I had a great week, the scale just sucks

28 Feb

WEEKLY WEIGH IN STATS

Current Weight: 196.8 lbs
Previous Weight: 194.4
Weight loss: +2.4 lbs
Weight loss in Feb: +2.2
Starting Weight: 242.6 lbs
Weight loss total: -46.8 lbs

THE WEEK IN REVIEW:

I had such an awesome week!! I completed week 1 of Couch to 5K training program! I slogged in the rain, through puddles and in the snow and through the slush! I have picture proof!! I completed week 1 of Bob Greene’s 8 Week Total Body Makeover.  I am trying to get into a routine of strength training! Bob Greene is helping me get my feet wet! I worked out 6 days this past week! and I LOVED it!! I love to be outside – even though it was not the best situation for being outside! I feel like such a rockstar!! I actually want to keep training and I can’t wait to see how far I can go with this running stuff!

I feel strong!! This week was amazing and I feel strong!!

Wednesday was my birthday and I celebrated with my husband and daughter! I was blessed with gifts to help my journey. An awesome friend sent me a HRM and Big Man and kid ordered me a Wii (although I am sure they will enjoy it as much as I will) and a sports game.

**So all you Wii owners must tell me your picks for the must-have games, especially the active, get-in-shape kinds!

*image courtesy Google images*

Did you think I was just going to ignore the weigh in?

I kind of want to ignore the scale but it is part of the journey.

The scale was not kind to me but it is not the end of the world.  The scale WILL NOT be the voice that says if I had a good week or a bad week. I had a great week! I tracked everything I ate this week: the good, the bad & the ugly. I ate every single point I had coming to me: my daily points, weekly points allowance, and most of my activity points. I had ice cream cake and chinese food on my birthday. Maybe, I ate a bit too much food this week but I was constantly starving!! I don’t know what this all about but I figure it has something to do with changing up my workouts! I stayed within my points range (using allowable extras) but I was hungry a lot!

Also, Saturday morning or also known as Weigh-In day comes around and I wake up with my monthly friend! I knew I was close in time but I had no warning signs. Actually, the more I think about it the more I realize I probably had all the right signs but I missed them because of sore muscles from the new workouts. The sore muscles masked the PMS misery! Chalk another one up to workouts!!

I am not sure if using all my points, new workouts, or TOM is to blame for gain. I am not going to stress it because I had an awesome week. For the week coming up I am going to be moving on to week 2 of the C25K and Bob Greene workouts.  I will continue to track all my food but I will do it on Sparkpeople and WW etools [I will explain why in a later post].

This week I am focusing on planning! Menu planning has helped me so much! Dinners are healthy and I never have that “what are we gonna have for dinner?” moments! Because dinner is so thought out I have leftovers for lunches.  This week I am going to plan my workouts and I am going to plan every day the night before (just like my daughter has to do every night).

My menu plan is posted. Go check it out!!

My workout plan is:

Sunday: REST/clean house

Monday: Couch to 5K ~ week 2, day 1

Tuesday: Bob Greene ~ week 2, day 1 ~ Last chance tworkoutLeslie Sansone walking

Wednesday: Couch to 5K ~ week 2, day 2

Thursday: Bob Greene ~ week 2, day 2 ~ planks, pushups ~ Leslie Sansone walking

Friday: Couch to 5K ~ week 2, day 3

Saturday: Bob Greene ~ week 1, day 3 ~ an outside walk with the family, maybe at the bird refuge.

**I want to challenge myself to get up at 6 am with the alarm!! I am a horrible morning person but I really want to get better! This week I have decided that the best way for me to do this is to challenge myself and blog about it!

16 Responses to “I had a great week, the scale just sucks”

  1. Merry Mary February 28, 2010 at 3:31 pm #

    If you did all of those things and felt good about the week and about yourself then fuck the scale. Just saying.Congrats on having such a good week, btw! I'm so proud of you for completing the first week of C25K! We are gonna rock the fitbloggin 5k with our walk/run selves!! 🙂

  2. Bari_F February 28, 2010 at 3:40 pm #

    You had an awesome week Jen! Screw what the @&$#*! Liar scale says-your attitude is spot-on. I had a couple weeks where the scale did not reflect what I had been doing either. Your body is probably trying to figure out what the frak you are doing to it and it might rebel a little bit. Just keep at it and the numbers will start moving in the right direction. Proud of you, girl!

  3. Lissa_ShrinkingJeans February 28, 2010 at 4:45 pm #

    You are doing so awesome! I'm proud of you!

  4. Mel's Box of Chocolates February 28, 2010 at 5:57 pm #

    Jen – I am so glad to hear that you are ignoring the sucky scale. I am very proud of you completing week one on Couch to 5K. You are going to rock the run at FitBloggin. I did notice that when I started running that I had a harder time with my scale numbers going down. However I did notice my clothes fitting me better and as you said feeling stronger. I like how you pointed that out. Be strong!!

  5. marisaloserforlife February 28, 2010 at 8:47 pm #

    Jen, you have the best attitude! The scale has run my life for such a long, long time. I allowed it to dictate how my day was going to be. Good weigh-in = good day. Bad weigh in = bad (everybody better look OUT) day. I am finally getting to the point where I realize that no matter what the scale says, I can CHOOSE how I want to live and whether or not I want to be happy. Now, no matter what it says, I choose HAPPY and I choose HEALTHY. Even if the scale doesn't always want to cooperate ;)Yay for slogging!!! We are gonna have a blast at Fitbloggin!!!

  6. Amelia February 28, 2010 at 9:00 pm #

    Do you do measurements? You may be losing inches, just not always weight. You might also be gaining more muscle mass. I've only lost 7 lbs, but I dropped a clothing size and a cup size. Happy belated birthday & congrats on getting a Wii! I have a Wii, but I never use it. 😦

  7. Jenn_watchmybuttshrink February 28, 2010 at 9:52 pm #

    Jen, it's definitely the new workouts, don't sweat that frickin' scale too much! You KNOW you kicked butt this week – the scale will catch up with you.

  8. FLG March 1, 2010 at 1:39 am #

    Ah!!! You're doing C25k?!?!?! That's freaking awesome!!!! Awesome job on completing week 1! I was so happy when I did that! It's such an accomplishment! Congratulations 🙂 And nice work on the Bob Greene stuff too. I have no idea about it, but it sounds good and you're on to it, so awesome! :)No help with the Wii, sorry. PS3 owner here 😀

  9. SuburbHouseWife March 1, 2010 at 12:27 pm #

    Happy Birthday~! I am a wii user and love EA Sports Active and EA Sports More Workouts. I haven't tried any other exercises for the wii yet but when I do, I will be looking out for any regarding Pilates and Yoga. You're doing great 🙂

  10. Bookieboo March 1, 2010 at 1:54 pm #

    I'm going to hedge my bets on your new workout if you have been really adamant about tracking stuff. But then again, I had weeks like that and it just didn't make any sense. So I had to just focus on my lifestyle and keep that in check…and the weight came off. XXOO

  11. kia March 1, 2010 at 5:30 pm #

    Great job with C25K and the Bob Green workouts. You were regimented in your workouts and did a great job. I look forward to next week's weigh-in for you if you keep them up. Then you'll know if it was TOM or if you need to recalibrate your diet.

  12. Shannon Fab Fattie March 1, 2010 at 5:37 pm #

    Quit weighing for a couple week if it gets to you!!!!! Seriously as long as you are doing good w/ food and getting exercise in.You are going to be running a freakin' 5k, WOOT!!! Holy crap I am so excited for you :)Keep it up Jen you are amazing and inspiring!!!XOXO

  13. katie_sailorsprincesss March 3, 2010 at 9:52 am #

    great job on the work out, so awesome that you are out there running regardless of weather. I'm so glad you are proud of your workout, the scale is just mean at times but at least you feel good about yourself. Keep it up girl

  14. Jessica March 3, 2010 at 1:55 pm #

    You're right; the scale does suck… Glad you've realized it's not the only measure of success! You really are doing awesome! I agree with you completely about meal planning. That's an area I need some improvement in! Keep it up & the scale will catch up! 🙂

  15. katie_sailorsprincesss March 3, 2010 at 2:52 pm #

    great job on the work out, so awesome that you are out there running regardless of weather. I'm so glad you are proud of your workout, the scale is just mean at times but at least you feel good about yourself. Keep it up girl

  16. Jessica March 3, 2010 at 6:55 pm #

    You're right; the scale does suck… Glad you've realized it's not the only measure of success! You really are doing awesome! I agree with you completely about meal planning. That's an area I need some improvement in! Keep it up & the scale will catch up! 🙂

Leave a Reply

