mindful menu – 12/27/09

27 Dec

I hope everyone had a very Merry Christmas! I know I did!! I spent the whole day with my two favorite people in the world!

I love Christmas Day at my house!

Food and family and fun!

Music and laughter!

It does not get much better than this!!

It is Sunday and you know what that means!! Time for a menu plan!!

MindfulMenusButtonThis week we are hitting the road!! We are packing up the truck with supplies and we have reserved a beautiful cabin up in the Poconos. Our cabin and home away from home for a few days is only a short 3-hour drive. We will be staying 10 minutes from Blue Mountain so we may hit the tubing runs one day.  I have been making some meals ahead & freezing so we don’t eat out the whole time we are away! 3 nights and 4 days will be much more enjoyable if we have a plan!!

On the Menu:

Sunday: Out to dinner! First night in Poconos*

Monday: Baked Ziti with Meatballs and a salad of mixed greens and a crusty loaf of bread*

Tuesday: Steaks and twice baked potatoes*

Wednesday: HOME from trip!! We will be ordering pizza and salad!

Thursday: New Year’s Eve: We have been invited to a party!! To get in the mood I am going to make chicken tenders – buffalo wing style with oven fries…and a salad!

Friday: New Year’s Day will be a Prime Rib and King Crab Legs! I LOVE watching Deadliest Catch -it makes me appreciate the few times I splurge for crab legs!! However, I have done the unthinkable – let my daughter taste and fall in love with crab!

The menu plan may have a new name but it is the same great deal…

Menu Planning, are you doing it?

I cannot believe how many benefits there are to menu planning?!?! It has helped my family stay on budget and it has helped to lose weight. I never realized how much we ordered out… I had no idea how often we were scrambling with the “what are we gonna make for dinner?” … I have since learned that the grocery store is not as evil when you really have a plan and a list!

Planning my menu has helped my family in many ways and I owe it all to Jenna (@chivetalker) and her Chive Talkin’ Menu Roll.

What?!?!

You haven’t joined Jenna’s menu roll?

What are you waiting for?

Check IT out and I am sure you will not regret it!!

Leave a Reply

