mindful menu plan – 1.10.09

10 Jan

Planning is so important to my waistline and my wallet. I may have mentioned it before…Big Man has been out of work for nearly two years. Needless to say, it is has been tight. We have learned to budget but we are far from perfect. Planning our menus has been so good for our budget. Mainly because we are not wasting any food. Big Man has taken over most of the grocery shopping and he is very good at sticking to an alotted budget. Actually, he is better at sticking to the budget…but he used to hate using a list. He would just plan meals while he was at the store. He has gotten so much better at this and now he uses a list that we base on our menu. Big Man even goes to a few different stores to strecth our dollar further: Sam’s Club, a local produce store, Acme (our grocery), and a local butcher/meat market.

Sorry for the ramble, I swear I had a point…

oh yeah!

Planning has allowed us to save money. We know what we need to buy at the store. We know what we have in the freezer and pantry. We don’t buy items we don’t need unless said item is one we use and it is a good sale price. We are eating healthier and fresher than ever and we are spending less. We are able to survive and thrive on my paycheck. People, let me remind you that I am a teacher – an early in my career, still in student loan debt hell, teacher. ūüėČ

If you are not planning your meals you should. If you need some ideas to get you started you should check out my good friend (and fellow Cowboys fan), Jenna, the mastermind behind “Mindful Menu Plan.” Jenna introduced me to the joys and benefits of menu planning. Check it out and then go make your menu plan for this week! Then go link up your blog! I will check out your menu! We can inspire each other!!

Our wallets and our waistlines will thank us!!

Ok, I totally rambled.

This week I will be trying a new format for my weekly menu. Last week I told you of the eating plan I was going to be following. I liked the week and I loved how I felt on that plan. I am now going to follow my own version of that plan. I am going to continue to add lots of veggies and new foods and new recipes but last week’s plan will be the basis. I need a bit more variety and I need a bit¬†different way to¬†plan …so check out how I plan out this week. Let me know what you think and I will let you know next week how this works out for me!

Breakfasts:

  • Oatmeal with banana and Sugar-free syrup & cinnamon
  • 2 eggs scramble with 1/2 turkey sausage and veggies
  • I¬†need another idea to rotate in here – something with beans. any help here would be lovely!!

Lunches:

  • homemade chicken noodle soup with salad or leftover veggies or raw veggies
  • leftovers from dinner

Dinners:

  • chicken & cous cous with a spinach salad with¬†hardboiled egg, bacon (just enough), and red onion
  • chicken stirfry
  • chicken fajitas
  • tilapia and a veg medley
  • turkey meatballs, alfredo noodles, broccoli & BIG salad

Snacks:

  • berries
  • apples
  • tagerines
  • occasinal fiber one bar
  • hardboiled eggs

 

Menu plan people!! Planning ahs helped me, it can help you!!

Much love, Jen

5 Responses to “mindful menu plan – 1.10.09”

  1. Heather @ Not a DIY Life January 10, 2010 at 8:03 pm #

    Looks like a great menu! Maybe you could do some sort of breakfast burrito? Scrambled eggs, beans, veggies in a tortilla?

  2. Tracy January 10, 2010 at 8:34 pm #

    This is great. Meal planning is one of my pitfalls, and is what’s holding back a total turn around in the quality of what I eat. We have always been a fly by your pants meal planning family. It’s time to buckle down. Thanks for the boost.

  3. Trish @IamSucceeding January 11, 2010 at 3:42 pm #

    Great job Jen! I am sooo proud of you!

    Thank you for your support too, I really appreciate it.

  4. Jenna / Mindful Menus / Chivetalkindotcom January 11, 2010 at 11:44 pm #

    Jen!!! You know how much you make me smile?!?! Thank you for sharing your story… how menu planning really does help you eat fresher AND stay on budget. Your plan is awesome this week. You could do a bean, rice, cheese, salsa burrito for breakfast or a burrito like Heather suggested with eggs, beans, cheese and salsa. All yummo! Thanks for joining Mindful Menus!!! Love having you!!!

  5. FatFighterTV January 14, 2010 at 10:39 am #

    Menu planning is totally the key to eating healthy and saving money – you are so right! I do it almost every week, and the one week here or there that I don’t, everything seems to fall apart!

Leave a Reply

