mindful menu – week of 1.17.10

17 Jan

I love menu planning. I have played with the best way to menu plan and having a set idea for each day works the best for me. Sometimes we switch up the day that we eat a particular meal – this usually happens when something doesn’t defrost properly or we are just human and want something else! Having a plan is super important!

I am so glad I started menu planning and even happier that @chivetalker started me out! Jenna has the best menu plans and menu planning friends. I link up every week and I always check out the other plans. You should try it too!!

Sunday – Crock Pot Beef Stew

Monday – Cheesesteaks, oven fries, and health salad

Tuesday – Italian Crock Pot chicken. Tuesdays nights the kid has karate from 6-7 and the crockpot is a lifesaver!! We eat a nice healthy meal before karate and no one has to rush to get dinner on the table by 5. I was looking for a new chicken crock pot recipe when the husband called to me from the kitchen to tell me he found a packet. He found a McCormick seasoning packet for Italian Crock Pot Chicken – chicken parts, mushrooms, stewed tomatoes, tomato paste, and chicken broth and seasoning packet.  I am going add chunks of zucchini and yellow squash and probably serve the whole thing over pasta.

Wednesday – Big Man Chili. This is one of those recipes that I don’t even want to know! It is loaded with whatever peppers Big Man can get his hands on.  I usually do not eat too much of this since it is hot but I do love it!! I am just sensitive!! {I hear Biz laughing at me as she reads this!!} I decided  that baked potatoes would be the perfect addition. I will have my chili right on top!

Thursday – Chicken & Green Beans Stirfry

Friday – Pork Tenderloin with homemade German sauer kraut and mashed potatoes.

Now, that I have the menu planned I can make a list for the grocery and produce stores. I start my plan by taking a quick inventory of the pantry and freezer so the grocery list is not a huge one (unless the sales ad has lots of goodies) and we will hit the produce stand tomorrow and again later in the week.  Tomorrow I will also be making a WW zero-point soup so I need to get lots of extra veggies.  We will have the soup with dinner instead of salads this week. I need a switch up from the salads!!

Are you menu planning yet?

One Response to “mindful menu – week of 1.17.10”

  1. Elizabeth_N January 18, 2010 at 3:00 pm #

    Can you come over and cook for me??? I still need to get this menu thing down. I ❤ you!! xoxoxox keep eatin healthy girl

Leave a Reply

