Perfect 10, week 3 update

22 Jan

How did I work my goals this week?

1. Lose 5 pounds per month – my weigh in day is Saturday (tomorrow), last week I gained 2 pounds. I handled it well! I have learned and I remind myself all the time, I will not let the scale determine my success!! I had a good week…the scale just didn’t agree. I am still plugging away!

2. Walk 15 miles each week – I logged 17 of 15 miles this week….so far! After dinner I will jump on the treadmill. I have been quite sedentary today. It was just that kind of day at school – I had a ton of paperwork stuff! I decided to put in a dvd . Wahoo!!

3. Strength train 3x each week, every week – I am getting the hang of strength. I think my biggest problem for me was letting my head get in the way. NOT LITERALLY!! I mean jeesh, my head ain’t that big! I don’t like not knowing what I am doing. I went back to my Walk at Home workout dvds and they give me miles plus mild strength training and core work! I have joined @shrinkingjeans on Tuesdays for some Biggest Loser commercial break tworkouts. I do not watch the show but I do all the exercises and those @shrinkingjeans girls can be bossy!! Anyway, I have just started adding those exercises into my day/workout every other day. I even did pushups (ok, I had to use the back of my couch but my knees do not like being locked and I have no cushion under the knee caps so even girl pushups kill my knees) twice this week.


4. find and prepare one new healthy recipe (or food) – Ok, I totally failed on this one! Unless you count the crockpot chicken I made the other night. I found a McCormick packet for “Italian Herb Slowcooker Chicken” and it was the easiest recipe!! I used Boneless Skinless Chicken breasts (2) and thighs (4), 2 cans diced tomatoes, 1 small can tomato paste and the herb packet. I had mine over spaghetti squash and husband and daughter had pasta. It was very yummy and super easy!

WORKOUTS this WEEK

Friday: 3.1 miles, 50 minutes Walk Slim: 3 Fast Miles

Gruve: To be updated

Steps: To be updated

Thursday: 45 minutes, 3 mile Walk at Home Weight Loss Walk (walking, cardio, resistance, and core) with 2 pound handweights.

Gruve: GREEN goal

Steps: 11,400

Wednesday: 45 minutes, 2 mile treadmill walk

Gruve: GREEN goal

Steps: 12,158

Tuesday: 45 minute, 3 mile Walk Away your Waistline with Walk Belt (walking, cardio, resistance, and core). BL Tworkout directed by @shrinkingjeans –

Gruve: GREEN goal

Steps: 12,012

Monday: 45 minutes, 3 mile Walk at Home Weight Loss Walk (walking, cardio, resistance, and core) with 2 pound handweights.

Gruve: Yellow goal

Steps: 7,800

Sunday: 45 minute, 3 mile Walk Away your Waistline with Walk Belt (walking, cardio, resistance, and core) 50 squats

Gruve:  Orange goal (it was a very lazy day – I barely left the couch)

Steps: 2,000

Saturday: housecleaning, 3 mile outside walk. Gave Blood at the Red Cross!

Gruve: GREEN goal

Steps: 12, 489

I HAD A GREAT WEEK!!

The week started off wonky. I woke up early enough on Saturday to go for a walk with my good friend before my WW meeting. After I gave blood and ran all my errands I came home and ate! I ate too much on Saturday and Sunday. I blew through all of my extra weekly points (for those on WW you understand) in a day and a half. This could have and in the past has set me up for a terrible week. Monday I worked out and ate better! It was still a slower day because it was a day off from school. I do not do well on days off! I need my routine! But, I kept going and I kept making each day a bit better. I am starting to really make working out a daily thing.

How are you doing with your goals?

What you don’t know about Jen…..

I LOVE to cook! I will try almost any recipe and most recently I have even started adjusting recipes to be healthier. I have even gotten so brave as to create my own healthy meals.

So, that part isn’t really a secret but…

I only started cooking after I met Big Man…about 5 years ago. After Q and I moved into Big Man’s house we remodeled the kitchen.  I had no kitchen for 6 weeks and since Big Man was going working on the kitchen I dealt with meals ~ thank goodness the local market has wonderful meals to heat and eat. When the kitchen was finally complete, I made the inaugural meal. Meatloaf and mashed potatoes.

I have been addicted to Food Network, online recipes, and cookbooks ever since.

Addicted I tell ya!

Is there anything you want to know? Just ask!!

I love this challenge and I am so glad Steve is hosting such an awesome challenge. Thanks Steve!!

7 Responses to “Perfect 10, week 3 update”

  1. South Beach Steve January 22, 2010 at 10:02 pm #

    You've had a pretty good week, and I don't think #4 was a fail. I love all the green on the workouts too.I appreciate the thanks, and I will echo it back by saying I am glad to have you on board!

    • bwJen January 23, 2010 at 9:04 pm #

      Thanks Steve! I mean every word – your challenges have forced me to look inside! This one more so but I think my head is finally where it needs to be and my goals reflect that choice. I am finally making realistic goals that I can and have been achieving. You are right. I did try something new!! Wait til you see the recipe I try this week!!

  2. Trish January 23, 2010 at 8:32 pm #

    Great week!! SO I want to know…What will you do this week to make it even better?

    • bwJen January 23, 2010 at 9:00 pm #

      Thanks Trish! I am honestly just looking for a repeat performance. I would like to eat awesome, 80-90% of the way, I love treats!! But I will continue to make exercise a daily priority! Thanks for pushing me and believing in me! You are pretty dang awesome yourself!

  3. Trish January 24, 2010 at 1:32 am #

    Great week!! SO I want to know…What will you do this week to make it even better?

  4. jeninRL January 24, 2010 at 2:00 am #

    Thanks Trish! I am honestly just looking for a repeat performance. I would like to eat awesome, 80-90% of the way, I love treats!! But I will continue to make exercise a daily priority! Thanks for pushing me and believing in me! You are pretty dang awesome yourself!

  5. jeninRL January 24, 2010 at 2:04 am #

    Thanks Steve! I mean every word – your challenges have forced me to look inside! This one more so but I think my head is finally where it needs to be and my goals reflect that choice. I am finally making realistic goals that I can and have been achieving. You are right. I did try something new!! Wait til you see the recipe I try this week!!

Leave a Reply

