new year, new decade, new goals [updated]

30 Dec

I have been thinking about goals! I guess everyone is doing the same thing with the new year about to start! I am not setting resolutions but I am setting goals!Goals are important and I have never been all that good at setting or keeping goals! The last few days I have been thinking about what I want to accomplish. I have been thinking about how I can be successful. Then tonight I went over to Steve’s blog, Log My Loss, and it was like Steve knew what I was thinking! He blogged about the SMART theory for setting goals and I had heard of this before but I was not using it!

Someone really needs to slap me in the back of the head!!

Or kick me in the ass!

I am joining in on Steve’s Perfect Ten challenge.  YES, I know I just started to Rethink my Shrink with the Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans! It is ok!! I need to set goals for the new year! I have decided that Steve’s challenge gives me the perfect time period to reevaluate my goals! Every 10 weeks I will reevaluate and adjust at that point! I think this sounds reasonable!

I feel rejuvenated and ready to go!!

1. Lose 5 pounds per month update(until I lose 55 pounds to hit goal of 143)

2. Walk 15 miles each week update (that will make 780 miles for the year!)

3. Strength train 3x each week, every week

4. find and prepare one new healthy recipe (update or food) every week ~ and blog about it!

I want to be smart and set goals I know I can attain! I want to set myself up for success! I know that the four goals listed above are all reasonable and I also know that if I accomplish all 4 items I will fell fantastic in 10 weeks!

update: *A side note – my weeks will be from start on Saturdays and end on Fridays. I attend weekly Weight Watchers meetings on Saturdays and it will just be easier for me to track my weeks using this as my first day. I will blog about Perfect 10 on Friday nights and will continue with my usual Saturday Scale Time post.

Let’s enjoy the ride!! and thank Steve and Shrinking Jeans for the awesome & inspiring challenges!


What about you? Did you set goals? Did you keep them SMART?

5 Responses to “new year, new decade, new goals [updated]”

  1. Terri (@teetee_71) December 31, 2009 at 12:15 am #

    Go Jen! Go Jen!! I know how you love a challenge!! I’ll be here supporting you the whole way girl!!

  2. South Beach Steve December 31, 2009 at 9:29 am #

    Thanks for mentioning The Perfect 10. The challenges seem like they really compliment each other. The goals look great too.

  3. Kelly@Childhood December 31, 2009 at 2:35 pm #

    I love your goals Jen. I think you are realistic and by being realistic… you’ll meet your goals. I’ve been a bit behind on my commenting… but I will still be cheering you on into this new year!

    xo
    Kelly

  4. Tara @ Feels Like Home January 1, 2010 at 11:09 am #

    These are awesome goals. I have been thinking a lot about my own, but I’m not quite ready to post them yet.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Thursday 3 : - December 31, 2009

    […] Thea’s Thursday Three is about setting goals! I actually set a couple of goals yesterday and they are big ones (sort of) and Thea says our goals can be small! I have some little things I […]

Leave a Reply

