food for thought

2 Mar

This week is state testing at school. Basically, monitoring testing is the worst week of the school year. I sat on my bum a bit more than I would have like today but I didn’t want to distract my students by pacing the room. So I blogged…sort of..I have no blog access at school but I have plenty of paper and pens! I actually hand wrote this blog!

I have been thinking a lot about food lately.  I hate thinking so much about food! I have spent the last few days (pretty much since my WW meeting on Saturday) thinking about food. I also thought a lot about the entire past year.

I have made a ton of changes. I have learned so much about myself, food, nourishing my body, pushing my body and treasuring my body.

This weekend’s weigh in pissed me off! A  gain was just the straw that broke camel’s back. I love getting up on Saturday mornings and heading to WW meetings. This week I realized it has nothing to do with WW anymore. In the beginning I soaked up as much info as I could get from my meetings. In the middle (when I went back to meetings after the summer online) I needed the accountability. I also needed a refresher course ~ I had gotten complacent.

The end has come!

I am breaking up with WW.

This is not a decision I made lightly. WW helped me learn about food and tracking and portions. I have learned a lot but I know there is more for me to learn about healthy eating and healthy living.  I get a ton of support and encouragement and accountability from my online weight loss communities. I am currently paying $40 every month for WW meetings and I am starting to feel guilty spending the money on WW when I am not using all the services to the fullest. I have also been feeling guilty about food and that bothers me the most[there is definitely a blog post in this thought]!

I will continue to go WW for the rest of  month. Hey, I paid for them I might as well use them but I am not paying anymore!

With all that in mind, I am starting my weigh-ins at home and I am starting tomorrow morning! I need a “starting” number from my home scale. I will post that number and a bit more information about this change.

HUGE SHOUTOUT to Shrinking Jeans, Mamavation, and my twitter posse [I hope you all know who you are, I admit laziness here: It is late and I am tired]! You all help me so much! It is because of all you that I have the confidence to venture out on my own away from WW.

.

11 Responses to “food for thought”

  1. FLG March 3, 2010 at 4:58 am #

    Congrats on stepping out from WW! Not that WW is bad, as you said they taught and did so much to help, but it's cool to do it on your own too! Rely on yourself, have confidence in yourself to do it kind of thing. YOU can do it!!!Oh, you got tagged with an award on my blog, by the way 🙂 If you want it, that is :)Hope the testing is over soon!

    • jeninRL March 3, 2010 at 7:27 am #

      Thanks Kepa!! You are a great friend!! I CAN do this but I will not be doingit alone! I have the best friends a girl could ask for (and you are one ofthem)!! Thanks for the support, encouragement and the awards!!Keep trucking dude! I am so proud of you!!much love, J

  2. iamsucceeding March 3, 2010 at 7:05 am #

    I AM with you woman!! I too am breaking up with WW! Tonight is my last paid meeting(canceled a few weeks ago, the monthly pass) and you know what I feel pretty good about it. I know I have you and those you mentioned to help me accountable as well and I LOVE the support and truly am just not getting a lot out of my meetings any more. I weighed-in already on my scale and I am good! We can do this! yes we can!

  3. slorunnermom March 3, 2010 at 10:55 am #

    Jen – this is so interesting. I broke up with WW for much of the same reasons. Instead I use Dailyburn.com. The WW thing was not telling me the nutrition information I needed to know. Technically I could eat 12 Skinny Cow ice cream sandwiches and be within my daily point allowance but that doesn't mean it is good or healthy for me! One thing I discovered on Dailyburn (which I'm sure other calorie counting programs do also) is that I was undereating on WW and HOLY COW was I a carboholic! That ratio had to decrease immediately. I know that WW has helped so many people but it was just not working for me. If we truly “are what we eat” then I need to know what that is in nutrition content also.

    • jeninRL March 3, 2010 at 4:35 pm #

      Thanks for commenting Lori! I appreciate it very much! I signed up fordailyburn but never really finished. I will look into it more in-depthtonight. I did get to the point where it gave me a daily calorie goal and itwas very high. I forget exactly but sparkpeople.com gave me a guideline of1250 – 1550 and dailyburn was WAY higher. I am confused! but I feel I needto know more about food for fuel. WW was a great start but I am a student bynature so I need to continue to learn. I am moving on togrow!much love, J

  4. PhatBFF March 3, 2010 at 4:23 pm #

    Jen – you know that I am in this exact same boat – I broke up with WW's just last week or the week before!! I found tracking food frustrating after a certain amount of time and decided that I needed to learn to trust my self and start recording instead!! We can do this – I'm here for you with whatever you need!! xoxoJen

  5. Diane Fit to the Finish March 3, 2010 at 5:54 pm #

    It sounds like you are ready to go out on your own. You know what to do, and are doing it! Congratulations and I think you will do just great!

  6. Hilary @ Tiny Glow March 5, 2010 at 5:03 pm #

    I justed wanted to chime in and say that I know you will find your way, Jen. You will find the way that is the very best for *you*! I went through a very similar experience, so you are definitely not alone in this. I'm cheering for you all the way, lady!

  7. Hilary @ Tiny Glow March 5, 2010 at 10:03 pm #

    I justed wanted to chime in and say that I know you will find your way, Jen. You will find the way that is the very best for *you*! I went through a very similar experience, so you are definitely not alone in this. I'm cheering for you all the way, lady!

  8. jeninRL March 6, 2010 at 12:39 am #

    Thanks Hilary!

Leave a Reply

