no weigh-in wednesday

17 Jun

Today is the first Wednesday in forever that I will not be weighing in. I did not step on the scale this morning.  Instead I will bring you a workout/running update.

I have logged 26.25 miles since I announced that I will be running a half marathon October 17, 2010.  In case you’re counting, and I am, that is over 26 miles in 2 weeks or 26+ miles in 14 days or an average of 1.87 miles per day.  All but 7 miles were completed on the elliptical at the gym ~ a machine that I previously had not really used.

I have logged many, many hours at the gym. I have a standing appointment with a personal trainer from LA Boxing,  Cory, every Thursday and trust me when I tell ya – he kicks my ass. He loves that I have a fitness goal (truth – so do I ) and he tells me constantly during our sessions about it. He will just randomly say “marathon” to help with my motivation. Working one on one is the very motivating.  I have also been taking at least 2 other kickboxing or boxing classes per week. [I track ALL my workouts on dailymile come and check it out, are you on dailymile? leave me a link in comments and I will follow your training.]

I guess I should tell you all about Tuesday. In the immortal words of Ice Cube (ok, I had almost forgot these words and this song but Elisabeth totally brought it back) today, it was a good day.  I officially registered for my very first Half Marathon….holy crap!! I guess the excitement of registering carried over because around 3 or so I decided I wanted to run instead of going to a kickboxing class. Tuesday was not too hot and there was an actual breeze. I took advantage and my first outside-non-elliptical run was amazing.  I started with a warm up and then followed with 15 rounds of 2:1 (run:walk). I ran 3.37 miles in 52 minutes or 15.3o/mile.

I would like to say I finished off Wednesday with a kickboxing class like I usually do but I wound up skipping out. A friend stopped over right before I would have left and he brought the cutest little puppy. I was totally distracted and I really wanted to keep that puppy.  I played with the littlest fuzzball instead of the gym – not too bad ass, huh?!?

I am so glad I am not focusing on the scale right now. It is giving me a chance to really listen to what my body needs and wants.

*Full disclosure: LA Boxing is providing me with a free membership in exchange for my honest opinions. I simply write about my experiences. You only get  the real deal from me.

**A two disclosure post: Shrinking Jeans is sponsoring my first half marathon. I am blogging my experience for me and it will be my real journey – the good, the bad & the ugly.

***oops, a third disclosure NOT – I am not affiliated with dailymile.com I just really LOVE the site for tracking all my workouts and allowing me to follow my friends’ training.

3 Responses to “no weigh-in wednesday”

  1. Shannon June 17, 2010 at 6:35 pm #

    Jen you are doing so great! I love where your at and I am so excited for you! Great thing to step away for a minute or two, listen to your body. So smart!

  2. Katdoesdiets June 18, 2010 at 6:50 pm #

    Yay, you registered!!!! Congrats on those miles.Hmmm, I think I need a sponsor for my half, LOL, yes, jealous.

  3. Katdoesdiets June 18, 2010 at 10:50 pm #

    Yay, you registered!!!! Congrats on those miles.Hmmm, I think I need a sponsor for my half, LOL, yes, jealous.

Leave a Reply

