mindful menu – week of may 31, 2010

31 May

Thanks to all the men and women who have served this great country! Memorial Day is one of Big Man’s favorite holidays.  Do you have any idea how many war movies there are on TV this weekend?!? Big Man learned to love war movies (and westerns for that matter) with his grandfather, who passed away when Big Man was only 10.  I have been watching war movies and westerns and old black and white movies with Big Man since we started hanging out. I have grown to love them all. I love the stories and the acting [with no special effects, acting was truly an art – in my humble opinion] and old movies are like a great book – when it is over I am left wanting more.

This weekend we watched quite a few movies but we were also very busy. Saturday I dragged all kinds of crap from my attic to my mother’s house for a yard sale.  Sunday was errands and housework and poker night. Today was a fantastic day of rest and relaxation with good friends. We celebrated with a barbecue at the bay.

On the Menu this week:

Monday:  leftover spaghetti and meatballs….after a day of boating and BBQing this is perfect and quick.

Tuesday: Grilled Pork & veggies (red peppers, mushrooms, zucchini, squash and onions) and cous cous

Wednesday: Breakfast for dinner ~ cream chipped beef, scrambled eggs and homefries.

Thursday: Flank Steak, potatoes and something green….all on the grill.

Friday: Grilled chicken with a slaw salad and corn on the cob.

Planning this menu is an essential  part of my weekend.  I sat with my little notebook and figured out what days I am where and what days the kid is where….I had to coordinate the classes with meals.  Thankfully, my family loves breakfast for dinner and grilling! Both are lifesavers for busy weeks.  I am so thankful to my friend, Jenna, for introducing me to the wonders of menu planning. If you are a menu planner, or not, you should check out Jenna’s menu linky…lots of awesome planners link their menus and I get the greatest ideas…you can too!Click the menu pic right there to the left and check out Chive Talkin.

but today we spent the day outside.

2 Responses to “mindful menu – week of may 31, 2010”

  1. YumYucky June 2, 2010 at 11:41 am #

    Mmm! breakfast for dinner. Thank you for ideas.

  2. YumYucky June 2, 2010 at 3:41 pm #

    Mmm! breakfast for dinner. Thank you for ideas.

Leave a Reply

