What if I lock it up

10 Jun

and throw away the key.

I am looking at 18.5 weeks of training. In 18.5 weeks I will be running 13.1 miles. I can do that and it really does not matter what the scale says.  I have had a few awesome friends give me advice about training for this half. And you know what they all say?!?!

FORGET THE SCALE!!!

YES!! At least three people (and you all know who you are and I LOVE you) have told me their experiences with half training and warned me that the scale may fluctuate and that I should probably ignore it for a while.  Yesterday, I blogged my normal weigh in and talked about this and I had the best conversation in my comments (wow, I was channeling my inner Miz and having commentversations – feeling like a rockstar)!

Today I have decided to take the plunge. I am giving the scale to the husband and I will ask him to get rid of it. Just so I don’t look at it in a moment of weakness.

Today I have decided that I am strong and I can do this. I can train for a half marathon and I can be healthy. The number on the damn scale WILL NOT DEFINE ME!!!

I will continue the healthy habits I have created. I will train for a half marathon. I will kick ass!!

Today I ask you…

What if I lock up the scale?!?!

Have you taken the sledgehammer to the scale (figuratively or literally)??

Oh, and if ya just can’t get enough Jen head over to MizFit’s house….I am guest blogging there.

33 Responses to “What if I lock it up”

  1. joggerslife June 10, 2010 at 8:45 am #

    YES! This gave me chills. =)If you really use this time as a learning experience, you will never look back. You have the next 18.5 weeks to learn about your body…and what better time to do it than when you're training for a race! Your body cues are going to be even more obvious at a time like this when you're putting it through more training than normal. There will be days when you're hungrier than others. When I was marathon training, I learned that on Sundays when I did my long run, I would literally have to make myself eat all day because I didn't feel hungry. BUT…come Monday and Tuesday…watch out…I was HUNGRY! At first, it's a little daunting when you realize that your body is telling you everything you need to know. At first, it's hard to listen. It takes practice, but it's so worth it. Scales are a sham, and I think you'll feel liberated by this experience! I hope you learn that you ultimately don't need it.

    • jeninRL June 10, 2010 at 4:42 pm #

      I love that you have my back!!I am a bit nervous that I won't know what my body needs but like you saidthis is a learning process. I am going to learn way more by listening to mybody that I ever could learn looking at the scale. I know this but now Ihave to KNOW this and live it!I am excited about this step in my journey. Thanks for being a huge help inthis decision.xox, jen

  2. Christine (Blisschick) Reed June 10, 2010 at 9:32 am #

    After too many years of my life spent with varying degrees of disordered eating and body image issues, I threw away the scale. There are better ways to discern what is going on with our bodies. WE NEVER need numbers. The point is to ask your body what food it needs, how much it needs, and what exercise it would like. Period. NEEDS…not wants. Distinguishing can be difficult but not impossible. And numbers are only ever about judgment.

  3. FitHungryGurl June 10, 2010 at 9:42 am #

    I don't know how I haven't seen your blog before, but I just found you through your guest post on Miz.First off – congrats on training for the 1/2 marathon. That is enough on its own for you to beproud.Secondly – you don't need the scale sabotaging your running sucesses. Get rid of it for awhile and revel in the fact that you are doing an amazing thing.

  4. DareToBecome June 10, 2010 at 9:49 am #

    I love seeing this transformation in you from “dieter” to “living healthy”. You will succeed.

    • jeninRL June 10, 2010 at 4:59 pm #

      Thank you for that. I am loving it myself….and it all started with my start to running….connection there?!?! hmmmm…..

  5. Jen, a priorfatgirl June 10, 2010 at 12:40 pm #

    Whoa – I just goosebumps at the thought of someone getting rid of the scale. You are totally living on the edge!

    • jeninRL June 10, 2010 at 4:53 pm #

      I am living on the edge but I think I am on the edge of something great!! I have been saying this is about health – now I am putting my money where my mouth is….so to speak.I will probably have nerves next week when I don't get on the scale.

  6. Christina @ A Beautiful Mess June 10, 2010 at 2:41 pm #

    Hey! New reader but just couldn't avoid commenting on this post :O) As someone who has struggled with scale obsession, I am so PROUD of you for ditching the scale!!! I think it will help you focus much better on your training and not on what the scale says… You go girl!!

    • jeninRL June 10, 2010 at 4:51 pm #

      Hi Christina. I am so glad you left me a comment. and THANKS for reading (this still trips me out that people read what I write and rant)! Thank you for you support. xox, jen

  7. Jenn June 10, 2010 at 2:44 pm #

    I think this is awesome, Jen! You are focusing on health and fitness – the stupid scale is just a number.Congrats! I'm proud of you!!!

    • jeninRL June 10, 2010 at 4:50 pm #

      Thanks Jenn. Stupid Scale! I am not letting it control me anymore,

  8. Wifey June 10, 2010 at 4:00 pm #

    Lock it up and throw away the key! LOL! Kudos to you for realizing that it's about being healthy – not the number on the scale. A wonderful reminder for all of us!Winks & Smiles,Wifey

    • jeninRL June 10, 2010 at 4:59 pm #

      Thank you. I am going to come back and read these comments when I feel moments of weakness. xox

  9. Fitarella June 10, 2010 at 4:28 pm #

    WOOOO TO THE MOTHA FRICKIN HOOOOO!!!!!! GO GIRLY GO!!!!!!You are a ROCKSTAR!!!!!!!!!!!

    • jeninRL June 10, 2010 at 4:57 pm #

      Thank you! Thank you very much!! Thanks for starting the “What If” Revolution!!

  10. Mary June 10, 2010 at 4:45 pm #

    WOOHOO! Go Jen!

  11. Phatfbff June 10, 2010 at 4:57 pm #

    I feel like the worst friend in the entire world!! I didn't know you were training for a half!! WTG you F-ing ROCKSTAR!! That is going to be so gratifying who cares what the scale says. I think in that time, you'll be seeing such positive changes in your body that you won't care about what the scale says!!I'm so freaking proud of you Jen!! Go girl go – I'll be cheering you the whole way – including your 18 weeks of training and beyond!!Jen

    • jeninRL June 11, 2010 at 11:24 am #

      shut up!! dont talk about my friend that way!! hehe….life keeps us all busy…no worries…i love ya girl!

  12. Jack Sh*t June 10, 2010 at 5:09 pm #

    I'd say that it just depends. If you're the kind of person who can stay off the scale and still act like you've got a weigh-in tomorrow, it's all good. Some people (and I include myself in this crowd), see the scale going bye-bye as an invitation to up the amount of chow they consume and to feel less guilty about rampant snacking.

    • jeninRL June 11, 2010 at 9:15 am #

      I will not let NO SCALE turn into an I CAN EAT WHATEVER I WANT WHEN I WANT FEAST!!!

  13. coach meg June 10, 2010 at 5:40 pm #

    You Go Girl!!! Great Job! Stay focused and you will get where you need to be!!!

    • jeninRL June 11, 2010 at 11:25 am #

      Thank you for all your support! I appreciate it very much. =)

  14. bodybypizza June 10, 2010 at 10:51 pm #

    Do what you think will benefit you the most! I thought I was going to drop a shitload of weight during my half training. Erm, in the last two months, I've lost two pounds. BANISH IT!

    • jeninRL June 11, 2010 at 11:25 am #

      It is banished!! NO SCALE in jen land!

  15. Audrey June 11, 2010 at 2:38 pm #

    Personally I think this is a fabulous idea. Obsessing over the scale (IMO) just makes one crazy. Love it. Now if only I could get the nerve to follow suit… 😉

  16. Starfire June 11, 2010 at 6:09 pm #

    Heya Jen – found your blog through MizFit's. I do half-marathons as well – granted, I walk them, instead of run them, but hey, I still *do* them :-)My first real long-distance walk, though? It wasn't a half-marathon. It wasn't even a marathon. No, because I have to do everything the hard way, my first real long-distance walk was 100km. And when I did it, I was 93kg (204lb) on a 5'4'' frame. Now, granted, the flip side of that was that I didn't finish it (that's another story): but I DID get 88km into it before I had to pull out.I decided I'm going to go for it again in 2011, and this I'm going to do it at a lower bodyweight… but that's not about having a specific figure in mind, it's just about acknowledging that the amount of extra weight I was carrying at the time probably contributed to the difficulty I've always had with hills, which meant I didn't do as much hill training as I should have for the event.Yeah, I kinda have a figure range in mind that I'd like to get down to, but the truth is, my goal weight is “the one where hills aren't completely wrecking me any more”, and that's as much about forcing myself to do the hill training way harder and more often than I want to than as it is about the scale. And the truth? After doing a (walking) half-marathon plus a 10km event each month since January this year, I can probably say that I'm at my goal weight now, whatever the scales might say.I haven't quite taken a sledgehammer to the scales yet (probably a good thing – I don't own any, and my gym might get upset if I go all medieval on their property!), but I'm doing my best to make whatever they say each week/fortnight or so that I check them be an… interesting fact, rather than anything to judge myself on or beat myself up about. Which is almost as much of a struggle sometimes as the half-marathons!

  17. @FitInMyHeart June 12, 2010 at 3:52 am #

    Awesome idea for you!!! You're focused!! With your “Eye on the prize”!!! You've got this!!!Love ya lots!!!Dr. Mojo

  18. Cathy June 12, 2010 at 2:33 pm #

    I have decided not to weigh myself anymore. Because as you said, the number doesn't define me. Like MizFit, I use my clothes to gauge where I am. And kudos to you for the half. I've done 2 before and you go get 'em! I am definitely not a runner's build (have lost between 40-50 pounds in the past few years – but don't know exactly…no scale) 🙂

  19. Cathy June 12, 2010 at 6:33 pm #

    I have decided not to weigh myself anymore. Because as you said, the number doesn't define me. Like MizFit, I use my clothes to gauge where I am. And kudos to you for the half. I've done 2 before and you go get 'em! I am definitely not a runner's build (have lost between 40-50 pounds in the past few years – but don't know exactly…no scale) 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Right Direction - June 11, 2010

    […] Mizfit – her daughter doesn’t even know what a scale is. And a post from Jen, who has decided to ditch the scale because she is training to run a freaking half […]

  2. The Right Direction - Thighs Thinner - March 6, 2011

    […] Mizfit – her daughter doesn’t even know what a scale is. And a post from Jen, who has decided to ditch the scale because she is training to run a freaking half […]

Leave a Reply

