planning for a busy week

16 May

This Mindful Menu post will be a bit different than other weeks.  Besides planning my dinners I will also be “planning” my workouts.  Menu planning has been a huge part of my success…I am taking my planning to other aspects of healthy living.

Since I started going out of the house for workouts, planning is more important than ever.  Lucky for me, I can take classes at 7:45pm most nights. I get home around 9 but it allows me to have dinner with my family and get my workout.  Last week the kid was sick and home from school so that made the schedule easy. This week, she is all better and raring to go back to karate.

My workout schedule:

Monday: staying after school to run/walk with one (or two) of my students. (I will be walking until I get my orthotics because my arches are not happy with me running right now.) 7:45 Boxing with the insane Irishman.

Tuesday:  7:45 Boxing with the insane Irishman. Possible walk while the kid is at karate.

Wednesday: staying after school to run/walk with one (or two) of my students. 7:45 kickboxing…I am hoping my friend from work comes with me.

Thursday: I am hoping to get a Personal Training appointment for this day but if that does not happen I will take a 7:45 boxing class.

Friday: Rest Day or a Walk/bike ride around the neighborhood.

Saturday:  9:30 Boxing class followed (hopefully) with a long walk with an old friend followed by yard work and house work.

Sunday: Rest Day.

Kid’s Schedule:

Tuesday: Karate 6-7pm

Wednesday: Karate 5-6pm

Thursday: Chess afterschool (pick up at 4)

Friday: Kiddo has field trip to Philadelphia Historic District.

AND FINALLY the Menu:

Sunday: Chicken Cacciatore. I use this recipe as a starting point but I do my own thing. I use the immersion blender at the end to pulverize the veg (I take out a scoop of the chunks for husband). The kid will eat anything over spaghetti noodles.

Monday: Breakfast for Dinner. This is a favorite of all of us!!

Tuesday: BLTs and Slaw. Did you see how busy Tuesdays are around this house?!?!

Wednesday: Steak, mashed potatoes and a green veggie. And a big old salad…thinking my first head of romaine should be ready to come out of the garden.

Thursday:  Grilled Pork Chops and Veggies over cous cous.

Friday: Pizza….figure that is easy for a night I have no idea what time my kid will be home.

I am tired just planning for this week. On  top of all this planning that you see here, I also have lessons to plan for the week at school.

2 Responses to “planning for a busy week”

  1. Biz May 18, 2010 at 2:06 pm #

    Hooray for Pizza Party Friday! 😀 Love that you plan your workouts – that's a sure way to get them in! You are in the home stretch for school!!

  2. Biz May 18, 2010 at 6:06 pm #

    Hooray for Pizza Party Friday! 😀 Love that you plan your workouts – that's a sure way to get them in! You are in the home stretch for school!!

Leave a Reply

