Project ME, take 2

9 Jan

If you follow me on twitter you may have seen my minor freakout this morning. My wireless connectivity has been less than reliable for the last few days and this morning I was working on this post this morning and something glitched and I lost the whole fucking thing!! For some strange reason my laptop does not want to completely cooperate. It will connect wirelessly in spurts but never with any great signal strength. I am using my daughter’s laptop to write this. One of my projects this weekend is to fix my laptop and another project it to figure out my new portable hard drive and transfer all my photos to one location. I will add a new post with pictures after that is all done!

Rethink your Shrink is the AWESOME brainchild of the Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans (aka the Hookers)!!

I am so happy through twitter I have met the sisters. I LOVE this new challenge. The name says it all! I am rethinking everything about my shrinking.

What DID work?

 2009 really was the beginning of my journey. I joined Weight Watchers in November of 2008 and made it through the ’08 holiday and I started 2009 feeling very confident. I worked hard. I walked a lot of miles!! I tracked everything…almost everything. I tried very hard to track everything, but I am certainly not perfect. I was very consciuos of what I was eating and making sure I was moving. I really learned how to eat like a grown up. I increased the consumption of fruits and veggies for me and my family. I have increased my activity level. I have learned to listen to my body and I am even learning what all my little signals mean. I spent the first half of ’09 working hard to prepare for ankle surgery because I wanted to go into the recovery process with a strong foundation. I never had that surgery. My orthopaedic surgeon was so impressed with the muscles I had built up around my ankle and all the walking I had done. 

Last August I was having pain in my arches when I walked or did a walking dvd. The month before I had logged 75 miles, some days walking outside and a walking dvd. It was a bit much on my feet ~ I should have alternated shoes on double walkout days. I went to a podiatrist and he suggested I choose one or the other for a while. I chose to walk and I walked outside until I went back to school. Most days I walked on the treadmill while I watched episodes of General Hospital on hulu.com.

What did NOT work?

How does one celebrate not needing surgery at the start of summer? She eats and plays and forgets all the things that got her to that point. I skated through the summer with small ups and downs on the scale but overall maintaining. I coasted through back-to-school. I maintained through Thanksgiving. I lost a few pounds here and there. All of the sudden 2009 was coming to an end and I was stalled. I should tell you that I did lose quite a bit of weight in 2009. Since I began Weight Watchers in November of 2008 I have lost a total of 45 pounds. But between July and December I bounced back and forth through the last 5 pounds. That is horrendous!!

As good as I was the first half of the year I was equally as bad the second half of the year.

July-December ~ I was not consistent!! I did not track every day every week. I did not workout with any consistency. I tried a lot of workout dvds. I tried the Jillian Michaels’ Shred: it killed my knees. I tried Tae Bo but I didn’t give it much of a chance, I felt so uncoordinated and I really couldn’t keep up. I think I need to find a basic Tae Bo or an instructional video. I tried to create my own routine using a kettlebell, a resistance band, SparkPeople and MizFit. I am not good at making my own routine. I wish I knew why I do not do this well but I don’t. I never feel like I am doing it right.

2010 proposal…

Now that I have looked back at 2009 and I see what worked and didn’t work it all clicks! I am going back to my walking! I am going to go back to my walking dvds with treadmill time mixed in. The walking dvds have a lot of resistance and mild-strength training and core work built in and I will add various exercises in daily: kettlebell swings, squats, couch pushups. I will play along with the sisters during the Biggest Loser commercial breaks. I will add those quick exercises into my every day workouts.

I am going to make working out a priority…wait that isn’t the right word. I am going to make working out a part of every day. I have no excuse – I can give myself  one hour every day. I can give myself that time and still get my chores and other responsibilities completed.

I am completely ADD, self-diagnosed, and I get so distracted by life and twitter.  This past week I have had major issues with my internet connection at home and at work so I have been very MIA. I have not blogged or tweeted much. Guess what?!?!?! I have been so much more productive than I could have hoped!

This week I also went back to my walking dvds and I can’t believe I forgot how much I loved my walkouts with the Walk at Home dvds. I felt every bit of the burn. My muscles needed to feel that workout. I walked with 2 different Walk at Home dvds this week and I used so many muscles and I feel it in all kinds of places.

Minds out of the gutters people!!!

I am going to use the walking dvds and the treadmill as my main source of exercise and use the other exercises to stay active and keep moving and confusing my muscles all day long.

I am going to keep tracking my food and my workouts. If I track my water and vitamins I take them. I will focus on tracking and doing. I may not blog as often but I will blog all the important stuff. I may not comment every day on every blog I read but I am reading your blogs. Your blogs and General Hospital keep me company while I walk on the treadmill.

I am going to keep participating in online challenges and online support groups!!! My twitter and bloggy friends, the Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans and Bookieboo’s Mamavation Sistahood help me stay focused and accountable.

 

2010 is the year of JEN!

is it the year of you?!?!

 

 

One Response to “Project ME, take 2”

  1. Mendie January 10, 2010 at 9:22 pm #

    Good luck in 2010-you WILL do it this year. Jillian was a little hard on my knees at first, but I made some tweaks and made it work. Hopefully you will find something that makes you feel energized this year!

Leave a Reply

