Week in Review

17 Jan

I am a day late on my Saturday weigh in and I am sorry. I was busy most of the day yesterday and when I wasn’t busy I sort of lazed out big time!

At WW meeting I stepped on scale, here is what happened:

WW lady: “2 pounds”

Me: “wow, I lost 2 pounds”

WW lady: “no, up 2 pounds”

Me: “wow, I gained 2 pounds, really?”

I decided to chat it up with my leader before the meeting,

Me: “Stephanie (my leader’s name) should I be concerned with being up 2 pounds? I tracked, stayed within my points and worked out. I even worked out this morning and late last night.”

Stephanie: “you tracked?”

Me: “yes”

Stephanie: “Everything?”

Me: “yes”

Stephanie: “Well that is a success! You worked out…that is a success! You are here…that is a success!!”

I have been thinking about this conversation since then…it is all I could think about!

And damn it, I may have gained this week but it was a great week. Ok, to be fair…it started off slow but ended with a bang.  My workouts and weekly goals are recapped here on my Perfect 10, week 2 update. I am so tired of being a slave to the scale. I had a great week and the scale will not dictate whether or not I had a good week. My Perfect 10 update includes my BIG goals but here is where I post my smaller weekly goals:

1. drink 80 oz of water daily I did this 6/7 days

2. take multi vitamin and glucosamine every day I remembered 4/7 days. I MUST get better at taking my vitamins.

3. make time for workouts I totally made time for me and my workouts!! I worked out 5/7 days and on the other 2 I did enough around the house to be “moving”!

On Tuesday I had an absolute meltdown! I can’t even tell you exactly what happened. I said something to Big Man and he gave me some look and I got all snappy. I snapped at him he snapped at me and I burst into tears. I must tell you all that me and the Big Man never fight! NEVER! Our friends think we are weird because as crazy as it sounds we actually like each other…and we don’t believe that fighting is productive ~ definitely stems from how we both grew up and the last relationship we were prior to meeting each other!  Sorry for the ramble here – but I really love the big dummy! Anyway, I cried and cried and it took a little bit to stop. I can’t exactly explain what started it or what “it” was even really about. I was left feeling very tired after the tears ended.

Later that night, I tweeted about my meltdown and I was hit back with many similar stories from my friends. When I talked with my WW girls, I again heard similar stories from this week. Something must be in the air.  I was also tweeted back by @debroby and she told me that at the start of a new fitness regime it was normal to have freakouts!! REALLY?!!? This is normal. huh?!?! @mizfitonline has said this very thing before.

What does this freakout mean? Well, later that night I saw my girls at @shrinkingjeans tweeting Last Chance workouts during Biggest Loser commercials. I do not watch Biggest Loser but I needed to jump into the action. I did a few exercises and lots of tweeting with my friends @shrinkingjeans, @lissjoy, @girlsworld, @fabfattieShan, and @footdr69 !! I needed that time and I did indeed begin to feel better. Wednesday came around and I worked out and felt awesome. I even bumped it up a bit ~ while doing my walking workout I did the middle mile twice!!

I also walked on Thursday.

Friday we ordered Chinese for dinner. I ordered chicken & shrimp with veggies (steamed with sauce on side). I didn’t eat any rice but I did eat a few steamed dumplings.  I drank a ton of water after dinner to try and combat the sodium. I walked on the treadmill for an hour (at 3.0 mph) and worked up quite a sweat.

I woke up at 7:30 (ridiculously early for a Saturday) to get ready for a walk with my girlfriend, Tammey. She was at my house by 8 and we walked for an hour and almost 3 miles. It was cold but we were moving and talking and the time went by quickly.  We haven’t walked together in forever and it was nice…even though it was cold. Ya’ll know how much I hate being cold!! After our walk I had a banana and some water and headed to my WW meeting. I stepped on that scale and gained 2 pounds. ugh! Not what I was hoping to see but a good learning experience. This weigh-in really taught me to not rely on the scale.

After WW meeting, I went home to eat something more substantial than a banana. Then it was off to the Red Cross to give blood. I have not donated since I was in high school…in 1996!! My daughter went with me and snapped some pictures!

**I chose to give blood because it is what I have to give! I am not a rich woman but I have plenty of blood and I am healthy!! If you are healthy, please consider going to the Red Cross to give blood!

**I am going to go back again March 13, 2010! That is the next time I am allowed to go back and I will give blood every 6-8 weeks, it is the least I can do! Who is with me??

One final note: I will not be using my previous Saturday Scale Time anymore. I will instead give a week in review every week after I attend my WW meeting.  I do not want to focus on the scale as the most important tool!! My success will not be determined to a number on a scale!! I will continue to weigh in at my WW meetings because I think I should….what are your thoughts about the scale?

much love!!

Jen

32 Responses to “Week in Review”

  1. Trish @IamSucceeding January 17, 2010 at 1:05 pm #

    I am wicked proud of you!!

  2. slorunnermom January 17, 2010 at 1:08 pm #

    I gave up my scale. It is not who I am. Instead I now use my body fat percentage as my guide. Two years ago my body fat was 39.8%! This week when I had it checked it is 19.1% yet I weigh 4 more pounds than I did two years ago. I run ALOT and I now know that it has worked for me. I could care less about my weight in pounds when I discovered I’ve converted 20% of body fat. My clothes keep getting looser…I joined @fabfattieshan and said “bye bye” to the weight scale.

  3. You are doing amazing, Jen!!

    Seriously? No fighting? Ugh. My hubby and I have been bickering constantly for the past year. 😦

    Hooray for giving blood! I’m proud of you!

    Love that you aren’t focusing on what the scale says so much!

    xo

  4. Stacy @ElsklingDyr January 17, 2010 at 2:37 pm #

    Just remember that muscle weighs more than fat so as you build it you might gain more weight. The good part is that muscle burns fat too so you can’t always trust your weight but taking measurements is helpful too. Also,BMI is important!! Good work, sista!!

  5. DarkUFO January 17, 2010 at 4:48 pm #

    New comments working great 🙂

    • bwJen January 17, 2010 at 6:16 pm #

      thanks for checking it out and letting me know!!

  6. leahsegedie January 17, 2010 at 6:55 pm #

    Hey Jen! I had so many of those Weight Watchers meetings where I gained. Big deal. Just concentrate on what you have gained…and how much you have lost and you will forget. If you ever get to the point when you plateau, I can give you some tips and directions based on what I did. XXOO Good job this week!

    • bwJen January 17, 2010 at 7:03 pm #

      Thanks Leah! xo

  7. mommymomo January 17, 2010 at 8:03 pm #

    You're doing great!!! Keep it up and dont get to down with the gain and you will see big results. consistency is key! Have you taken measurements? maybe you gained muscle!?!

  8. momof2boyswifeof1 January 17, 2010 at 8:18 pm #

    Good for you! Don't be a slave to your scale. It isn't really about that…I admire your continued successes and how you work out your challenges.I do have a question – it isn't normal to argue with your spouse? LOL, my hubby and I are always disagreeing and arguing, but for us I believe it is healthy. I do envy those who don't ever argue to some point, but I kinda like expressing my point of view when it is different. For the most part though, we do it civilly.

  9. Janice - Fitness Cheerleader January 17, 2010 at 8:21 pm #

    Keep up the good work Jen! I was up 1.8lbs two weeks ago, and this week I'm down 2.4 lbs so the scale does fluctuate. Don't be discouraged, you're doing a great job! BTW – I love that you gave blood – The Canadian Blood Services is my charity of choice 🙂 Have a great week!

  10. Trayce @trulytrayce January 17, 2010 at 8:37 pm #

    Jen you are doing fantastic and inspiring so many of us! Your dedication is amazing! Keep up the good work:D xxoo

  11. sarahcaiafa January 17, 2010 at 8:44 pm #

    great job this week. On weeks the scale is not your friend. i have been there do measurments.You might have a suprise there. Keep up the great work

  12. SuburbHouseWife January 17, 2010 at 9:35 pm #

    Don't sweat the scale, I like to go by how my clothes fit and sometimes I can actually feel a change in my body even though I can't quite see it yet. You'll get to your goal. Geeesh, you and your hubby are “golden” if you don't fight. I'm not even going to try and figure the times we fought but anyway, it's our “right” to have a meltdown or we will go insane! Awesome that you gave blood. I haven't done that in years.

  13. kia January 17, 2010 at 11:14 pm #

    Thank you so much for donating. I have donated whenever I am cleared from tattoos and out of country traveling since I was 18. I feel a little bad for not being able to donate now that I am pregnant which is just silly. However giving blood and blood products is the simplest most significant contribution you can make to your community. Thank you again for donating while all of us can't.On a #mamavation note I am glad you are turning to people when you are befuddled by what is going on or what you don't think is going on with your body. You did well the the long walk on Saturday. Keep working on your baby steps and you'll find the right formula that works for you in spite of the judgmental eyes of the scale.

  14. tinav January 18, 2010 at 12:24 am #

    awwww… i know the feeling of thinking you are going to have a good loss at WW and to find out you gained!! ugh, but you are right….you did everything you were supposed to this week and more.. so just keep it up!! i need to remember to get vitamins and take them…. (on the list for tomorrow) as for the meltdown… i am sure it is due to all the changes you are making… i have them even when i am not on a “diet” or working out … LOL (my poor family) have a great week see you at the momtv show tonight and the twitter party on thurs.

  15. Heather January 18, 2010 at 7:42 am #

    I had a similar week. I did really well with eating AND exercise this week, but only lost .5 lbs. I think the monthly visitor is coming though, because I had a similar blow up at my hubby and we NEVER fight either. Our friends think we're weird too, but arguing just doesn't accomplish anything. Keep up the great work and the great attitude!! You can do it!

  16. tlestrogen January 18, 2010 at 8:03 am #

    I had a weird week too Jen. I think I'm going to have to change my cheat days a bit (or a lot). I definitely had a freakout day too! Don't worry I think it's in the water!

  17. daenel January 18, 2010 at 9:04 am #

    Don't focus on the numbers, focus on how you're feeling. You're moving and you're making healthy changes in your lifestyle. Way to go!

  18. MrsFatass January 18, 2010 at 11:03 am #

    Wow, you do keep moving, dontcha? Good for you! And I love how your WW leader pointed out success. Who knows why, sometimes, but if you're doing the right thing, the results catch up.

  19. colleen_mouse January 18, 2010 at 12:33 pm #

    I agree…dont be a slave to the scale…it isnt always very accurate at everything you have done!

  20. Amy January 18, 2010 at 3:10 pm #

    Don’t get bummed about the gain, it sounds like you had a great week. I had a weird week and didn’t lose as much as I thought I would. But, I just look at it as today is a new week and I am starting fresh!

  21. Rachel January 18, 2010 at 3:26 pm #

    The gain could be muscle, it could be the increase in water, you never know. Just keep doing the right things (like you've been) and you'll see results!!

  22. Katie {FrugalFemina} January 18, 2010 at 7:14 pm #

    Oh man, I need to be better about taking my vitamin. I want to want to take it. The spirit is willing…. Glad to see you got that walk in with Tammey. I say count it as muscle mass and go with that. 🙂

  23. angelasue79 January 18, 2010 at 7:39 pm #

    Way to go, Jen! Do not rely on those stupid stupid scales. There are so many other ways to measure your success. Keep it up!

  24. lastminutemandy January 18, 2010 at 7:57 pm #

    You are so right – we should pay less attention to that number. It is simply another marker of your health. Last week I did really well – at least, compared to what I had the weeks before – and the scale moved only one pound. I expected a lot more (I usually lose a bunch in my first week back from a program.) So I was so bummed – but I made the same decision you did and decided to look at my week as a whole. It is a much better approach. You are on the right track, girl! Keep it up, and the scale will show it eventually. (High fives for giving blood!)

  25. Tracy January 19, 2010 at 4:27 pm #

    Oh girl, I have freak outs all the time. i think our hormones come into play with that…..could be the hormones that gifted you with that extra 2 pounds too! Don't sweat it. It will make itself back up since you are working so hard at it all. Great job on all your successes~!

  26. Jessica January 19, 2010 at 5:24 pm #

    Good job on working out, drinking your H20, and getting your vitamins! I also need to get on the vitamin bandwagon. I know I feel so much better when I'm taking them regularly. Also, good job on not letting the scale results get you down. Just keep moving, just keep moving… 🙂

  27. Heidi January 20, 2010 at 9:24 pm #

    I think you do have many successes! 80 oz of water! WOW that is great! I don't get near that much. I need to work on that. And that is great that you gave blood! I know a blood transfusion saved my father in laws life once. Keep up the good work girl!

  28. Christie O. January 20, 2010 at 10:43 pm #

    i agree, sometimes no matter what we do, the number doesn't reflect on the scale. and that's ok! just keep doing what you're doing, use the scale but don't be a slave to it and don't let it get you down. consistency is key!! you had a great week full of non-scale victories, and good for you!! it's all about living healthy!

  29. Heidi January 21, 2010 at 2:24 am #

    I think you do have many successes! 80 oz of water! WOW that is great! I don't get near that much. I need to work on that. And that is great that you gave blood! I know a blood transfusion saved my father in laws life once. Keep up the good work girl!

  30. Christie O. January 21, 2010 at 3:43 am #

    i agree, sometimes no matter what we do, the number doesn't reflect on the scale. and that's ok! just keep doing what you're doing, use the scale but don't be a slave to it and don't let it get you down. consistency is key!! you had a great week full of non-scale victories, and good for you!! it's all about living healthy!

Leave a Reply

