the proof is in the (sweaty) pictures

11 Jun

What is better than ONE sweaty Jen?!?!

TWO sweaty Jens, of course!!!

LA Boxing has been a great experience! I absolutely love the way I push myself every time I walk in the door. Prior to LA Boxing I did not think I was a sweater. Walking was a great workout for me, when I first started, but I wasn’t getting super sweaty doing it.  I thought I didn’t sweat….how silly and wrong I was!!

I sweat!!

A LOT!!

And, I like no LOVE sweating! Ok, maybe it isn’t the actual sweat I love but the sweat produced from a killer workout, that I LOVE!!!

How do you love to sweat?!? What workout gives you that killer/sweaty/rockstar-I-can-take-on-the-world feeling?!? For me it is kickboxing and running – both leave me sweaty and exhilarated. I may be shaky when the workout is over but I feel amazing and ready to take what ever life throws at me.

Pic 1 – is me after a particular killer workout. It was last week, last Wednesday to be exact and it was National Run Day. Wednesday is also one of my favorite kickboxing classes at LA Boxing. Kevin is a great instructor and the classes are usually small so we get extra instructor attention.  Last week was  no exception.  I added in a mile on the elliptical  for National Run Day. I was sweaty but I felt like a ROCKSTAR!

Pic 2 – one week after pic 1, after a very sweaty Wednesday Kickboxing with Kevin. This week I used my “bring a guest” pass and had my girl, Jen, come to class with me. I arrived at LA Boxing early and put in 15 minutes on the elliptical and 10 minutes on the bike. Then Kevin kicked our asses in class. It was fun to have Jen with me – we goofed and laughed and sweat our asses off. Working out with a friend is so much fun.

SO, a weekend challenge to you! Tell me what you are doing to get sweaty this weekend? oh yeah, PROVE IT!!! Send your sweaty proof to jeninreallife@yahoo.com and I will put all pics up in a post next Friday. [I am totally stealing this idea from another Jen, my dear sweet friend who loves sweaty pics ~ love ya girl!!]

*Full disclosure: LA Boxing is providing me with a free membership in exchange for my honest opinions. I simply write about my experiences. You only get  the real deal from me.

22 Responses to “the proof is in the (sweaty) pictures”

  1. Loser For Life June 11, 2010 at 7:22 am #

    You Rock, Jen squared!!!!!!

    • jeninRL June 12, 2010 at 8:26 pm #

      thanks M!! soon enough there will be sweaty after running pics of the two of us up on this blog!

  2. FitHungryGurl June 11, 2010 at 9:52 am #

    Aww. That's not fair. I don't really sweat. But I will try my hardest. 😀 I will be running tonight and on Sunday I will be running AND swimming.

    • jeninRL June 12, 2010 at 8:28 pm #

      I didnt think I could sweat like this either. Boxing, kickboxing and working with my trainer = SWEAT, SWEAT & more SWEAT!!

  3. Jen, a priorfatgirl June 11, 2010 at 10:38 am #

    YES YES YES YES, Love them sweatiness pictures! Proof is in the pics, you are putting some hard work into this journey your on!

    • jeninRL June 12, 2010 at 8:30 pm #

      I am definitely stepping it up a notch. Signing up for a half marathon has helped me!! There is no slacking if I want to be prepared properly!

  4. Christina June 11, 2010 at 11:34 am #

    You are so tough! I love reading your blog because it makes me want to get up and go exercise like right NOW :O)

    • jeninRL June 12, 2010 at 8:39 pm #

      I am glad you love reading my blog and that I can make you want to exercise. I know how hard it is to get motivated some times. Hell, I have been on this journey now for a year and a half and I finally get that rush out of exercise, now I am motivated to go for it!!

  5. Starfire June 11, 2010 at 6:16 pm #

    OMG… first I read about you training for a half, and now I'm reading about you boxing… I haven't found anyone else who's into both the same fitness activities as me anywhere else!I do a weekly boxing session with a personal trainer that I LOVE working with – he does just the right blend of encouraging and pushing me so that I end up sweaty and shaking (and grinning from ear to ear) by the end of the hour with him. And I totally love that feeling of knowing I've worked harder and been pushed harder than I ever would have managed on my own 🙂

    • jeninRL June 12, 2010 at 8:40 pm #

      Oh wow! that is funny and awesome! It is an interesting combo but for me they are the two activities that make me forget all about being a responsible grown up with way too much shit to do. YOU get it!! I am always smiling after a killer kickboxing class -shaky but smiling!

  6. Lauren @ Team Giles June 11, 2010 at 11:40 pm #

    You rock girl!!!!!

  7. @FitInMyHeart June 12, 2010 at 3:46 am #

    I LOVE IT, J!!!! I'm going to hit the Green Bridge for a 6 mile walk!!! You have INSPIRED ME, woman!!! Keep Up the Great work!!! @FitInMyHeart

    • jeninRL June 12, 2010 at 9:18 pm #

      6 freaking miles!! you are the inspiration woman!!

  8. Trish @IamSucceeding June 12, 2010 at 8:57 am #

    You are doing so so awesome and I am so stinking proud of you!!!!! xoxxo

  9. jeninRL June 13, 2010 at 12:26 am #

    thanks M!! soon enough there will be sweaty after running pics of the two of us up on this blog!

  10. jeninRL June 13, 2010 at 12:28 am #

    I didnt think I could sweat like this either. Boxing, kickboxing and working with my trainer = SWEAT, SWEAT & more SWEAT!!

  11. jeninRL June 13, 2010 at 12:30 am #

    I am definitely stepping it up a notch. Signing up for a half marathon has helped me!! There is no slacking if I want to be prepared properly!

  12. jeninRL June 13, 2010 at 12:39 am #

    I am glad you love reading my blog and that I can make you want to exercise. I know how hard it is to get motivated some times. Hell, I have been on this journey now for a year and a half and I finally get that rush out of exercise, now I am motivated to go for it!!

  13. jeninRL June 13, 2010 at 12:40 am #

    Oh wow! that is funny and awesome! It is an interesting combo but for me they are the two activities that make me forget all about being a responsible grown up with way too much shit to do. YOU get it!! I am always smiling after a killer kickboxing class -shaky but smiling!

  14. jeninRL June 13, 2010 at 12:42 am #

    Thanks!

  15. jeninRL June 13, 2010 at 1:18 am #

    6 freaking miles!! you are the inspiration woman!!

Leave a Reply

