just another manic monday

21 Feb

Manic Monday

Click the link!! You know you want to!! Click and watch the Bangles!! I promise it will make your Monday!!

WEEKLY WEIGH IN STATS

Current Weight: 194.4
Previous Weight: 196.8 lbs
Weight loss: -2.4 lbs
Weight loss in Feb: -0.2 lbs
Starting Weight: 242.6 lbs
Weight loss total: -48.2 lbs

THE WEEK IN REVIEW:

The week started off with such promise! After snow days and chest colds hampering me I was hopeful that I would get back to consistent working out.  Big Man and I went out of town on Monday to see an awesome concert. I was in the car for over two hours but I think I made up for it with a half hour in the hotel pool and 3 hours of hippie wigglin’ (I don’t know what else you call the dancing one does at a Dead show).  I did not have my Gruve (it is currently broken and I have been slacking on sending it to be fixed but tomorrow it will go to FedEx) but my pedometer racked up 11,000 + steps while I was at the show.

Tuesday morning I woke up to a text from my mother. The kid had been up 3 times to puke! Oh joy! We drove home in very limited visibility due to snow. I spent the day lounging with a very sick kid. I always know she is sick if she is super clingy and if she takes a nap willingly. I swear the kid thinks naps are evil!

Wednesday I woke up and got ready for work like normal. I left the kid sleeping with daddy on duty. I drive 3 miles to get to work! In the time it took me to drive to work, mind you it is 3 miles away, I was feeling nauseous and overheated! I got into school ans lasted about 20 minutes before I was sent home. As I was walking to my car, the bus arrived. Don’tcha know I slipped on damn ice and went down quick and hard! Did I mention I did this in front of a bus of my students?!?!

Thursday and Friday I was feeling better and made it to work. I wasn’t 100% but well enough to be in school. Fridays at my school are workplace readiness days. We don’t necessarily teach academics. One of new classes started this Friday and I am super super excited about this class. I am teaching a Girls Essential Skills/Self-Esteem Building/Fitness Class.  Our first day was awesome!! We started some self-esteem building exercises. I am looking forward to how this works.

I did have some exciting things happen during this otherwise bleh week of sickies:

  • The class I mentioned above started and went extremely well. The girls are “into” the class! A few of the girls even asked me if I would stay with them after school to work out in the gym (our school is very small so we do not have the gym facilities of a traditional high school)
  • I set my ultimate weight goal this week!! After reading @amerrylife ‘s blog this week where she set an awesome super big goal , I decided that I also wanted to lose a total of 100 pounds. I have been himming and hawing about what my ultimate goal will be! I think my vagueness has only hindered me. 100 is a nice even number and I am almost half way there!
  • I decided to sign up for the FitBloggin’ New Balance 5K! TO RUN this 5K! I am not a runner but I want to challenge myself to try this!! My goal for this 5K is to just finish the dang thing and run half! I started the Couch to 5K training program today.
  • I was named Teacher of the Year for my school

I am looking forward to the week ahead! I have new workout goals!

  • couch to 5K training with @FitinmyHeart, @damanlovett, @JeepJenn, @priorfatgirl, and @amerrylife [IF you are training with me and I didn’t list you please hit me up in comments ~ I want to make a list (with links) for all me fellow SLOGGERS in training!!
  • Start Bob Greene training with @fitinmyheart [this is a dvd with an 8 week total body makeover plan] Monday (tomorrow) will be week 1, day 1.

I will also work on:

  • drinking 8 glasses of water every day
  • remembering to take vitamins every day
  • stretching every night before bed!
  • track! track! track!!

Oh life is good!! I am feeling better! The family seems to be over the sickies! I am ready to take on the world!! At least, for the next week!


much love, Jen

24 Responses to “just another manic monday”

  1. Merry Mary February 22, 2010 at 12:23 am #

    Way to go Jen! You are doing a great job! Great job this week! We can do this! (You might get there first at this rate… but I'm going to do it!)

  2. marisaloserforlife February 22, 2010 at 7:27 am #

    congrats on being Teacher of the Year! That's terrific!!Yay for SLOGGERS!!! We DO need shirts!

  3. tlestrogen February 22, 2010 at 9:15 am #

    Wow! That's what I call commitment! I'm currently working week two of C25k so we're working together too girl! Add me to the list!I'm scheduled to run a local 5k here on April 24th.

  4. danatompkins February 22, 2010 at 9:21 am #

    Congrats on making your goal – and Good luck on your new goal as well!!

  5. jenniferyork February 22, 2010 at 11:13 am #

    Jen, I am so glad you are going to try running…you may even like it! (I know, it's a weird thought!)I think you would be a great teacher to have. I love the idea of the Girls Essential Skills/Self-Esteem Building/Fitness Class…I'd like to know more about it…

  6. savingmoneywisely February 22, 2010 at 11:19 am #

    Wow you have done a great job at the weight loss! It sounds like you are inspiring others too – which is awesome! I am at the end of week 2 on C25K – signed up for a 5K at the end of April – so far it has been a great program to follow. I am staying another day on week 2 just b/c I had a hard time with the last workout (chest cold here as well!) You're a true inspiration!

  7. kia February 22, 2010 at 11:58 am #

    Teacher of the Year! Woot Woot!!I hope you are feeling better now as you go into your C25K training. You have great momentum, keep it up.

  8. colleen_mouse February 22, 2010 at 1:30 pm #

    Congratulations on your award!!! Glad you are feeling better and lots of luck with all the new trainings!

  9. empowermephotoguy February 22, 2010 at 1:35 pm #

    Great goals! We are all wired for success and you can do this! Keep up the great work and have a wonderful, healthy week!

  10. Name KyraTX February 22, 2010 at 3:46 pm #

    Congrats on teacher of the year! That's fantastic. Please add me to your list of C25K buddies. Time to give running a try again. 🙂

  11. Shannon Fab Fattie February 22, 2010 at 3:46 pm #

    Very cool to set a goal like that! You can do it I know you can!!! Glad you are all feeling better and I am so happy about your 5k!You have an awesome group of friends to train with 🙂

  12. ernise February 22, 2010 at 3:49 pm #

    congrats Jen! you are doing it BIG! Well done on being named teacher of the year as well. such an accomplishment!

  13. Bari_F February 22, 2010 at 3:50 pm #

    Congrats on your Teacher of the Year award! That is freakin' awesome-and the class you are doing with these girls sounds amazing. Good luck!And I already told you that I'm proud of you for starting your 5K training, but I'm even prouder of the lifestyle changes you are making that are going to get you to your 100 lb loss. Woot-woot for Jen!

  14. tinav February 22, 2010 at 4:15 pm #

    1st congrats on your weight loss this week, plus…” way to go on your total weight loss” that is just awesome. glad everyone is feeling better…..crazy how reading all the posts, either the sistas are sick or they had a sick kid in the house (or both!) congrats on Teacher of the Year… keep it up you are doing great hope to see you at the show tonight..

  15. Jenn_watchmybuttshrink February 22, 2010 at 5:17 pm #

    Wow wow wow, Jen! So much good stuff!! Great job on the loss, and on being Teacher of the year at your school!!!

  16. amandasalmon February 22, 2010 at 6:10 pm #

    congratulations on your Teaching award. Thats excellent!i'll look forward to following you as you reach your goal, you can do it!! i keep saying to myself this week, everytime i get discouraged (like when i step on the scale at night foolishly), “I'm going to do this. I am.”

  17. SuburbHouseWife February 22, 2010 at 6:44 pm #

    So glad that everyone is getting better. I wish you the best in your new challenges! Sounds like you had a great week. Keep it up!

  18. Bookieboo February 22, 2010 at 7:49 pm #

    I'm going to be running with you in that 5K…geez…never even thought about training for it.

  19. footdr69 February 22, 2010 at 10:31 pm #

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE this post!!!!! I feel such a positive, enthusiastic, POWERFUL Vibe from you!!!! I am soooo looking forward to training with you and the other twitter family members!!! WE GOT THIS, BOO!!! *HUGS*Love ya lotsDr. Mo

  20. Heather February 23, 2010 at 8:20 am #

    Congrats on being named Teacher of the Year – that's awesome!!! And the weight loss! You're doing great. I love the Essential Skills class, what a great thing you're doing for those girls.

  21. cuteangel79 February 23, 2010 at 8:40 pm #

    way to go with your week looks like you had alot of highlights to it

  22. Jessica February 24, 2010 at 1:52 am #

    Congrats on Teacher of the Year! That is so awesome! You have had an amazing week! I am so proud of you for all that you have accomplished. What an inspiration you are!

  23. brittneywalker February 24, 2010 at 2:30 pm #

    Congrats Teacher of the Year! That is awesome! Aside for a sick kid it sounds like things are going awesome! (I hope she is feeling better) My goal is also 100 lbs. It's a big goal but I know we can do it!

  24. brittneywalker February 24, 2010 at 7:30 pm #

    Congrats Teacher of the Year! That is awesome! Aside for a sick kid it sounds like things are going awesome! (I hope she is feeling better) My goal is also 100 lbs. It's a big goal but I know we can do it!

Leave a Reply

