what if…

13 May

I may be late to the party but here I am. This post is dedicated to my very good friend, Fitarella (this chick has met and hugged Bob Harper…how freaking cool is that?!?!) Anyhoo…Fitarella has asked me to ask myself, “what if….?”

I have pondered this question but I have not completely figured out where to begin. So here I am to speak from the heart.

What if….

I took a break from all challenges and just focus on me and my thoughts.

gasp….

I know, I am such a challenge junkie but I really think that lately the focus on challenges has been my downfall. I have been stuck lately.  Everything has been stalled and I am not sure why. Another good friend sent me the loveliest email last weeks, and I asked Marsha if it would be ok to post that email here. I am so happy she said yes because these words really got me thinking and I need to share.

Jen,
If I may, I’d encourage you to hold off on all your challenges and give yourself a break.  Instead of taking on new things right now, why not give yourself the time to sort though what you’ve been going through. Won’t necessarily take a lot of time to do that — you could be on your way to other things by tomorrow! — but if you do that, perhaps you’d be in a much better place when you want to re-start all your other efforts.

By taking the time to sort through things, I mean to just spend as much quiet time as you can without any goals except *feeling* what’s going on and figuring out how to best support yourself in the midst of it.  Often it’s about removing all the “goals” we have and just spending our time being.  Doing what feels good in the moment.

If we can successfully do that, we often find ourselves much,much better equipped to move forward doing what we think we want to do.  I say “think” because ultimately what most of us really want to do is take care of ourselves so we can live peacefully and happily.  We often think exercise, eating right, etc., is the way to that, and it does play a part.  But the biggest part is finding a peaceful place in our minds, especially when everything seems to be crashing down around us.  A focus on exercise, eating, etc., often serves as a distraction, a way to divert our attention from finding that peaceful place because it may seem overwhelming or scary to go looking for it.

WHAT IF I SAY NO TO ALL CHALLENGES AND GOALS AND OBLIGATIONS FOR A WHILE (not sure how long a while is) AND JUST FOCUS ON ME AND MY THOUGHTS & FEELINGS?!?!

5 Responses to “what if…”

  1. Skinny Sushi May 13, 2010 at 8:30 pm #

    This might be the best What If post I've seen. Good for you for taking a step back, and I hope it brings you balance and peace.

  2. Lissa_ShrinkingJeans May 13, 2010 at 10:12 pm #

    Great post, Jen. I think you're on to something. LOVE YOU! xoxo

  3. Jogger (Elisabeth) May 14, 2010 at 8:40 am #

    This is something that I constantly struggle with…the balance between keeping myself motivated and keeping myself sane. I consistently take on too much, and I often think that I do it in an effort to avoid the things that I don't really want to deal with.My therapist always used the phrase “just sit with it”, in an effort to get me to slow down, feel the feelings, cope and process them…THEN keep it movin. The problem at this point is that I am so EXCITED about life and living, and I don't want to pass up a single opportunity. I only have one life, and now that I've made it my own, I'm afraid that I'll lose it again. But…at what expense am I doing all of this “living”?

    • jeninRL May 14, 2010 at 8:07 pm #

      I am always moving. Doing things. The husband pointed out that I dont finishanything but I am always doing things. I say yes to everything and take onWAY too much….but it is only recently that I realize what I am doing is toavoid other things. Damn… this got deeper than I thought.Thanks for your comment ~ you really got me thinking.

  4. jeninRL May 15, 2010 at 12:07 am #

    I am always moving. Doing things. The husband pointed out that I dont finishanything but I am always doing things. I say yes to everything and take onWAY too much….but it is only recently that I realize what I am doing is toavoid other things. Damn… this got deeper than I thought.Thanks for your comment ~ you really got me thinking.

Leave a Reply

