Week in Review

24 Jan

Starting weight: 242.6

Last week’s weight: 198

This week’s weight: 193.6

This week’s change: -4.4

Total change:  -49.0

Before I tell you about my week, I have to reflect a bit about the number on the scale. I am not ruled by the number on the scale but it is a piece of the puzzle or game. Losing weight is just like putting a puzzle together – each person must create their own puzzle. I am working hard to find the pieces that best fit my puzzle. Part of the puzzle is the number on the scale and part of the puzzle is measurements. I finally took new measurements and there were actual changes between November and now. I have heard every option for how often to measure and I am not sure how often I will measure but probably not every week. Do you measure? How often?

Another piece of my puzzle has been setting reasonable goals. I admit I have not always been the best goal-setter.  I usually just kind of bulldoze my way through. No real planning just one day at a time. I joined two challenges this year (Perfect 10 and Rethink Your Shrink) that have been helping me set small reasonable and attainable goals.

My BIG goals are outlined in my week 3, Perfect 10 update. You can also find a list of last week’s workouts.

My smaller goals, I will discuss here:

1.  drink 80 oz of water daily I am great about this Monday – Friday. I don’t know why since I barely drink any water during the school day. 5/7

2. take multi vitamin and glucosamine every day I am horrible about this but I am getting better. 5/7

3. make time for workout As you can see if you check out my Perfect 10 update, I worked out a lot last week. I was a bit lazy the last two days but I am very happy with the progress I have made in the workout area. I look forward to working out even if I bitch about it before hand. I love that @ShrinkingJeans leads Biggest Loser commercial break workouts. I love how sweaty I get Walking at Home or on the treadmill. I love that my arms are starting to feel “tight” and I LOVE that I am getting stronger and tighter! I will continue to workout because I finally get it! I really LOVE that I found a workout I LOVE!!

Another piece of the puzzle is FOOD! Ya’ll know how much I love food. All food!! Good food, good-for-you food, healthy food, and just plain junk food. I have learned that some foods have no place in my healthy life plan and I know there are foods that if they were off limits I would rebel and binge on. No foods are off limit. Moderation. I have learned menu planning is essential to my weight & wallet management. I am planning healthy meals full of lean meats and yummy vegetables. I also allow treats and occasional “cheat” days but I don’t call them that. I have always managed to stay within my points and now that I am adding all the workouts in I am ok with some higher points splurge days.

Another piece of the puzzle is accountability! I NEED lots of accountability!! I tried ditching my meetings and just using WW online….I lost and gained the same 5 pounds the entire 4 months. I went back to my meetings and did a little better but then Christmas came and we went away and I did not track and I gained back a few pounds. I found a group of Moms on the same journey.  #Mamavation is an awesome motivational community of moms in various stages of the healthy journey.  The mamavation ladies are all just so sweet and supportive!

Now, on the other side of the coin I found the Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans…how could I not check out a group of chicks with a blog titled that?!?! and they are a riot – super supportive & encouraging and not afraid to YELL at me to get my ass moving! I love how sarcastic, snarky and down right brutal their love can be – they are the best!

I join all kinds of challenges! Challenges keep the whole  journey new. I am not always the best challenge participant. Not  the challenge’s fault…but I lack follow through some times. I get all excited but don’t always finish what I start. I am currently involved in two challenges: Perfect 10 and Rething Your Shrink. I liked these two challenges and since the principals behind the challenges were so similar I felt (and still do) comfortable participating in both challenges.

Twitter is the best motivation!! I tweet to inspire and motivate as well as be inspired and be motivated! My twitter peeps are my friends. My twitter peeps know all the answers to all the questions I have!! My twitter peeps don’t let me get away with sulking or not working out! I may be addicted to Twitter but I swear it has huge benefits!

I rambled and rambled! This was a good week – mentally and on the scale. I am finding the perfect balance for me. I am finding what is right and works best for me. This has to be my journey, my way!! I have been traveling on this journey to health for over a year now and it really has been the last 3 weeks that I can honestly say, “I get it!!”


Did I tell you that Twenty Ten is the Year of JEN?!?!

Join me in making 2010 the best year!

28 Responses to “Week in Review”

  1. South Beach Steve January 24, 2010 at 8:58 pm #

    Twenty Ten is the Year of JEN — I LOVE IT!

  2. SuburbHouseWife January 24, 2010 at 9:14 pm #

    OMG, you are doing exceptionally well with your weight loss and how you're tracking everything you do. I think it's cool that you are branching yourself out more to get further support by all moms and women alike. Great job Jen!

  3. Trish January 24, 2010 at 9:30 pm #

    Oh yeah….you are A W E S O M E!!!! You know it…2010 the year of Jen!! Oh yeah go Jen go!!

  4. mommy-momo January 24, 2010 at 10:00 pm #

    OMG!!!! amazing girl!!! way to go! so super stoked for you! keep it up! great goals!

  5. FeelsLikeHomeBlog January 24, 2010 at 10:37 pm #

    You rock! Way to go, Jen!

  6. Janice - Fitness Cheerleader January 24, 2010 at 11:14 pm #

    Good job! Sleep is another piece of that puzzle – it's a very complicated puzzle, once you think you have it figured out it changes… There'll be big loss weeks, and there will be weeks with no changes… Hang in there – you're doing fantastic!!

  7. daenel January 24, 2010 at 11:26 pm #

    You are doing so well with your weight loss. Way to go! Also I measure once a month because I think that provides enough time for change but I could be wrong on that. If I do it too often and I don't see any difference I'm afraid I'll get discouraged.

  8. leahsegedie January 25, 2010 at 12:54 am #

    OMG girl…I can't believe you lost 4.4 lbs. this week! Wow! I'm not worthy…great job! XXOO

  9. tlestrogen January 25, 2010 at 8:53 am #

    Wow. You did have a great week! I love your enthusiasm! When your body starts changing, you start looking forward to what you see in the mirror don't you? Now move your ass! LOL

  10. Heidi January 25, 2010 at 11:49 am #

    Wow you are doing fabulous! I love twenty ten is the year of Jen! Keep at it girl!

  11. colleen_mouse January 25, 2010 at 11:59 am #

    Congrats on the loss….you are doing awesome!

  12. Heather January 25, 2010 at 1:14 pm #

    Wow, what a great week you had! Isn't it amazing when we have those a-ha moments about ourselves. You'd think we'd have ourselves figured out by now! Great job!I am going to do my measurements once a month, I think. Like you said, it's part of the whole picture and I don't want to be obsessive about the numbers.You're doing great – keep it up!!

  13. Stacey / Create a Balance January 25, 2010 at 2:23 pm #

    I'm joining you and all the #mamavation moms. My goal this week is to move more and to drink more. Your goals are inspiring me. Send me a tweet if you have any suggestions for drinking more water.

  14. Jessica January 25, 2010 at 3:37 pm #

    That's awesome that you are finding what works for you. And that you feel lyou can finally say that you “get it”. Wahoo for you!! And a 4.4# loss is wonderful , too! Again, thanks for reminding me I need to start taking a vitamin. You're an inspiration for me! Thanks!

  15. angelasue79 January 25, 2010 at 4:42 pm #

    Jen!!! Awesome!!! I am so proud of you!! You might not be perfect yet on some of your goals, but you are doing better and better!! Way to go! Now you just have to keep it up. xoxo

  16. sarahcaiafa January 25, 2010 at 6:06 pm #

    congrats on a great week.

  17. Lissa_ShrinkingJeans January 25, 2010 at 6:48 pm #

    WOW WOW WOW!!! Look at you GO! I am so proud of you!!!xoxo

  18. Phat January 25, 2010 at 8:06 pm #

    Year of JEN?? I'm totally in!! Very proud of you sweetie! You have been working hard – & it shows!! GREAT WI!! You are on a roll baby!! Woot!!

  19. kia January 25, 2010 at 8:14 pm #

    Woohoo! I love having a good relationship in food. Moderation is my goal too!! Great goals and keep working at them. Congrats on being down 49 pounds so far. That has to feel great!

  20. Biz January 25, 2010 at 8:25 pm #

    Loved this post Jen!! Love the last line too – I'll join you, even if it does rhyme! Last year I said 2009 was mine – but this year I'll see 2010 is WHEN! :DLove all your goals!!

  21. foodiemcbody January 25, 2010 at 8:29 pm #

    Jen I am soooooooooooooooo excited for you! You are on fire! YES 2010 is the year of JEN!

  22. Jenn_watchmybuttshrink January 26, 2010 at 8:22 am #

    Can 2010 be the year of Jenn's with 2 “n”s as well? ;-)You are amazing! I love this post – so full of positiveness, opportunity, and goals!!! You've got all the building blocks in place – put them all together, and you are definitely going to see your goal!

  23. Christie O. January 27, 2010 at 8:11 am #

    2010 is the year of JEN!! i love that!! congrats on your weightloss this week, new decade here you come!!! it's very true that all of that stuff has to be in line in order for the perfect storm of weightloss to occur, most importantly the support. When you have motivation and inspiration from the women in the online community (Twitter included!), it's a whole different (successful!) ballgame! So congrats on finding what works for you and thanks for being an inspiration to me!!!!!

  24. BrookeF January 27, 2010 at 9:25 am #

    you're doing great!! 🙂 congrats.i get measured once a quarter – while i'm doing my fitness assessment at work.

  25. ladybugs714 January 27, 2010 at 12:53 pm #

    Great job Jen! You are doing fabulous! You are so close to that 50lbs mark!!! Woot woot! Its great to have such a supportive group to help us along the journey isn't it! Glad you are a part of the Sisterhood!!!

  26. Heather January 27, 2010 at 2:11 pm #

    4.4 pounds? Incredible! And even better – you seem to be discovering SO much about yourself. That, lady, is SO important. Keep up the great work!

  27. Christy_TheSistherhood January 27, 2010 at 9:57 pm #

    Okay, now that I've scrolled down, I can totally see your comment section. Weird how there's such a big gap!Way to go on your loss this week! WOW! I'm so stinkin' proud of you, hooker!!

  28. Christy_TheSistherhood January 28, 2010 at 2:57 am #

    Okay, now that I've scrolled down, I can totally see your comment section. Weird how there's such a big gap!Way to go on your loss this week! WOW! I'm so stinkin' proud of you, hooker!!

Leave a Reply

