motivation and stress

6 Apr

The last couple of weeks have been stressful! That might be putting it nicely but STRESSED is the only word I can come up with right now. I have not mentioned too much about my stress here and I am not sure why but I feel I must explain – Last week (the Monday after Fitbloggin) I received a pink slip! Due to budget cuts set down from the governor of NJ, my school district has decided to pink slip all non-tenured staff and administration as well as all support staff. I am not going to rant and rave about the unfairness of this but rather it leaves me in tears. I LOVE my job! I teach at an alternative high school for at-risk youth and my job is hard but I LOVE it and I can’t believe that I may not be able to continue after June 30th.

S.T.R.E.S.S.

Then I got sick with Bronchitis and I was miserable most of last week.  Being sick stresses me out and makes me cranky! Not being able to workout stressed me out! Who knew?!?! I was in a rhythm of run/walking 3 times per week but while I was sick I was so tired, and even eating made me tired.  Last Monday I stayed home and just slept but Tuesday I went to school – Friday was a the first day of Spring  Break.  Tuesday felt like it was 6 days rolled into one. Tuesday is also the day I agreed to walk with Mary for her workout pledge. Wednesday I walked for 90 minutes. Thursday and Friday were so so days. Still tired but feeling better but still so tired.

Saturday was the day I ran/walked 8 mother bleeping miles.

I am a crazy woman and those miles were hard but those miles were amazing.  I “ran” with a good friend, Lissa. Lissa is training for the Team in Training with many Shrinking Jeans sisters. Lissa and I were texting or tweeting about the training and one thing led to one thing led to me saying I would run with her…virtually of course…for her long run on Saturday.  Knowing Lissa was out running with me helped me get through 8 mother bleepin’ miles! I alternated  minutes of running and 5 minutes of walking (this is approximate/average). This was my best and favorite run  so far and I will have to blog about my running experiences very soon…

On this run, I learned that I need to run!! I lose my stress while I am running, now I just have to remember this and find the motivation to get my butt off the couch and out the door! I know I feel better after the run but why do I still struggle to do it consistently?

And since when am I a runner?!?! What have you done to the Jen of last year?!?!

11 Responses to “motivation and stress”

  1. Jen, a priorfatgirl April 6, 2010 at 7:42 am #

    Are you kidding? 8 miles? Holy Hannah, way to take that stress, ball it up and use it for your own good!

    • jeninRL April 6, 2010 at 10:45 am #

      I know right?!?! 8 freaking miles! I am starting to really love running!

  2. Trish @IamSucceeding April 6, 2010 at 9:06 am #

    Jen..YOU.ARE.AWESOME!I WILL be where you are a year from now…a runner(oh no did I really just type that to the world!?)xoxo

    • jeninRL April 6, 2010 at 10:52 am #

      I heard it!! I will remember and WE will be running together!

  3. Terri (@teetee_71) April 6, 2010 at 11:10 am #

    8 EFFIN MILES!! OMG girl I am so proud of you!!! That is SO awesome! You have found your release babygirl!! Run Forrest Run!!! ;0)

  4. Carrie April 6, 2010 at 11:30 am #

    Sorry to hear about the job and stress!GREAT job on the running 8 miles!!!

  5. Auntie Em April 6, 2010 at 4:41 pm #

    Eight miles is absolutely awesome!!! Way to go!!!

  6. seemamarun April 6, 2010 at 9:30 pm #

    I am so, so sorry about your job! I'll be praying that you KEEP your job by some miracle.And SA-WEET on 8 miles!!!

  7. South Beach Steve April 7, 2010 at 7:37 am #

    Jen, I am sorry to read this about your job. Perhaps things will change before the end of the month. If not, be looking for the next opportunity.

  8. South Beach Steve April 7, 2010 at 11:37 am #

    Jen, I am sorry to read this about your job. Perhaps things will change before the end of the month. If not, be looking for the next opportunity.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. » Blog Archive » Thousand Dollar Oil Change - April 10, 2010

    […] Dollar Oil Change pretty much sums it up! This week has been hellacious on the wallet. I posted Motivation and Stress earlier this week. Murphy keeps throwing curve balls at me in the form […]

Leave a Reply

