I freaking ROCK! (Monday Project)

23 Jan

Yep, I said it!! I may not be perfect but I am pretty freaking awesome! If I do say so myself. I have to make sure @mizfitonline reads this post, I believe she would be proud. I know the hookers over at Shrinking Jeans will be amused and proud at my offering!

Rethink Your Shrink, The Monday Project

Please to enjoy 5 of the many reasons why I ROCK!!

1. I have finally realized that I, do indeed, ROCK!! I am a bit of a nerd, kind of a dork, totally clutzy, high strung at times, lazy as all get out at other times. I finally like me, just because I am me!! and to be honest, fuck anyone who doesn’t like who doesn’t like it!! The fabulous Miz has a saying that appropriately fits here:  I finally understand!!

2. I am a super tweeter! I love my twitter family! For me twitter is a lifeline to staying strong on the healthy journey. Some times I am the one being inspired and some times I am able to inspire others. I love to encourage and be encouraged!

3. I am an awesome mom!! My daughter and I talk about everything and I hope as she gets older (she is 10 now) that she continues to talk to me. Just this year we have hit huge mom-daughter milestones: first bra, the period and sex conversation, and liking boys! I take my responsibility as a mom very seriously and I teach my daughter life skills that she will carry with her always. Q is a confident, loving, and sensitive and independent. She is an awesome kid so I must be an awesome mom!  Plus, she tells me I am!

4.  bbbpo”:?

My kitty just typed that!! Isn’t he the cutest cat!  and he is another reason I ROCK! After losing two pets in as many years and dealing with 3 remaining cats,2 of which are huge pains-in-the-ass, and 3 turtles that are not supposed to be my responsibility, I swore I was done with critters. And then I found my kitty and that went out the window and I had to rescue Whiskey and bring him home with me!

5. I teach at a school that no one really wants to work. I teach English to high school students at an alternative (think second chance) school. My kids are tough and have tough lives and have problems with drugs and the law. They are difficult but not bad kids. There are days that are extremely heart wrenching and emotional and there are days where I wonder if I am teaching kindergarten (I have one class of sophomores – all boys)!! I believe I have found my calling, what I am meant to be doing. And, while I may not be perfect, I do always try to keep learning and trying new methods of teaching to truly help my students.

Ok, now that I am working on me and I am comfortable with who I am this list could go on!

**The last 3 weeks have been awesome for me on this get healthy journey and I attribute this to the 2 challenges I am participating in:

Rethink Your Shrink!

5 Responses to “I freaking ROCK! (Monday Project)”

  1. Tina January 23, 2010 at 10:59 pm #

    You do rock girl and be proud of it!!! The older I get, the more I'm with you on “fuck anyone who doesn’t like who doesn’t like it!!” We don't get these days back, let's make the most of them. 🙂

  2. South Beach Steve January 24, 2010 at 9:25 am #

    I can't agree more – YOU ROCK!

  3. Trish January 24, 2010 at 2:51 pm #

    It's about time you figured out that you rock!! 🙂 Oh and you know what…I have a 10 year old daughter too!! 🙂

  4. Christie O. January 24, 2010 at 9:11 pm #

    yes, you DO totally rock! and wow, i love that you have found your calling in teaching at your school. so many people don't have the patience and they give up on these poor students who need so much, including the extra guidance by kind souls like you! you're wonderful for doing that! and how wonderful that you're able to share, relish, and face those tough issues with your daughter so openly and wonderfully! not to mention every other reason why you rock — and that includes being “unapologetically myself”!!!

  5. Christie O. January 25, 2010 at 2:11 am #

    yes, you DO totally rock! and wow, i love that you have found your calling in teaching at your school. so many people don't have the patience and they give up on these poor students who need so much, including the extra guidance by kind souls like you! you're wonderful for doing that! and how wonderful that you're able to share, relish, and face those tough issues with your daughter so openly and wonderfully! not to mention every other reason why you rock — and that includes being “unapologetically myself”!!!

Leave a Reply

