minful menu plan – week of 6.6.10

6 Jun

Sunday: Cheeseburgers with potato salad and a hearty slaw (the no mayo kind)

Monday: Turkey Chops ~ I am not  exactly sure what this is but I found them the other day at the butcher shop and I am going to grill them up. A side of simple  Green beans and potatoes will complete the meal.

Tuesday:  Spaghetti and a Salad. Tuesday is late dinner night. The kid has karate from 6-7 and while she is in class I am going to the gym for elliptical mileage.

Wednesday:  Chicken Fajitas topped with awesome tomatillo salsa verde. Served with spanish rice loaded with black beans and corn.  Big Man will take the kid to karate from 5-6 and I will make dinner so we can eat as soon as they are back home. I need to leave about 40 minutes after t hey get home so I can go to a 7:45 kickboxing class.

Thursday: Steak Night.  My personal training sessions are on Thursdays at 6pm so Big Man feeds the kid, usually leftovers because she hates steak. We have Steak and something green and potatoes (last week I discovered yams and I may be replacing most of my potatoes with yams from now on). It is quick enough meal to have later and it is still healthy. We have eat the same thing every Thursday but we like it.

Friday:  Pizza and a Salad. I am going to pick up dough and make our own pizza and the salad will be from our garden.

Do you menu plan?

A friend asked me today how I got started with menu planning.  I have been menu planning for a while now and I still owe a huge THANK YOU to my girl Jenna over at ChiveTalkin.  For me, I have to first look at what is on the weekly schedule. Then, I have take a quick inventory of the freezer and pantry. I also check the sales ads and ask the family what they request.  Big Man likes steak night and the kid loves breakfast or tacos or pizza usually.  Sunday night dinners are usually a big deal: we try new recipes or we make the recipes that take longer.  Week nights have to be fast but still healthy. I am a lucky woman because Big Man helps me with planning, shopping and preparing meals. For the most part we all eat the same meal. The kid prefers most of her veggies raw and she dislikes potatoes and steak (not all beef but steak) so we work around that but for the most part it is one meal. We also try to eat dinner together every night and menu planning really has helped a lot.


If you menu plan, hit me up in comments….why? how? share some stories for my friend!

6 Responses to “minful menu plan – week of 6.6.10”

  1. ladybugs714 June 7, 2010 at 8:20 am #

    I love SWEET POTATOES too. Sometimes I top them with Chili Beans…good fiber and a great taste!

  2. Jen, a priorfatgirl June 7, 2010 at 1:04 pm #

    oohh – thanks for breakin' it down for me! I'm going to try my hand at this…maybe even write a blog post about it 🙂

    • jeninRL June 7, 2010 at 8:27 pm #

      you can do it Jen! One thing Jenna always told me….you control the plan the plan does not control you. Have fun with it and don't stress too much. xox

  3. Amanda June 8, 2010 at 7:59 am #

    I menu plan. Sometimes I do a month at a time but lately, it's been a week at a time. I usually just figure out what sounds good and go from there. I ask DH and DS1 (DS2 is only 2 and isn't picky so he doesn't get a say…yet!). DS1 always wants breakfast and pasta…DH hates pasta. I usually do a 'bigger' meal on the weekends that takes longer to prepare just b/c I have the time. I look at the calendar to see what's going on for the week. During the week, sometimes an idea will pop in my head and I'll jot that down to use for the next week. You are VERY luckt that your DH helps you out with the menu planning, etc… Mine isn't picky so he never tells me anything that sounds good…he'll eat anything, so he never has a request. I follow you on Twitter and just recently started reading your blog…this is my first comment. I LOVE your blog! 🙂

  4. Angie June 8, 2010 at 5:38 pm #

    I menu plan…but not often enough! Your menu looks great!

  5. Angie June 8, 2010 at 9:38 pm #

    I menu plan…but not often enough! Your menu looks great!

Leave a Reply

