I need advice

29 Dec

and not of the weight loss variety.

I need computer/blog advice.

I am completely fumbling here and learning as I go.

I started out at blogspot and I loved my little spot in the world.  I moved up in the world and got me a wordpress site of my very own…

maybe I jumped up too quickly but I had help!! My good friend helped me get set up using her server (I apologize in advance if I mess up the verbiage here) but now there seems to a problem. Apparently, her server wants more money for my site. I am using too much something and they want more $$.

Here are some of the DMs from my friend about the problem:

“The server is charging me an extra $50 for overuse of bandwith because of your site. Their rates went up”

“I am not happy with them. The 1st of the year my service is up. I hate this server and am thinking about switching anyway.”

“looking for cheap servers @ timbury.com package will be the best for you.”

I don’t know what to do!! I need simple and straightfoward and easy and cheap!

  • do I switch back to a free blogger or wordpress blog?
  • do I pay $50 and get my own server (whatever that exactly means I am not really sure)
  • or is there another option?
  • or should I just completely start over? new year, new me?!?!

PLEASE hit me up with some comment-style help!!

5 Responses to “I need advice”

  1. The Fat Geek December 29, 2009 at 1:32 pm #

    Jen,

    I use Dreamhost for my server needs. They are excellent. I think Hanlie uses them also and will give you similar review with there service.

    They cost $8.99/month or $5.99 if you click through my site at http://www.theshinywave.com

    You get unlimited bandwidth use for the month, you get one-click installs for WordPress and a bunch of other applications. What one-click installs means is that you click one button and they install WordPress on your server automatically. You then just log in and configure your wordpress as you want.

    If you backup your Data files and export your posts from the old site you can seamlessly setup your new site with little or no work.

    Seriously, you want to keep a WordPress blog it is the best. You also want your own server that you control so you can expand as you want when you want.

    The support I got with Dreamhost has been fantastic, I have been with them over 2 years now and have nothing but good things to say.

    Your friend will need to transfer over your domain name then you are good to go.

    You won’t regret having more control. Moreover, you host unlimited number of domains (new sites) on your own server. Dreamhost uses Google for domain registration so you automaticaly get a Google Gmail account for all your domains. I.E. mail@jeninreallife.com would be a Gmail account.

    I have 10 sites running through Dreamhost, never had a problem, never a rate increase (like what you are talking about), great support and peace of mind with there automatic back-up service.

  2. Ryan Sullivan December 29, 2009 at 2:41 pm #

    Jen,

    I have built a number of different websites and I have to tell you that WordPress is bar none the best blogging/CMS (Content Management System) around. STICK WITH WORDPRESS! Blogspot is just too limited.

    Bluehost is another option you can look at. I currently host about 15 different sites on the same account for 6.95 a month (I think it’s less if you commit to more time). I personally chose bluehost because I have personal contacts there from my Computer Science college days, but I’ve heard great things about DreamHost as well. Bluehost also has unlimited bandwidth and unlimited storage space.

    None of my sites would be considered high traffic sites so I’m not exactly sure how they would hold up in a Digg or Reddit storm, but I’ve never had any issues with my site going down or being unavailable.

    Also, the migration from one host to another should be pretty painless. If you need some help just email me.

    Hope this helps.

  3. Jen, a priorfatgirl December 29, 2009 at 8:58 pm #

    ah, two pea’s in a pod. I’m about to make a jump “behind the scene’s” too! Lemme know if you want the contact info for the person I’m going with.

  4. Melissa - Shrinking Jeans December 30, 2009 at 8:18 pm #

    I wish I could help you!! I know that we are constantly having to upgrade stuff on Shrinking Jeans… but as for my personal blog, I am still using Blogger. I would love to make the switch to WP, but think I will hold off a little longer!

  5. Tara @ Feels Like Home January 1, 2010 at 11:07 am #

    Don’t go backwards!

    I am also with DreamHost and have no complaints. @Mamikaze is a DreamHost affiliate, and she got me set up and did most of the work.

    If you ask on Twitter, you’ll probably get a few offers from affiliates from different companies. I’ve also heard good things about BlueHost.

    Good luck! 🙂

Leave a Reply

