, Clams, oh my!!

Friday aka MY FAVORITE DAY OF THE YEAR aka CHRISTMAS: I love Christmas. It is the best day! I have food all day and family and friends visit all day. Food is easy, non-fussy picky foods. The day will start with a brunch that I will have pretty much prepared ahead of time. Lunch will be cookies & more brunch and dinner will be a Glazed Ham and crockpot Macaroni & Cheese and coleslaw.

Saturday:  I am figuring this going to be a busy day. We are going to the mountains on Sunday so we have to pack. We will be staying in a cabin so we will have a menu for next week and I will prep as much ahead of time as I can!

Menu Planning, are you doing it?

I cannot believe how many benefits there are to menu planning?!?! It has helped my family stay on budget and it has helped to lose weight. I never realized how much we ordered out… I had no idea how often we were scrambling with the “what are we gonna make for dinner?” … I have since learned that the grocery store is not as evil when you really have a plan and a list!

Planning my menu has helped my family in many ways and I owe it all to Jenna (@chivetalker) and her Chive Talkin’ Menu Roll.

What?!?!

You haven’t joined Jenna’s menu roll?

What are you waiting for?

Check IT out and I am sure you will not regret it!!

2 Responses to “my chive talkin' menu plan – Christmas Week 2009”

  1. Dr. Mo ( @FootDr69 ) December 21, 2009 at 12:22 pm #

    Sounds like a Delicious week ahead!!! Might have to crash your brunch on Christmas!!! 😉 Thanks for introducing me to @chivetalker ….Love Her….Love you!!! 😉
    Monique

  2. jenna @ blog.chivetalkin.com December 22, 2009 at 11:59 pm #

    Hey! Sounds like a wonderful seafood overdose coming up on Christmas Eve. Yummmo!!! Merry Christmas, Jen!!! Thanks for joining in this week. I love having you. Blessings, Jenna PS Love meeting all your friends, like Trish and Dr. Mo. You share well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

