back to basics

14 May

A few days ago, I read an amazing post (Stop the Madness) by my dear friend Lori.  Just the other day, I asked if I was insane to wear a Gruve, a pedometer and a Heart Rate Monitor. A few people said that they are also all-gadgeted up and find nothing wrong with it. I tried it and I hated it! I hated having all three gadgets on me and I hated looking at them all the time.

Coincidentally a few days after I started wearing ALL my gadgets, my Gruve started acting wonky. I would plug in into my computer and I was getting an error message. A few days of wonky then it just died completely.  I have enjoyed my Gruve and I will contact the customer service and have it replaced but right now I am not in a huge hurry.  I lasted about 5 days of wearing all my gadgets. The day my Gruve stopped working, I stopped wearing the other gadgets.

In fact, I am not in a huge hurry to wear any of my gadgets. I do not like focusing on the numbers so much. I switched my weigh in days to Wednesday because on Saturdays I obsessed about the number. Wednesday is a school day and school days are just too hectic to dwell on the number. I have felt better about weigh ins. I simply weigh in, take note of the number and move on. I am able to focus on the “non-scale victories” or the not-so good stuff.

For now, I am going back to basics. I am going to focus on me, doing the “right” things, the healthy things….I don’t need gadgets to do what I know my body needs.

This is oddly freeing and scary at the same time.

4 Responses to “back to basics”

  1. slorunnermom May 14, 2010 at 8:36 pm #

    The freedom is liberating! Being “nekkid” is good 🙂

  2. Trish @IamSucceeding May 15, 2010 at 6:51 am #

    You both(you & Lori) have both posted what has been mulling about in my head for about a month now and have not been able to get it to blog form. I might still or I might just be nekkid in secret LOLGood for you Jen…very liberating indeed!Go Jen!

  3. TheaDramaMama May 15, 2010 at 5:26 pm #

    Good for you! The only time I wear something is on runs because I need to know distances, but it feels good just living my life without being hooked up to something 24/7!

  4. TheaDramaMama May 15, 2010 at 9:26 pm #

    Good for you! The only time I wear something is on runs because I need to know distances, but it feels good just living my life without being hooked up to something 24/7!

Leave a Reply

