Perfect 10 Week 1 update

8 Jan

How did I work my goals this week?

1. Lose 5 pounds per month – my weigh in day is Saturday (tomorrow), last week I gained 6 (insert any expletive here – I have) pounds. NOT a great way to start the year but I was expecting a gain since I fully enjoyed Christmas and our little family get-away. No regrets! Maybe a bit of a sugar coma and maybe I won’t be as off-plan for as long anytime in the near future but not regrets. Progress!! I yelled and cursed at the scale last Saturday but I did not let that defeat me! I have had an awesome week!

2. Walk 15 miles each week – I had an awesome week! It has been weeks since I did any real exercise with any real purpose!! I logged only 11.5 miles this week but I am still calling this a win!! For my first week back I am ecstatic

3. Strength train 3x each week, every week – Mission accomplished. See my weekly workout list below. I have decided to include a list of all the workouts I have completed in the last week.

 
4. find and prepare one new healthy recipe (or food) – I tried acorn squash this week. I did not write a blog about this but internet access has been a major issue this week! All the computers at work are useless ~ our server is fried! and I have been making less time for online and I think I cause my router to have a heart attack. I have had spotty connections at best. I will write about acorn squash this weekend.

WORKOUTS this WEEK

Friday: Treadmill: 3.25 miles, 78 minutes. 25 Knee Highs, 10 pushups (I do couch pushups-real & girl pushups kill my knees)

Thursday: 45 minute, 3 mile Walk Away your Waistline with Walk Belt (walking, cardio, resistance, and core) 50 squats

Wednesday: 45 minutes, 3 mile Walk at Home Weight Loss Walk  (walking, cardio, resistance, and core)

Tuesday: 35 squats, 25 knee highs, 10 couch-pushups. Treadmill: 2.25 miles, 65 minutes

Monday: Kettlebell: 50 swing squats, 35 sumo squats, 35 figure 8s. Resistance band:  tricep extensions, bent over rows & alternating lying chest presses

I did not workout last weekend. I should have but I let myself get done all the things that needed to be done so I could focus on myself!

I HAD A GREAT WEEK!!

I truly had an awesome week! It started slow – I was not very productive (on paper) with my goals last weekend but I needed that time to get ready for the upcoming week. It was back to school after Christmas break and (I am not bitching – just stating) I let myself get completely off schedule over Christmas break  so this week was exhausting. I did not let that be an excuse!!

What you don’t know about Jen…..

I am a complete cover hog. I don’t even know how I do it but I steal the blankets. ALL the blankets!! and I somehow cocoon myself with said blankets. I wrap my cocoon so tight that there is no way anyone can break in – much less get some blanket back so they are warm!! Big man is no match! We each have our own sheet & blanket on our bed. I don’t steal his covers and we sleep wonderfully. I think it may just be the secret to our happy marriage…beside that we are madly in love! 😉

6 Responses to “Perfect 10 Week 1 update”

  1. Trish @IamSucceeding January 9, 2010 at 8:18 am #

    You are doing great Jen!!

  2. Sagan January 9, 2010 at 11:45 am #

    I’m a total blanket hog too. If there’s a blanket in the room, you can bet that I am all over it (or rather, all under it), and somehow no one else gets in on it. Oops 😀

    Great week! Love walking. Looking forward to hearing your thoughts on acorn squash; I quite like it, but I think I prefer butternut squash.

  3. South Beach Steve January 9, 2010 at 1:39 pm #

    You and Sagan remind me of my wife. After years of marriage we have finally worked this thing out! 🙂 Great update, btw!

  4. Tracy January 9, 2010 at 10:07 pm #

    Wow! What an awesome week! Great workouts!

  5. workout mommy January 12, 2010 at 12:48 pm #

    Great job! I love the Monday workout—you must have felt that the next day! Keep up the momentum! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Saturday Scale Time : - January 9, 2010

    […] night I posted my Perfect 10 update and there you can find my workouts for the […]

Leave a Reply

