remember the slowskys

18 May

I have been on a journey to lose weight and get healthy. I have been on this journey sin

ce November 2008.  I have lost weight…to date I have lost 50 pounds.  I have improved my health. I recently had a full battery of your normal, every year bloodwork and my general doctor is thrilled with my numbers. My cholesterol number made doc say “awesome.”  I do not see the doctor nearly as often as before. I did get hit with a nasty bout of bronchitis a few weeks ago but I used to get bronchitis 3 to 4 times each winter.

Last week I went to see the woman doctor. I am lucky, I only have

to see Dr. K once each year.  He took one look at me and told me I looked awesome.  He checked my chart and was ecstatic to see I was down 15 pounds from the previous year. At first I was pretty disappointed in this little fact.

Then I was disappointed in myself.  Only 15 pounds?!?!

Then I really thought about this loss. and the journey.

I am down a total of 50 pounds. And while I have fluctuated with 5 pounds either way, I am down!! I have lost weight and it will never return. I have improved my health. I have more energy. I gained enough muscle to not need ankle surgery. I have changed and improved my eating and my family’s eating habits.

When I started this journey I could

hardly walk for 10 minutes without everything hurting. The stairs at work left me breathless. I was tired ALL the time…day, night, after a nap, and even after I had just gotten out of bed in the morning.

We won’t even talk about things like shopping and dressing. It is just too depressing.

But here we are, one year and six months later and I am still on the journey. And I have lost 50 pounds total. I

have lost 15 pounds in the last year. I am still at it! I am still here. I may be making turtle progress but the turtle always beats the pesky fast rabbit, right!?!?!

I may not know it all and I may not do it all right…or even close.  I do know I don’t need to be the rabbit, I just have to keep moving.

I am going to keep plugging along like the slow turtle.  I am going to keep making changes that benefit the health of me and my family.

We are the Slowskys of Weight loss and Getting Healthy.  I am going to lose the rest of this weight. I am going to get healthy. My family is going to get healthy. WE ARE GOING TO STAY HEALTHY!!!


3 Responses to “remember the slowskys”

  1. Trish @IamSucceeding May 18, 2010 at 6:18 pm #

    I>AM>WITH>YOU!{{HUGS}}YOU.ROCK!

  2. Jogger (Elisabeth) May 19, 2010 at 8:17 am #

    This reminds me of my mantra when I'm racing: “you don't have to go fast, you just have to get there.”=)

  3. Jogger (Elisabeth) May 19, 2010 at 12:17 pm #

    This reminds me of my mantra when I'm racing: “you don't have to go fast, you just have to get there.”=)

Leave a Reply

