mindful menu – week of 5.2.2010

2 May

Sunday: Pork Tinga a la Rick Bayless

Monday: Shrimp Scampi Florentine.  I am following this recipe but I am going to make this pesto for it and not use a jar like the recipe actually calls for. I am not exactly sure about the pesto part – pesto is not my fave but I have never made it myself.

Tuesday: Picnic Dinner of BLT and tuna macaroni salad

Wednesday: Kid’s Choice: Ravioli with Meat Sauce and a big old salad.

Thursday: Meatloaf, mashed potatoes, and a spinach salad.

Friday: POM & Balsamic Glazed Chicken.

**I am focusing more on real food and eating like a real person. This is important to me! I need to eat like a normal person, a normal healthy person. I need to be a good role model for my daughter. I grew up watching my mom on every diet under the sun. Why did she diet so much?!? Well, my mom was forever on the hunt for a new man or she was trying to keep current man happy. Stepdad #2 was a health freak and a body builder so mom became a health freak and by extension so did me and my sister.  I could go on and on and tell you stories but I won’t. I want to lead by example and I want to be healthy for me as much as for my daughter. I don’t want her to have food issues.

Real food is my new goal. Not necessarily low calorie but high nutritional value will be the focus. Balance as well.  I never really learned how to eat and prepare healthy foods. I am learning so that I can teach my daughter so that she never feels helpless and out of control the way I did.  Normal foods like spaghetti and meatballs, meatloaf and mashed potatoes, are staples in my house! I have increased the nutritional and health of these staples by adding veggies in and choosing lean meats.

As Always, Thank You Jenna! Menu planning is huge part of my “REAL FOOD” revolution.  If you are menu planning, link up with ChiveTalkin. If you are not menu planning…well, why the heck not?!?!

3 Responses to “mindful menu – week of 5.2.2010”

  1. Angie May 3, 2010 at 11:44 am #

    Good for you for you in choosing a whole food lifestyle! Found you from ChiveTalkin! Going to snoop around your blog a bit!

  2. YumYucky May 3, 2010 at 9:07 pm #

    You go girl! You've got a solid plan. 🙂

  3. YumYucky May 4, 2010 at 1:07 am #

    You go girl! You've got a solid plan. 🙂

Leave a Reply

