I am in training!

5 Jun

OMG! I am running a half!! I am so flippin’ excited about training.

I looked at a calendar and I have 19 weeks until my half. I have looked into  a few different training programs and I am going to follow Hal Higdon’s plan for novices. The HH Plan is 12 weeks long with the final run in the 12th week being my race. *random thought popped in my head~ I hate calling it a race…I don’t care if I am dead last…I just want to enjoy myself and cross the finish line with a smile.

I am still waiting on my orthotics to come into the foot doctor. I called Friday and the orthotics should be here by Monday or Tuesday and I am sure there will be a break in period.  So for the first few weeks I will use the elliptical at the gym 3-4 times each week. I will aim for 3-4 miles each time I run on the elliptical.  Week 3 I will start hitting the pavement. I will set out to do 3 mile, 3-4 times per week.  Week 8,  I will begin following the HH plan.

I will continue training at LA Boxing. I love it.  This is the first time in my life I have ever loved exercising. My classes and personal training is transforming me and it is more than the physical transformation. I feel more confident and I feel STRONG. I am pushing myself in ways I don’t think know I would not be pushing. I have pushed my body to do things I ignored for years. I made excuses and let my knee and ankle issues be my excuse. It feels so fucking awesome to push myself the way I have been pushing at LA Boxing. I think that confidence is the reason I know I can ROCK this half marathon.  I will take 2-3 boxing/kickboxing classes each week. I will continue training with Cory on Thursdays. Cory knows I am training for a half and he is gonna whip me into shape.  I will use the bike there too.

I think I need some help with stretching and flexibility so I will search out workouts on DVD or On-Demand. I will do these in the mornings until I start my outside running. I will ease into needing to wake up earlier than usual and wake up gently with a nice yoga/stretching workout.  I am not a morning person but I will need to run in the mornings before it gets too hot. I plan on starting my outside runs with walking breaks throughout. I like the idea of walking breaks.

  1. june 7-13: begin training (getting adjusted to early wake ups) elliptical
  2. june 14-20: elliptical
  3. june 21-27: start outside running in the morning: 3:2 (run: walk)
  4. june 28-july4: 3:1
  5. july 5-11: 4:2
  6. july12-18: 4:1
  7. july 19-25: 5:2
  8. july 26-august 1: start official half training 5:1
  9. august 2-8
  10. august 9-15
  11. august 16-22
  12. august 23-29
  13. august 30-september 5
  14. september 6-12
  15. september 13-19
  16. september 20-26
  17. september 27-october 3
  18. october 4-10
  19. october 11-17

October 17 = RACE DAY!!!

*Full disclosure: LA Boxing is providing me with a free membership in exchange for my honest opinions. I simply write about my experiences. You only get  the real deal from me.

**A two disclosure post: Shrinking Jeans is sponsoring my first half marathon. I am blogging my experience for me and it will be my real journey – the good, the bad & the ugly.

12 Responses to “I am in training!”

  1. South Beach Steve June 6, 2010 at 9:39 am #

    I sure envy you with the LA Boxing. Two problems for me though: 1) there is not an LA Boxing within 2 hours drive or more 2) Most of the women there probably wouldn't appreciate a guy being there 🙂

    • jeninRL June 6, 2010 at 8:14 pm #

      I love LA Boxing. There are guys in my classes and the instructors areguys. Guys are ok. 😉

  2. Marisa (Loser for Life) June 6, 2010 at 9:50 am #

    So excited for you, Jen! I love the walking breaks. It has been KEY for me not injuring my hip further. Can't wait to run with you in Brig!!!

    • jeninRL June 7, 2010 at 9:36 am #

      When are you all planning on coming to Brig?!? I am excited for a runningpartner at the beach. xox

  3. DareToBecome June 6, 2010 at 3:37 pm #

    I love when people make these decisions – it is so empowering to take on something big like this. Can't wait to hear about your training.

    • jeninRL June 7, 2010 at 9:38 am #

      I FEEL empowered. Just setting this goal has me tingly!! I am excited! Thankyou for being a great inspiration and friend. and mostly, thanks for justbeing you. Your brutal honesty is good for this crazy jersey girl. xox

  4. ladybugs714 June 7, 2010 at 8:17 am #

    This is awesome, I love how you have your schedule planned out…sometimes thats the hardest part figuring out how to get it all in. Soo excited for you!!! Yesterday's SDRnR had to get you soo pumped up!

    • jeninRL June 7, 2010 at 9:42 am #

      YES!! the girls rocking out in San Diego was SUPER inspiring. I have tohave a schedule. I need to know what I am doing so that I can check & crossthings off my list. Thanks for being a part of it! xox

  5. bodybypizza June 7, 2010 at 9:24 am #

    You got this, girl! Just make sure you do the work so you can enjoy the day of your half. It's worth it — trust me! I'm getting super stoked just thinking about you crossing that finish line!!

    • jeninRL June 7, 2010 at 9:47 am #

      Thanks!! Just reading and watching everyone train and finish their firstHALFs is SUPER exciting. Thanks for having my back!! All the support andencouragement is making me feel like a rockstar! xox

  6. workout mommy June 7, 2010 at 11:05 pm #

    this is awesome jen, I am so excited for you! I look forward to hearing about your training! 🙂

  7. workout mommy June 8, 2010 at 3:05 am #

    this is awesome jen, I am so excited for you! I look forward to hearing about your training! 🙂

Leave a Reply

