summer of ….

13 Jul

Struggles

Ok, so no one probably wants to hear me complain about how summer is wreaking havoc on me but I need to get some things out of my head and this is my place for that.  Summer started late for me (last week of June) and I am trying to get in the swing of my summer schedule. I am only working for the month of July and my schedule is Monday – Thursday 7:30am-1:30pm. One would think this schedule would be perfect…
It is!
I have a great schedule.
However, with the husband and kid always home it is difficult to just focus on me. Add in the fact that we have a puppy and my schedule (or non-schedule as it is) is totally flipped. Lucy is totally adorable and she LOVE to wake up early. I actually enjoy waking up with her and this week we are investing in a harness so I can start taking her for walks outside of the yard. *We held off on this because she was so little and young when she came to us. Lucy is just now 8 weeks old and it is time to start her on morning walks. It will be good for me and her and eventually, when she is full-grown these walks can turn into runs. Initially, our morning walks will be slow and not very far but they will be hugely beneficial: it will give us some bonding time and it will get me moving first thing in the morning.
Seriously, a puppy is exhausting. I am glad we have her but Lucy is a bundle of energy and has kept me on my toes.
Needless to say, I have been slacking in the workout department. I still see my trainer once a week but I am not taking as many classes or running as many days as I was a few weeks ago.  My eating has been bleh – not terrible but not great either.  I gave up the scale a few weeks ago and I am not going to weigh in but I know I have gained. I feel bloaty in my belly and sluggish and achy in my knees. I don’t need a scale to know I have not been taking care of myself properly.
I feel like crap.
I know the only way to feel better is to take better care of myself.
Time to snap out of whatever funk I am in.
In the words of Joy Turner, “Oh snap!”
Oh, snap is right!! I have no excuse. Oh, I am sure I could come up with a list but really, I just let life and stress lead me. It is silly. Really silly! I know that working out and eating right makes me feel better.
Earlier this week I happened to read a tweet from @mizfitonline [who I love to pieces] and the wise Miz was helping a struggling friend who had reached out for help.  That tweet said: “I always fall back on the notion Im only as far away from my path as my next choice.”
I have been saying this over and over in my head today. I have been struggling and I have made poor choices and I just felt like I was in a hole and I couldn’t dig myself out. I reread that tweet and for the first time I get it. I really get it.
Starting this very moment, I will concentrate on each choice I make. I will choose wisely.
3 Responses to “summer of ….”

  1. Heather H July 13, 2010 at 9:56 pm #

    I SO love that pic! Honestly, this is the first step to getting back on track… just showing up here and admitting you've been struggling. Thanks for your help on Twitter the other day too, and I think we can BOTH get this under control before the summer is over!

  2. Trish July 13, 2010 at 10:53 pm #

    Get your tail in gear woman!! Don;t make me drive down to Jersey to kick your tail!!Mwah!! 😉

  3. nycgirl0501 July 18, 2010 at 10:18 pm #

    That is really all you can do. Weight loss is a series of choices…sometime we make good ones, sometimes not so much. I try to forgive the bad ones and move on 🙂

Leave a Reply

