wednesday weigh in: 6.9.10

9 Jun

WEEKLY WEIGH IN STATS
Current Weight:  192.4 lbs
Previous Weight: 193.8  lbs
Weight loss:  -1.4 lbs
Starting Weight: 242.6 lbs
Weight loss total: -50.3 lbs

I am down another 1.4 pounds. I am so happy to see the scale being cooperative. HA. I actually don’t really care too much about the scale…but then again I do.  I am seriously torn. Part of me wants that number to be lower, much lower. And another part of me is amazed at all that I am doing, even at this current weight. I have picked up so many good habits along this journey and I am starting to really ignore the scale more but it is hard. WE are ruled by the scale and while I weigh in every week, I don’t want to be ruled by the scale.

Does that even make sense?!?!

I have been seeking advice from friends who have ran half marathons and I have been given the advice to ignore the scale while I am training. At first, I figured this would just be advice I ignored. I was going to train and lose weight and life would be good. But I really started thinking about this and it is sort of like when I started LA Boxing. I was super hungry when I first started…Istill kind of am, but I have started to make adjustments to help curb crazy hunger leading to crazy eating.  My body is going to go through changes and while I still want to lose it is NOT my focus right now. I guess that makes me a bad weight loss blogger – sorry.

I will continue with weekly weigh ins but I am not focusing on the number. I am going to finally take measurements. [I have to find the measuring tape and when I do I will add the #s here] I will take measurements every 4 Wednesdays. I even bought a fat caliper thing but I don’t exactly know where to measure…my belly is a lot of fat. I will youtube and learn and track that as well.

AND, I had the kid take my pic in a bathing suit … from all sides…scary. I am not ready to post that pic but I have it. I will have her take a similar picture every month. I think this is where I will notice the biggest changes.

Workouts have been amazing. I am logging lots of hours and mileage on DailyMile.com (I linked to me on DM – are you on dailymile?).  I have been getting up between 5:45 and 6 am this week and I think next week I will be ready to add in a short walk and a stretch. Stages people, if I want to start running in the mornings (which I do because of the heat but I don’t because I like sleeping and do not like early mornings). I have been hitting the elliptical and bike at LA Boxing and I will continue my classes and personal training. All this working out makes me feel like a ROCKSTAR!!

So, there ya have it.  What are you thoughts on weigh in?

18 Responses to “wednesday weigh in: 6.9.10”

  1. xj June 9, 2010 at 2:11 pm #

    Great job on your loss! I totally feel your pain about the scale. Just remember that if you keep going, you'll get to that magic number eventually. In the meantime, don't worry about fluctuations from training. =)

  2. Mara June 9, 2010 at 2:50 pm #

    GO YOU!!! I both love and hate weighing in. I've reset my WI day to wednesdays and am rethinking my eating plan (yet agin, oy).

    • jeninRL June 9, 2010 at 3:30 pm #

      ooooh…details of your eating plan?!?!I like wednesdays the best- I simply weigh in – too busy getting ready forschool to think about it too much!

  3. joggerslife June 9, 2010 at 2:54 pm #

    Forget about the damn scale. Live your life. How about that plan? You're running a 1/2 marathon because you've set a goal in your LIFE, and you are making it part of your LIFE to train and complete the race. There is no room for scales when you're living. IMHO, the most successful people on the weight-loss and health front are those who have made the shift from “losing weight” to “living life”. Be a liver, not a loser. =)You're doing awesome things, and it has nothing to do with a fucking scale.

    • Mary (A Merry Life) June 9, 2010 at 4:39 pm #

      I completely agree. A lot of people seem to GAIN weight when training for long distance running events. Is that bad? Not really. You are being healthy and exercising and do well. The scale is just a tool, which sometimes gets waaaaay too much focus. Let it go and just do what you are doing.

  4. joggerslife June 9, 2010 at 2:54 pm #

    Oh. Can I say that? Sorry. lol.

    • jeninRL June 9, 2010 at 3:27 pm #

      Have you met me?!?! of course you can say that! So, what do I do? Do I giveup the scale completely?? That seems so scar, will you hold my hand?? Butyou are right about so many things and I am damn proud of making such a hugecommitment to myself and my health. Thanks for being there for me! xox, jen

      • joggerslife June 9, 2010 at 4:31 pm #

        Yeah…I knew I could say that. I was just being polite. lol.Have you read any of my posts about the fact that I haven't owned a scale in 5 years? Trust that I don't think I'm the “perfect” example, nor do I have the body of Jessica Biel. What I do have is piece of mind that I am able to maintain my weight and listen to my body without the aid of a scale.When I stop(ped) worrying about the scale, the weight came off. I'm not saying that I throw caution to the wind and eat everything and don't move my ass. What I'm saying is that I think that in order to truly get to a point of health, we have to be in tune with what our bodies are asking for. The scale just can't help you judge that.I still have weeks where my jeans get tight. I consciously KNOW when I have been eating too many desserts, or if my snacking has been over the top. I know these things without a scale. My body tells me when it's hungry, and it tells me when it's full. My body also tells me when I need to eat more vegetables and less ice cream. It tells me when it wants to sweat, and when it's had enough. However, the scale can't measure our journey. It doesn't know how my mind has healed over the past 4.5 years, and how many challenges I've faced head on. It also doesn't know that I've run 2 half marathons, a full marathon, and that I'm training for my first triathlon. It doesn't know that I finally learned how to love. So, I say fuck the scale. And I'll most definitely hold your hand the whole way through if you decide to tell yours to fuck off too.

      • jeninRL June 9, 2010 at 5:02 pm #

        Polite schmolite! luv ya girl.What the hell is perfect anyway?!?! I just looked back at the last few weeksand months. I hit 192.4 – the exact weight I am today – back in March…before Fitbloggin. But, I know I feel tighter and leaner…so you areright. I just needed someone to slap the sense into me. You have me thinkingabout soooo much right now.Thanks for holding my hand. How do you not peek at the scale? Do you domeasurements? Do you count calories? journal your food?How do I stop thinking so hard about this?!?

      • joggerslife June 9, 2010 at 5:26 pm #

        NONE.OF.THE.ABOVE.No scales, no calorie counting (although I did a stint for 2 weeks on Livestrong.com in a moment of extreme stress), no weights, no measures, no journals. Sometimes the doctor weighs me, but that's like once a year. Scales (and ETC.) are optional, love.When you stop weighing and measuring, you stop thinking so much about it. Food becomes fuel (with the occasional treat), and you just keep it movin'. I love the saying “we are what we repeatedly do”. In the case of food and dieting, I became my diet because that was what I 'DID'. Now, I do what feels right.

  5. Lauren @ Team Giles June 9, 2010 at 5:33 pm #

    Way to go girl! So proud of you 🙂

  6. bekkib73 June 9, 2010 at 11:10 pm #

    Hey Jen! It's hard to shift focus and not worry about the number on the scale. That's something I wasn't able to do when I was training for my sprint triathlon. Now I'm training for a half also, and am going to have to again, try and not worry about the number so much. Ugh. As far as the pictures, I took some a few years ago, and saved them on an external hard drive – I never wanted to see them! Well, right before we started the 30 shred challenge at the Sisterhood, I took some pre-shred pictures and decided to compare them. OMG – the training I've been doing has def. made a difference! Pictures don't lie! Moral of the story: You may not show anyone those pictures now, but when you take some follow up pictures down the road, you might be so proud of what you've accomplished that you could change your mind! Keep up the GREAT work! Beki

  7. Jess June 10, 2010 at 7:02 am #

    When I realized that I am more than just a darn number on a scale, that I am more than just a number, something inside clicked and the scale no longer ruled my life. Oh, do I want to be at a “normal” weight with regular body fat percentage? You betcha. But I don't do it to see that number go down. I do it because it makes it easier for me to run (less extra poundage for my legs to carry). I do it because it will make me a faster swimmer. I do it because I want to run a marathon. I do it because I want to be a triathlete. I do it because I know I can.I make a list of all the things I have accomplished, none of them weight-related, and I've realized that hey, I'm getting better, stronger, and faster each and every single day. The scale doesn't rule my life any more. Are there days when I'm slightly peeved? Yes. But then I realize that this journey is lifelong so I just need to be patient, persistent and determined and my hard work will eventually pay off.You can do this.And by this, I mean your Half 🙂 You will cross that finish line, throw your hands up, maybe cry, and then realize how freaking awesome you are. Because that's how I felt on Sunday when I did my first Half. I am not just a number on a scale. I am a Half Marathoner.Now THAT is pretty awesome 🙂

  8. @FitInMyHeart June 12, 2010 at 3:55 am #

    Great Job, Jen!!! I BELIEVE in taking measurements and pics!!! The scaleis NOT the entire tale!!! ;-)Love ya lotsDr. MoJo

  9. Livinginagirlsworld June 13, 2010 at 7:00 pm #

    You are doing awesome. I can't speak from personal experience, but I know some of the ladies on TSJ were saying that even though the scale wasn't budging during the half training that clothes were fitting differently. Remember you are gaining so much muscle with all this working out – and muscle does weigh more than fat – you will firm up and lose fat but the scale may not change much in the beginning. I'm so proud of you for taking the leap of a half marathon. It's an awesome feeling to cross the finish line of your first. There are no words to describe it…but there may be tears.

    • jeninRL June 13, 2010 at 7:22 pm #

      Thank Kirsten. I feel really comfortable about giving up the scale andfocusing on my training. I am not giving myself free reign in the kitchen oranything but I will listen to my body. Focusing on training instead of foodmakes me feel like I am finally heading in the right direction….away fromdieting and closer to just living healthy and normal…as if I know whatnormal looks like – hah!You girls ROCKED that half and I look forward to the day I cross the finishline.xox, jen

  10. Livinginagirlsworld June 13, 2010 at 11:00 pm #

    You are doing awesome. I can't speak from personal experience, but I know some of the ladies on TSJ were saying that even though the scale wasn't budging during the half training that clothes were fitting differently. Remember you are gaining so much muscle with all this working out – and muscle does weigh more than fat – you will firm up and lose fat but the scale may not change much in the beginning. I'm so proud of you for taking the leap of a half marathon. It's an awesome feeling to cross the finish line of your first. There are no words to describe it…but there may be tears.

  11. jeninRL June 13, 2010 at 11:22 pm #

    Thank Kirsten. I feel really comfortable about giving up the scale andfocusing on my training. I am not giving myself free reign in the kitchen oranything but I will listen to my body. Focusing on training instead of foodmakes me feel like I am finally heading in the right direction….away fromdieting and closer to just living healthy and normal…as if I know whatnormal looks like – hah!You girls ROCKED that half and I look forward to the day I cross the finishline.xox, jen

Leave a Reply

