my menu will keep me sane

20 Jun

This week is crazy busy.  It is finally the last week of school and the kid’s birthday and my seniors’ graduation and we are going away next weekend and I have to fit in gym-time and I have to get in my morning runs. The next five days are crucial. It is almost a test drive to see how I can maintain a workout schedule and handle all the real life stuffs I know I will jump up all summer long.  I am looking forward to going away next weekend; we are going to see two Further shows in Brooklyn.  Not only will there be hours and hours of dancing and walking during the actual show there will be hours of walking around hippie city and parking lots. My legs will see lots of miles so I won’t be running but the weekend after I plan on starting a weekly long run.

My menu plan will definitely help keep me sane. Every Sunday I think about the schedule of the week – who has what at what time and when?!?!  This week was no different except I found myself looking at the gym schedule and fitting in the class I want to take with  the menu….ya know, Big Man is cooking this night while I go to class…what do you want to cook this night honey? I assure you I know just how lucky I am to have a man who cooks!

On the menu this week:

Sunday: Big Man’s Father’s Day Dinner – he was inspired watching Rick Bayless make Chorizo tacos.  I did not watch the episode so I am making  this up from Big Man’s description.  I have fresh flounder for the kid – she doesn’t like chorizo.

Monday: Spaghetti and a salad. Big man makes an awesome pot of spaghetti sauce and it will be ready for me when I come home from the gym. I am a lucky girl.

Tuesday:  The karate kid is somehow turning 11!! The birthday girl has requested French Toast and maple link sausages. I will also make a spinach omelet and fruit bowl.

Wednesday:  Beef & Green Beans – chinese take-out style! Wednesday is a busy night. I will make a kickboxing class either before a late dinner or dinner before a late kickboxing class. The kid has karate at 5, Big Man will take her while I either make dinner or go to the gym…have I mentioned how lucky I am.

Thursday: Turkey Sloppy Joe Sandwiches.  Need quick and easy, my senior are graduating. I have been with these kids for three years…it is almost as emotional as my baby girl turning 11, almost.

Friday: Steak night is being moved to Friday this week because of graduation U rescheduled my personal training session to Friday.  And the kid is sure to ditch us for her friends since she is spending Saturday and Sunday nights with Granny (Big Man’s mom who coincidentally has the same birthday as the kid). I want a steak and baked potato night.

I love my menu plan. We don’t always …err ever…follow the plan exactly as it is written.  It does however encourage us to NOT order out – we dont have the wallet or waist for that. Are you menu planning yet!?!

4 Responses to “my menu will keep me sane”

  1. Hokie30sgirl June 20, 2010 at 10:21 pm #

    yum-o- i'm going to try to meal plan next week:) thanks for inspiring me… 🙂

  2. Shannon June 21, 2010 at 12:59 am #

    Crazy life! You will make it through so do not fear I have faith in you! I am so uber impressed with your meal planning. I try and sometime succeed but you are really good at it. Keep it up Jen! Love ya!

  3. Hokie30sgirl June 21, 2010 at 2:21 am #

    yum-o- i'm going to try to meal plan next week:) thanks for inspiring me… 🙂

  4. Shannon June 21, 2010 at 4:59 am #

    Crazy life! You will make it through so do not fear I have faith in you! I am so uber impressed with your meal planning. I try and sometime succeed but you are really good at it. Keep it up Jen! Love ya!

Leave a Reply

