run Jen run

16 Feb

All of the sudden I have so much to write about.

  • I was going to blog a “Tuesday Confession” (I have been a bad girl)
  • I was gonna tell you about the concert I went to last night (which was freaking amazing, btw)
  • Those posts will have to wait, this one has to be written

So, you may remember me mentioning Fitbloggin. If you are a twitter friend, you are probably sick of me mentioning #Fitbloggin!! Well, I am super excited for Fitbloggin. I am a bit nervous as well. I am nervous for a few reasons: traveling alone, meeting all you awesome people for the first time, falling on my clutzy face in front of all you awesome people, and now running a 5K.

I am only half serious about being nervous! The travel will be fine! It is not a long drive to Baltimore (only about 3 hours) but I am used to traveling with Big Man.  I am clutzy; I know it and I have told you all it so many times that you know it! I am ok with being clutzy! It is part of my charm!! I am learning to be “unapologetically myself” <~~ gotta love the Miz! If I fall, I will pick myself up and make a wise crack…cuz ya know it is kind of funny!

Did you all notice that I wrote running up there?!?!

Yep, I may have lost my mind!! I signed up to run in the New Balance (my go to sneaker choice)  sponsored Fitbloggin 5K. I read an email about the 5K and I just signed up!! I did not think of the logistice, I just signed up! That was last night! Very late last night, after 3 hours of dancing at Further (see info at http://www.dead.net) I logged in to check my email and quickly signed up for the 5K.

I tweeted a bunch about anxiety over running and was overwhelmed by my fave tweethearts!! They (@PhatBFF, @footdr69, @fabfattieShan, @JeepJenn, @rebeccamuba, @Loser_for_Life, @reallifeadv, @foodiemcbody, @kyratx & @damanlovett ~~> I really hope I did not miss anyone) told me:

  • “GO FOR IT”
  • YOU CAN DO IT
  • I WILL BE CHEERING YOU ON
  • I WILL HANG WITH YOU
  • I BELIEVE IN YOU

WOW!!

Just WOW!!

I am blown away by the love and support and encouragement!! You all ROCK!! I told Big Man about this and he said to me, “we can go to Mainland’s (local high school) track together and I will walk while you train.

ummmm DOUBLE WOW!!

I LOVE Big Man! He has been super supportive of everything I have done from the day we met. He encourage me while I finished school. We got engaged, I moved in and he financially supported me and my daughter while I finished school. He has been awesome about my weight loss but very slow with his own and I worry because he is diabetic (type 2) and on medication (not shots yet). I want Big Man to lose weight but only so he is healthy and stays around forever. I really love love the big lug! THIS IS HUGE!! He wants to start walking more regularly and this is the perfect time! I am just as excited about Big Man wanting to walk with me as I am to start something new.

Ya’ll know I love a good challenge!! I am challenging myself to start and complete the Couch to 5K program (to the best  of my ability)!! My first “running” goal will be to run at least half of the New Balance/Fitbloggin 5K.  I am also going to figure out when the end of the 9-week Couch to 5K training program is and I will sign up for a 5K that weekend. I will update you as I go!!

**I am still looking for sponsors for Fitbloggin10. If you are looking to sponsor a blogger please email me at jeninreallife@yahoo.com **

16 Responses to “run Jen run”

  1. Shannon Fab Fattie February 16, 2010 at 7:41 pm #

    Yay freakin YAY!!! I just lov eyou and you are going to do fabulous! BTW if you fell on your face in front of me…I would laugh like hell but I would help you get up and brush you off 🙂

    • bwJen February 16, 2010 at 7:47 pm #

      thanks Shanney!! and I would totally be laughing too!! I can't wait to hugyou in real life!! xoxo

  2. kclanderson February 16, 2010 at 7:49 pm #

    You CAN do it Jen…I signed up too and I haven't really run in a very long time. So I'll be doing a bit of walking too. I think you'll be surprised at how…dare I say “easy” it will be! Remember, no one is there to judge you…it's all about support!

    • bwJen February 16, 2010 at 7:52 pm #

      with all my girls there with me, how can it NOT be fun!! xoxo

  3. Ryan Sullivan February 16, 2010 at 8:04 pm #

    I'll bet you find it comes together more quickly than you anticipate. You'll do great Jen!

    • bwJen February 16, 2010 at 8:35 pm #

      thanks Ryan! xoxo

  4. marisaloserforlife February 16, 2010 at 8:25 pm #

    I am so psyched, Jen! It will be great! You can totally do this! I will be available to support you at any time. It's rough in the beginning, but it's all a mind game. Don't let your mind tell your body that you can't do it. I will absolutely hang with you during the 5K; we can spur each other on to finish! Feel free to email me anytime: aloserforlife@gmail.comBig Man Rocks!

    • bwJen February 16, 2010 at 8:34 pm #

      oooh! thanks Marisa!! I appreciate the encouragement! xoxo

  5. Trish February 16, 2010 at 9:58 pm #

    Jen I am so proud of you!! Running a 5K!! Woot!!! You are my hero!! xoxo

  6. Mel's Box of Chocolates February 17, 2010 at 6:24 pm #

    Good for you, Jen, I'm so proud of you for going for it. I'll be right there running beside you. CAn't wait for our run in Lewes too. I'm all signed up!!

  7. Jenn_watchmybuttshrink February 18, 2010 at 3:15 pm #

    WOW, good for you, mama! I'm nervous about Fitbloggin as well – for the pretty much the same reasons: the lone traveling, meeting new people, being a dork, lol. But, I'm doing the walk, not the run – I'm not a runner in any way, shape or form!

  8. Merry Mary February 18, 2010 at 9:19 pm #

    You know I'm going to do it with you. 😉

    • bwJen February 18, 2010 at 9:20 pm #

      yeah BABY!! we are so awesome!!

      • workout mommy February 18, 2010 at 10:32 pm #

        me and baby R. will be running in spirit with you? Who knows–maybe I'll pack him in a carrier and do a light jog with him? 🙂

  9. Biz February 19, 2010 at 11:24 am #

    So proud of you Jenn! And woot woot on Big Man's support – my husband is the same way – behind me 110% no matter what I do – aren't we lucky girls?!My brother is one of the speakers at Fitbloggin! http://www.backtothefridge.com – not sure I told you that or not. I would love to be there but I'll be hosting our German exchange student then. Have tons of fun for me though!

  10. Biz February 19, 2010 at 4:24 pm #

    So proud of you Jenn! And woot woot on Big Man's support – my husband is the same way – behind me 110% no matter what I do – aren't we lucky girls?!My brother is one of the speakers at Fitbloggin! http://www.backtothefridge.com – not sure I told you that or not. I would love to be there but I'll be hosting our German exchange student then. Have tons of fun for me though!

Leave a Reply

