the great Jen experiment

15 Jun

I once said that 2010 is the year of Jen. I am totally making 2010 the year of Jen. I have changed so much in the last 6 months. I am now working out 5-6 days per week. And I am working out HARD – thank you LA Boxing. I am turning into an athlete.  Whodathunkit?!?!

I certainly never really expected this to happen.  I started my journey towards health in November of 2008 when I joined Weight Watchers. I was really only focused on losing weight …a lot of weight. Exercise certainly wasn’t on my mind. At 242, exercise was the furthest thing from my mind.  My mindset has done a complete turnaround: now I cannot imagine not working out and I LOVE working out.

Today, June 15th, I officially registered for my first Half Marathon (thank you @shrinkingjeans) and I went for an amazing run. My amazing run was in the late afternoon; I was going to hit a kickboxing class but the weather was screaming for a run – it was not hot and actually breezy.  My alarm clock started buzzing at 5:30 this morning and I got out of bed but 5:42 but I was not up and actually doing anything.

I AM NOT A MORNING PERSON!! I do not like getting out of my warm cocoon of blankets – especially when the air conditioner is on and it is freezing in my room. The husband is like an eskimo or something – the colder the better he sleeps.  Sorry, I got distracted.  Last night I even went to bed around 10:30 pm and I slept great…SOOOOO why was I so tired at 5:30 this morning??

I am going to keep plugging away and setting that alarm for 5:30 (although maybe I should change it to 6) and going to bed by 10:30, 11 at the latest.  I just hope it gets easier.

I am not sure how I found this article but I did find it and the article. Basically the chick writing  the article experimented with changing her night owl ways to become a morning person. I read the article and so much of it makes sense…but I am still skeptical. I just like sleep. The article provided two ideas for the mornings: 1. choose a new wake-up time—no more than two hours earlier than usual—and stick to it. No exceptions, including weekends. “You have to be rigid initially” and 2. leave the house immediately for a half-hour walk.

There are a couple things for night rituals but it is hard enough getting everything done at night and getting to bed early so I am going to tackle the mornings first.  I can’t handle too many things at once and mornings are seriously difficult for me.

This year has been a huge experiment in being Jen. I will tackle mornings or die trying (ok, not that dramatic or anything)!  Stay tuned.

11 Responses to “the great Jen experiment”

  1. Superwomanspirit June 15, 2010 at 9:17 pm #

    So proud of you Jen! You are right this is YOUR year and amazing things are already happening to you! Congratulations on the Half Marathon WOW! I am sooooo uber impressed that you are going to do that! You my dear are an inspiration that is on fire like no other!! XOXOXO

  2. Loser For Life June 15, 2010 at 9:43 pm #

    My plan this summer is to get up earlier to get to the gym. I am NOT a morning person, either, but with the kids being home for the summer, I have to do it early early, before they get up. UGH. Starting Friday. Pray for me and I'll pray for you. We just may die trying! LOL!Yay for the half! We are gonna rock our half marys. Or die tryin' 😉

  3. maryweaver June 15, 2010 at 9:45 pm #

    Jen, I love what you say about turning into an athlete!Being an athlete means focusing on skills and accomplishment and what our bodies are capable of rather than something we don't like about our bodies (excess fat). Means exploring and pushing our limits. Congrats on all you're doing in the year of Jen!Mary

  4. Lauren @ Team Giles June 15, 2010 at 11:38 pm #

    I soooo want to box, I wish the LA Boxing here didn't close. Ugh, I so want to learn. I need to find a video or something. oh girl I am not a morning person either. I totally feel you on that. 🙂 I've given up being a morning person, so I have no advice. 😉 I wish you well.

  5. Trish @IamSucceeding June 16, 2010 at 6:52 am #

    I am so very proud of you and all that you are and continue to accomplish! This IS the year of Jen! xoxo

  6. Lisa June 16, 2010 at 9:24 am #

    Woohoo for the year of Jen! You have come a long way and you are an inspiration!WBS!

  7. Kat June 16, 2010 at 6:22 pm #

    You are an inspiration Jen! I am going to check out that link, it might be helpful for me, a very definite night owl!

  8. seemamarun June 16, 2010 at 9:15 pm #

    Totally not a morning person here either. Maybe you'll inspire me. Maybe. 😉

  9. South Beach Steve June 16, 2010 at 10:03 pm #

    I used to not be a morning person, but I have changed over the last few years. Staying tune, anxiously awaiting the next progression of the experiment. 🙂

  10. Christina June 17, 2010 at 3:37 pm #

    I'm not a morning person either but my scheduled required a.m. workouts for awhile so I just sucked it up. I did find that about 2 weeks in I got used to it. I was up at 5 to be at the gym by 5:30. Having that immediate need to get out either to the gym or on a walk will definitely help. The bonus was that once I got used to it, I had a lot more energy throughout the day and was actually able to get the majority of the things I had been doing at night done earlier so I could go to sleep earlier. Good luck, and keep it up… it gets easier I promise!

  11. Christina June 17, 2010 at 7:37 pm #

    I'm not a morning person either but my scheduled required a.m. workouts for awhile so I just sucked it up. I did find that about 2 weeks in I got used to it. I was up at 5 to be at the gym by 5:30. Having that immediate need to get out either to the gym or on a walk will definitely help. The bonus was that once I got used to it, I had a lot more energy throughout the day and was actually able to get the majority of the things I had been doing at night done earlier so I could go to sleep earlier. Good luck, and keep it up… it gets easier I promise!

Leave a Reply

