wednesday ramblings: weigh in, accountability, and running news

2 Jun

WEEKLY WEIGH IN STATS
Current Weight:  198.8 lbs
Previous Weight: 19.0  lbs
Weight loss:  -1.2lbs
Starting Weight: 242.6 lbs
Weight loss total: -48.8 lbs

The scale is moving in the right direction and that is a good thing. May was not the stellar month I had hoped for, but I learned something. I cannot just eat whatever the hell I want just because I am training at LA Boxing. I have been better since last week but I am not journaling my food the way I should be.

JUNE will be a better month. I am going to put effort into the actual losing weight part of this journey. I will journal my food every day. I may even log into some website (I have friends who swear by SparkPeople and other friends who swear by DailyBurn…I am not sure but I want the easiest way to input) to figure actual calories.  I even have a new accountability buddy. My good friend Steve is an awesome dude and I had the pleasure of meeting Steve at Fitbloggin and well, I feel a certain attachment to my Fitbloggin fun crew (you all know who you are …and if you don’t, I will find pictures!!)! Steve posted yesterday about his struggles through May and I immediately responded with a hearty, “hell yeah, I am right there with you. Now, let’s kick May to the curb and ROCK out June.”  What about you?!?! Are you ready to ROCK OUT JUNE?!?!

Today is a very exciting day!! Today is NATIONAL RUNNING DAY !! To celebrate National Running Day, I am actually going to run! HAHA! I am staying after school with a group of my girls and we are going to run. I mentioned National Running Day in class yesterday and 4 of my girls asked me if they could run with me today…how awesome are my girls?!?!

AND, today is  the day I make a HUGE ANNOUNCEMENT!!

ARE YOU READY?!?!

CAN  YOU HANDLE IT?!?!

Last week when I mentioned wanting to train for a half marathon I didn’t think anyone would listen.

Last week I brazenly asked if anyone would want to sponsor this crazy-ass blogger…and guess what?!?!

Not just any someone wanted to sponsor me…

but my favorite chicks on the web, The Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans wants to sponsor me. I have my very first sponsor and I LOVE my sponsors…they are awesome and fantabulous!!

I will be training and completing a half marathon in Atlantic City, NJ in October.

I will be logging my training here on my blog but I will also be logging stuff over at the ‘hood…The SJ girls gave me my own little space to document my journey.  [you have may to be a member of the ‘hood to see this space – I am not sure, but trust me – join the ‘hood…it is a great place to meet and commiserate and celebrate all things weightloss/health/fitness] Also check out the Shrinking Jeans page later this afternoon (I will come back and link when it is up) and see what the girls have to say about this new adventure!

SEE JEN RUN!! It should be fun!

32 Responses to “wednesday ramblings: weigh in, accountability, and running news”

  1. Fitarella June 2, 2010 at 7:06 am #

    WOOOOOOOOOOOHOOOOOOOOOOO!!!! CONGRATS HOT MAMA!! SO EXCITED FOR YOU!!! XXXOOOOOO

    • jeninRL June 4, 2010 at 10:02 pm #

      Thanks J! I am pretty dern excited myself!! Make today a great day! xox, jen

  2. benjamteal June 2, 2010 at 7:43 am #

    Awesome! I know you can do it! One of these days, I will get my run on. One. of. these. days. Maybe.Much admiration for you!

  3. Trish @IamSucceeding June 2, 2010 at 8:29 am #

    YES!!! Way to go!! I am so proud of you…..cannot wait to follow your training and the Shrinking Jeans are awesome too!!!

    • jeninRL June 4, 2010 at 10:18 pm #

      Trish, thank you for always letting me know you are there for me!! you areawesome!! xox

  4. Bari_F June 2, 2010 at 8:44 am #

    I am so freaking proud of you I can barely stand myself !!!! The fact that you've committed to a 1/2 marathon is inspiring. I remember when you weren't even sure you wanted to start the c25k journey, and here you are. You are going to rock that 1/2 in October, and I bet you will start to see some amazing changes on the scale as well. Way to go Jen! 2010 is definitely your year!

    • jeninRL June 4, 2010 at 10:19 pm #

      Thanks Bari! I am smiling from ear to ear with nerves and excitement. Ithink I needed a “big” commitment to really get into the groove!! I havecome along way since the days of struggling over starting the C25K – you arepart of my inspiration – every time one of my friends blogs or tweets aboutrunning or finishing a race I get so excited. I can't wait to be a finisher!2010 is the year of JEN!!! Now I have to make it happen!!Thanks for being on this journey with me!!much love!

  5. Lissa_ShrinkingJeans June 2, 2010 at 9:00 am #

    Oh, how I love that you are going running with your girls! So awesome! I'm ready to ROCK out June with you! xoxo

    • jeninRL June 4, 2010 at 10:20 pm #

      Let's do this thing!! June is OURS!!xox

  6. shelley June 2, 2010 at 9:03 am #

    That's awesome…. Hmmmmmm Atlantic City isn't tooooo far from me… Half Marathon… you've got me thinking!

    • jeninRL June 4, 2010 at 10:20 pm #

      Now don't tease me!!! xox

  7. DareToBecome June 2, 2010 at 9:04 am #

    Congrats on your decision to run a half-marathon. It is hard to explain the feeling of crossing that finish line – but it is major!

    • jeninRL June 4, 2010 at 10:20 pm #

      I am daring to become GREAT!!! thanks, my friend, simply for being myfriend!!! xox

  8. merrymishaps June 2, 2010 at 9:11 am #

    That's fantastic! You'll rock it :)I've tried a bunch of food/exercise log sites, and I like The Daily Plate at livestrong.com the best. The Android app doesn't work right (they don't even acknowledge that they have one on their site), but that's my only complaint. Easy to add food (and make meals/recipes), and you can even modify most items to input the exact weight of what you ate rather than only have serving size options. Play around with a few and see what you like the best!

  9. Kyra June 2, 2010 at 10:04 am #

    Half marathon!! You are a ROCK STAR! I look forward to your journey. I'm dipping my toes into the “I want to run a half” waters myself. 🙂

  10. reneeakacutiebootycakes June 2, 2010 at 11:11 am #

    Congratulations! I am so happy for you and am also planning on running a half marathon!

  11. ali June 2, 2010 at 2:13 pm #

    YOU ROCK!!!

  12. SJs_April June 2, 2010 at 9:02 pm #

    You're going to do amazing! I'm proud of what you have accomplished!

  13. TheaDramaMama June 2, 2010 at 11:36 pm #

    I am so, SO excited for you! This is amazing!!

  14. Tiffany June 3, 2010 at 2:07 am #

    Great job this week! You will ROCK your half marathon – It has been an absolutely life changing experience for me – I am looking forward to deciding when my next will be! Good for you for all of the exercise… Another site you may check out for logging calories is http://www.dailyplate.com – I love it and they also have a cell phone app for blackberry and I am assuming for others as well.

  15. Lauren @ Team Giles June 4, 2010 at 2:26 pm #

    NO WAY! you're doing LA Boxing? How fun. We had one here really close to my house, and I always thought about going, but then, bam, it was gone? Sad. I still have my pink boxing gloves to use, so I think I need to get a punching bag. hmmThat is so awesome about the sisterhood sponsoring you. How exciting! Go Jen Go!!

  16. Kim June 4, 2010 at 3:59 pm #

    WOW, that is some awesomeness! Buddy system is a must! AND you are running a half with a sponsor – BOOYAH! I look forward to seeing your journey unfold!

  17. Dr. Mo June 5, 2010 at 12:29 am #

    I am so proud of you, J!!! This is going to be fun!!!! The Ladies of the Shrinking Jeans are CRAZYSEXYCOOL to sponsor you!!!!! Let's ROCK THESE HALF MARATHONS!!!!!! 😉 Love ya lotsDr. Mo

  18. jeninRL June 5, 2010 at 2:02 am #

    Thanks J! I am pretty dern excited myself!! Make today a great day! xox, jen

  19. jeninRL June 5, 2010 at 2:18 am #

    Thanks Ben!

  20. jeninRL June 5, 2010 at 2:18 am #

    Trish, thank you for always letting me know you are there for me!! you areawesome!! xox

  21. jeninRL June 5, 2010 at 2:19 am #

    Thanks Bari! I am smiling from ear to ear with nerves and excitement. Ithink I needed a “big” commitment to really get into the groove!! I havecome along way since the days of struggling over starting the C25K – you arepart of my inspiration – every time one of my friends blogs or tweets aboutrunning or finishing a race I get so excited. I can't wait to be a finisher!2010 is the year of JEN!!! Now I have to make it happen!!Thanks for being on this journey with me!!much love!

  22. jeninRL June 5, 2010 at 2:20 am #

    Let's do this thing!! June is OURS!!xox

  23. jeninRL June 5, 2010 at 2:20 am #

    Now don't tease me!!! xox

  24. jeninRL June 5, 2010 at 2:20 am #

    I am daring to become GREAT!!! thanks, my friend, simply for being myfriend!!! xox

  25. Dr. Mo June 5, 2010 at 4:29 am #

    I am so proud of you, J!!! This is going to be fun!!!! The Ladies of the Shrinking Jeans are CRAZYSEXYCOOL to sponsor you!!!!! Let's ROCK THESE HALF MARATHONS!!!!!! 😉 Love ya lotsDr. Mo

Leave a Reply

